We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel, Needs some tlc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Needs some tlc”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Recently returned from our 2 night stay. The hotel itself is located in a perfect location, it has lovely surroundings and the silence it brings gives a calm atmosphere. However we did find negative points during our stay. The reception were lovely but the bar staff didn't seem to exist. I waited over 10 minutes for a drink, and staff walked past, seeing I was there and still no service. So we both left to go down the road to a lovely pub called the kings.
The room itself, was a bit outdated and our view of the scaffolding from the window was not the greatest. Room service was available, but no menu was in the room. Also, there was a stain on the bed sheet. The TV was just an ornament, as it didn't switch on. I'm not a person to go down and complain every 5 minutes, but I thought the hotel could do with a bit more tlc.

I have read several reviews regarding this hotel, So I was a little disappointed from our stay.

Room Tip: one without scaffolding as your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Tom R

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

I will pass on your kind comments to our Reception team. The scaffolding you experienced was due to the damage caused by the recent storms, however this is being removed very shortly.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Gavin Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    259
    143
    71
    27
See reviews for
110
402
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently returned from a very enjoyable 2 night bed and breakfast (dinner first night included) stay with friends. Hotel very spacious and welcoming. Staff couldn't do enough to please us and even provided typed walking route into Gloucester town centre for us. Food was excellent, especially the breakfasts. The only downside was no lift and it would have been helpful to have been warned of this when booking. Room was adequate with lovely view of the lake. (Biscuits would have been nice to have with the tea/coffee). On returning to our room after breakfast we were a little annoyed to find our room was being cleaned and made-up ready for next guests BEFORE we had checked out (check out time we were told was 12 oclock). On mentioning this to reception we were told that this should not have happened.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: View of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jananddenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear jananddenw

Many thanks for your comments on our hotel. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your 2 night break with us recently.

Our staff work endlessly to make sure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay so we are pleased that this was the case for you and that you thought the food and breakfast were good. Biscuits are provided in our Privilege rooms.

Due to the age and design of the building, we are unable to install a modern lift to all 4 floors. However we do have a Stannah platform lift that takes guests to the first floor and our reception team offer all of our guests assistance with their luggage upon check in. Unless any special requests are made upon booking, our reception team will be unaware of any special needs regarding mobility and therefore will room guests accordingly.

With regards to our housekeeping team cleaning your room before you checked out, this rarely ever happens and shouldn't have happened so for that we apologise.

However, we are really glad that you would choose to stay with us again and if you decide to re-book then we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Mercure hotel is set in lovely country grounds, We did get lost as out sat nav was confused but finally we found the hotel. The parking was easy with beautiful gardens. The staff were friendly, efficient and they even loaned us an adaptor for I phone. The room was clean and we had nice view of the garden. We ordered the room service as we were tired after driving all day as we had been touring some Cotswold villages on the way from London. The food was very reasonable but some items arrived a bit cold which is my only gripe.
There was a wedding at the hotel that weekend and I asked some of guests if they were happy with the venue and they all seemed pleased as this is perfect setting for a wedding. It is also a good getaway for romantic weekends.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Smeets P

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

Indeed we are set away a little from everything but this ensures a quiet, tranquil and relaxing stay. There are several routes to the hotel including main roads but once you are in Upton St Leonards, there is ample signage to Bowden Hall.

We are extremely proud of all our staff particularly our Reception team who work tirelessly to ensure that all guests are welcomed and are looked after from the outset so we were pleased to read that they were able to accommodate you with regards to a phone charger.

We usually have great reviews about our food so we can only apologise if some of your room service food wasn't as warm as you would have liked. Although no excuse, we can only imagine that the fact we had a large wedding in house may have accounted for the food being anything less to your satisfaction.

The hotel is a perfect getaway for couples and newlyweds due to the romantic location with it's scenic grounds and lake making it ideal for weekend breaks hidden away but still not too far from local towns, attractions and of course the beautiful Cotswolds.

We are pleased to read that you would stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Only downside was the absence of a proper self operated lift . I checked before booking and was told there was a lift. What they actually do have is a wheelchair hoist up one of the stairs, This is an open platform with guard rails and small ramps. It has to be operated by a staff member. Not easy for people who are unsteady on their feet. My wife found it frightening. Staff offered to put a chair on the platform but it was better for me to go up and down with her. However staff responded immediately when asked for assistance and were very helpful.



Why is it assumed that all disabled people are in wheelchairs?

Room Tip: Just be aware of the access situation if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorvicSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear torvicSolihull

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the lift, we apologise if you felt you were misled by our Reservations team and told that there was a fully operational lift to all the floors. Unfortunately we cannot have a modern lift due to the age and design of the building. However, we do have a platform lift to the first floor as you discovered when staying here.

The lift is very steady and slow and designed for guests such as yourselves as it was designed by Stannah and not at all meant to terrify anybody. However we are most glad that our helpful staff were on hand to assist you promptly to ensure that you were not inconvenienced too much.

We wish you well with your future travels.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I took my wife for a surprise birthday treat.
The the staff, facilities where great, with nice rooms and excellent menu.
Nice grounds and a good selection of gins in the bar
Would highly recommend for s relaxing stay, close to the city too
Good standards which I believe is a constant within the chain
A good value for money booking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidnewbold1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Davidnewbold1600

Many thanks for taking the time to leave some comments for our hotel.

We were thrilled to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us here at Bowden Hall. I do hope she was suitably surprised and enjoyed her birthday!

We pride ourselves on offering great service with good food and a comfortable night's sleep. Our staff enjoy welcoming guests and looking after them which we feel is of utmost importance for a good hotel experience.

The hotel's proximity to Gloucester with it's historic docks and quayside shops and restaurants along with Royal Cheltenham Spa a bit further along and the beautiful Cotswolds nearby make it ideal as a base for exploring Gloucestershire.

We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future where we can offer you another great stay.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

A very good hotel and on our weekend break providing extremely good value for money. Only down side was no lift which I would have liked prior warning of as I have a problem with stairs and could have requested a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 115LizF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear 115LizF

Thank your for your feedback.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break with us recently and that you found us good value for money.

With regards to there being no lift, we do have a platform lift to the first floor for guests with mobility issues as we do not have any ground floor rooms. We always advise guests upon booking to let us know of any mobility issues or special requests so that we can accommodate you appropriately.

However we do hope that this did not hinder your stay too much and that you decide to return to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay very much no complaints at all. Pleasant staff, good food, very nice quiet surroundings, The hotel was very clean. Free wifi . All that we required and at a good offer deal price. Look forward to a return trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kjnKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear kjnKentEngland

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently.

The hotel is indeed situated in extremely pleasant and tranquil surroundings making it ideal for a relaxing weekend break for couples and families also.

I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff involved in making your stay such a pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel in the future.

Warm regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing