We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A grand looking hotel in lovely grounds. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly.
My room had no air con and it was a very warm weekend so a bit of a sweat box but can't complain about good weather!
Evening meal was tasty and service good. Breakfast was a little disappointing but only because it was buffet style and the eggs, etc., never do well when left on heat. Great service though.
A very relaxing weekend but not the best value for money - maybe because I left it late to book.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Streety_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Streety_D

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel.

We were pleased to read that generally you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is exceptionally warm at this time of year and the building is 17th Century, however many of our rooms do have air con. For those that do not have air con, reception are always happy to provide anyone with an electric fan for their comfort.

We were glad that you enjoyed your evening meal. Our breakfast consists of a hot buffet, continental style breakfast and also a made to order menu which should have been on your table. The menus consist of hot items such as eggs benedict & kippers for those that want something a little different.

Our team here at Bowden Hall definitely make everyone's visit extra special and we are glad they were helpful and friendly.

We do hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here with a group of girlfriends on a weekend away . The hotel is in lovely grounds. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy . Had dinner at hotel and food was good and had a varied choice. The staff are all very friendly and attentive. We were a large party of 11 and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast has a great selection. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear GWatford

Thank you for your kind review of the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel.

We were delighted that you and your party enjoyed every aspect of your weekend stay with us recently. The hotel being situated in 12 acres of beautiful grounds really makes our guests feel like they are away from it all and can relax properly so we are pleased that you all had a comfortable night's sleep followed by a hearty breakfast.

Our staff go out of their way to make each individual guest as welcome as possible and aim to ensure that everyone has everything they need to make their stay special and memorable.

We were glad to read that you would all consider returning to our hotel to stay again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business as I am in the area regularly.
Lovely to sit outside in the summer. Great views and surroundings.
Staff are all friendly and can't do enough for you. Bar staff on the evening were spot on. Great fun too.
Food was good in the evening and breakfast was fully varied and tasty.
Was a great place to go for a morning run too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank LesleyDavies34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear LesleyDavies34

Many thanks for your review for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us for your business trip. Bowden Hall, in it's tranquil setting, certainly provides a calm atmosphere for all our guests whether it be business or leisure and we were glad that you were able to experience a pleasant morning run in the surrounding countryside which is very scenic.

Our staff always endeavour to make sure that guests are made to feel welcome and we're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us also.

We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed one night & room was good, it is a lovely hotel & staff very friendly. We ate in the restaurant in the evening & the food was very good, drinks & food were priced as expected for a hotel of this quality,
With most hotels we only return if there is a need to but this one is exceptional for its setting & good food, such a relaxing experience.
The breakfast was very good & again staff attentive. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear taypet

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently.

Bowden Hall certainly provides that leisurely relaxing feeling in lovely surroundings.

We are glad that you enjoyed your meals and bedroom and we will certainly pass on all of your kind comments to the staff that were involved in making your experience such a pleasant one.

It was nice to hear that you will consider returning to stay without needing an excuse and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
3  Thank Terrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to this hotel with my partner and loved it, the food and the hotel was great and the people there were also very kind and nice.
The breakfast was amazing and bottles of wine were good value and Wifi and the tv was great as well and aircon in the room, also it is the countryside so in the summer a lovely place to walk around and enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear CookyCardiff

Thank you for your lovely kind words about Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Our staff and team receive many compliments of their warmth and helpfulness so we glad that you also got to experience this.

Summer is a special time to stay with us because the grounds are even lovelier and green for walking around. You'll probably have seen our resident ducks waddling around the large pond.

All in all we are glad you found us comfortable and relaxing and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you choose to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just spent a 2 night stay at this hotel. the grounds are magnificent, the hotel itself is clean and tidy and the rooms are well furnished. The food is very good especially that served in the restaurant at dinner,and the buffet breakfast is excellent, drinks are reasonably priced the bar staff are friendly and attentative as are all of the staff. If I were to be critical I would say there are not enough staff at busy times and this leads to a lack of attention to detail in certain areas, that said I would happily return to the hotel and would recommend it to others.My feeling is the hotel lacks a little identity is it a hotel for business people or does it see itself as a luxury hotel?

Room Tip: Upgraded to a room above reception, there was a wedding on and the landing outside the room was nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedditchRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear RedditchRobbie

Thank you for your comments for our hotel.

It was a pleasure to read that you found most elements of your stay to your satisfaction. We receive many compliments on our restaurant service and standard of food served. The breakfast buffet certainly gets mentioned in a positive manner on a daily basis which is always great to hear.

We strive to maintain the welcome and service that our team provides daily and tirelessly. Our hotel is certainly a beautiful building set in magnificent grounds and is popular with weddings, events and leisure guests alike. However, we endeavour to look after all of our guests equally so we apologise if at any point during your stay, there wasn't anyone to see to your needs. It can get exceptionally busy - especially during wedding season.

We also try to room non-event guests away from any potential noise or disturbance to maximise their comfort and overnight rest.

However we are pleased that you will consider returning to our hotel to stay once again with us so with that in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back where we hope your stay will be equally (if not more) pleasant.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,353 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
866 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £56 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing