We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had a weekend break”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to this hotel with my partner and loved it, the food and the hotel was great and the people there were also very kind and nice.
The breakfast was amazing and bottles of wine were good value and Wifi and the tv was great as well and aircon in the room, also it is the countryside so in the summer a lovely place to walk around and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear CookyCardiff

Thank you for your lovely kind words about Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Our staff and team receive many compliments of their warmth and helpfulness so we glad that you also got to experience this.

Summer is a special time to stay with us because the grounds are even lovelier and green for walking around. You'll probably have seen our resident ducks waddling around the large pond.

All in all we are glad you found us comfortable and relaxing and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you choose to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    273
    146
    75
    30
See reviews for
114
420
17
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
REDDITCH
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just spent a 2 night stay at this hotel. the grounds are magnificent, the hotel itself is clean and tidy and the rooms are well furnished. The food is very good especially that served in the restaurant at dinner,and the buffet breakfast is excellent, drinks are reasonably priced the bar staff are friendly and attentative as are all of the staff. If I were to be critical I would say there are not enough staff at busy times and this leads to a lack of attention to detail in certain areas, that said I would happily return to the hotel and would recommend it to others.My feeling is the hotel lacks a little identity is it a hotel for business people or does it see itself as a luxury hotel?

Room Tip: Upgraded to a room above reception, there was a wedding on and the landing outside the room was nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedditchRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear RedditchRobbie

Thank you for your comments for our hotel.

It was a pleasure to read that you found most elements of your stay to your satisfaction. We receive many compliments on our restaurant service and standard of food served. The breakfast buffet certainly gets mentioned in a positive manner on a daily basis which is always great to hear.

We strive to maintain the welcome and service that our team provides daily and tirelessly. Our hotel is certainly a beautiful building set in magnificent grounds and is popular with weddings, events and leisure guests alike. However, we endeavour to look after all of our guests equally so we apologise if at any point during your stay, there wasn't anyone to see to your needs. It can get exceptionally busy - especially during wedding season.

We also try to room non-event guests away from any potential noise or disturbance to maximise their comfort and overnight rest.

However we are pleased that you will consider returning to our hotel to stay once again with us so with that in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back where we hope your stay will be equally (if not more) pleasant.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights on business.

The hotel setting is very impressive, as is the exterior of the building. Inside, the hotel shows its age in some areas though everything was tidy and clean.

The staff were faultless; attentive and polite, they gave the impression that nothing would be too much trouble.

I ate elsewhere in the evenings but found the breakfast buffet was high quality: fresh food with ample choice and, again, good service.

I didn't sleep too well, partly because the mattress in my room seemed a little past its best and, on the second night, because I was woken at around 2am by loud music which appeared, at first to be coming in from outside through my open bedroom window. When I stuck my head out to investigate, I decided it was coming from a distant part of the hotel. Once I closed the window it wasn't too bad.

The room was spotlessly clean, though a little dated. As some other reviewers have noted, the TV and its remote were a bit of a puzzle - they do work though, so stick with it. On the plus side, my room had a decent air conditioning unit - in my experience this would be a godsend in the Summer when older hotels so often suffer from the stifling heat that their old pipework brings.

All in all I found this was a perfectly pleasant place to stay. I suspect, given the rolling refurbishment programme they apparently have in place, that if I had been luckier in my room allocation, I would have rated it it much higher. Even as it was, I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Kilnwood

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and your room and will be sure to pass those on.

All of our bedrooms have now got brand new mattresses so we were sorry to read that you found yours not to standard. We will certainly investigate and check that they are all as they should be.

We do accommodate weddings during most weekends but many non-wedding guests tend not to hear the celebrations too much as we tend to room them away from the event so we were glad to read that you were not disturbed too much.

We're pleased you enjoyed the breakfast service in our Dearman's Restaurant, we certainly do receive many compliments on this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next decide to visit us.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We booked in for a joint 70th and 50th birthday meal in the restaurant. We had a lovely meal, the staff were extremely attentive in spite of the restaurant being very busy. In all a very enjoyable evening, we would recommend eating here as the food was very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Paul V

Thank you for your kind comments.

We were most glad to hear that you enjoyed the joint 50th & 70th Birthday meal at our hotel recently and that the food was appreciated by all.

Quite often we have several private events occurring at the same time and we were pleased to read that despite this, you were attended to in a suitable manner as we strive to ensure that all guests are looked after.

We do hope that those celebrating their special birthdays had a wonderful time also.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel again some day.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have finally got around to reviewing our second stay at Bowden Hall! Once again stayed here for the duration of the Cheltenham National Hunt Festival in March and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time my partner and I stayed on the dinner, bed and breakfast basis and all elements were first class. The location is gorgeous and a real haven of peace. Despite the hotel being incredibly busy, the staff were extremely friendly, efficient and ensured we had a terrific stay.
I am just about to book a weekend away at this hotel in November and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenBalloon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear GreenBalloon_11

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bowden Hall.

We are so glad that enjoyed your second stay with us during Cheltenham Race week. It certainly was a busy time here at the hotel! We were pleased that your repeat visit was an equally pleasant experience all round. The hotel's setting just outside the Cotswolds definitely lends itself to providing a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere.

Thank you for the comments regarding our staff. They certainly endeavour to make every guest's stay as enjoyable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to the hotel in November.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We've just spent a very enjoyable overnight stay at this hotel. Everything was perfect. We were in a party of 10 and everyone enjoyed their food. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and spotless. Tea, coffee and biscuits were available in the room. The most outstanding feature of this hotel however, was the amazing standard of the customer service! Every member of staff we came into contact with were polite, helpful and couldn't do enough to accommodate us. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: 443 was a very spacious room with a lovely view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Maureen S

Thank you for your kind comments.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your recent overnight stay along with friends at our hotel and found the room comfortable and spacious.

I will certainly pass on your comments to all the staff involved in making your stay such a pleasant one. Thank you also for the positive recommendation!

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended, worth a visit. We ate in the restaurant, the food was good, excellent friendly service and the setting is beautiful. A few other functions were being held in other rooms and the atmosphere was very nice. Would highly recommend

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherRobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Highly recommended, worth a visit. We ate in the restaurant, the food was good, excellent friendly service and the setting is beautiful. A few other functions were being held in other rooms and the atmosphere was very nice. Would highly recommend

Dear ChristopherRobin1

Thank you for leaving comments for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us recently in the Dearmans restaurant. The surroundings certainly add a relaxing atmosphere to any visit. We are glad that you were not overly affected by the other events that were being held. The hotel is certainly large enough to accommodate private events alongside non-event visitors in harmony.

We do hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
824 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing