We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
LONDON
Level Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked this hotel expecting something luxurious from the photo,s online... Oh dear was I wrong. First thing I must say is the staff where exceptional very friendly all of them. The check in girl was cheerful polite asked how my journey was and actually sounded like she was interested even if she wasn't. Went to my room and it was pitch black couldn't fathom how to open the curtains nearly tugged them down and then noticed a switch on the wall they where electric oops no damage caused so phew. The room was very old and tired the windows were filthy and in need of a clean. The rest of the room was clean just in need of renovation. Not the fault of the staff or the GM though in fact the GM should be proud of the staff especially the man In the bar, the restaurant, the cellar and then waiting tables outside he seemed to be doing everything but was a very nice guy chatty and joking with me. The evening meal however was lovely very well presented and nice selection of wines I think we had about 6 bottles between us. The bar wasn't that well stocked a member of our party wanted a baileys and they didn't have any which I found strange for a hotel part of a chain. The bed was very comfy however I sleep right through unspoken until 7.30am. Shower was ok but kept going hot and cold on me. The breakfast was just average nothing special but adequate I've certainly had worse. Would I stay again no but purely for what it was it was expensive and there are far better. If they had a refurb probably but just due to the staff making you welcome.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is one all our party complained they had tired rooms. No lift we could see ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Craig P

Thank you for your comments.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us recently. We pride ourselves on the level of service and welcome that our team provide and we are glad that they were friendly and helpful during the course of your visit with us.

With regards to the window and shower in your room, we will pass this onto our maintenance team to have a look at. Some of the rooms are still in need of a bit of refreshing regarding the décor but we find they are still very comfortable and functional.

We were sorry to hear that one of your party could not enjoy a Baileys after their meal. We do stock it but had run out that evening. We hope it did not spoil their dining experience with us.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our operational staff. We will be certain to pass this onto him.

We wish you well with your future travels.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    261
    143
    71
    27
See reviews for
110
404
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

A grand looking hotel in lovely grounds. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly.
My room had no air con and it was a very warm weekend so a bit of a sweat box but can't complain about good weather!
Evening meal was tasty and service good. Breakfast was a little disappointing but only because it was buffet style and the eggs, etc., never do well when left on heat. Great service though.
A very relaxing weekend but not the best value for money - maybe because I left it late to book.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Streety_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Streety_D

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel.

We were pleased to read that generally you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is exceptionally warm at this time of year and the building is 17th Century, however many of our rooms do have air con. For those that do not have air con, reception are always happy to provide anyone with an electric fan for their comfort.

We were glad that you enjoyed your evening meal. Our breakfast consists of a hot buffet, continental style breakfast and also a made to order menu which should have been on your table. The menus consist of hot items such as eggs benedict & kippers for those that want something a little different.

Our team here at Bowden Hall definitely make everyone's visit extra special and we are glad they were helpful and friendly.

We do hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here with a group of girlfriends on a weekend away . The hotel is in lovely grounds. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy . Had dinner at hotel and food was good and had a varied choice. The staff are all very friendly and attentive. We were a large party of 11 and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast has a great selection. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear GWatford

Thank you for your kind review of the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel.

We were delighted that you and your party enjoyed every aspect of your weekend stay with us recently. The hotel being situated in 12 acres of beautiful grounds really makes our guests feel like they are away from it all and can relax properly so we are pleased that you all had a comfortable night's sleep followed by a hearty breakfast.

Our staff go out of their way to make each individual guest as welcome as possible and aim to ensure that everyone has everything they need to make their stay special and memorable.

We were glad to read that you would all consider returning to our hotel to stay again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business as I am in the area regularly.
Lovely to sit outside in the summer. Great views and surroundings.
Staff are all friendly and can't do enough for you. Bar staff on the evening were spot on. Great fun too.
Food was good in the evening and breakfast was fully varied and tasty.
Was a great place to go for a morning run too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LesleyDavies34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear LesleyDavies34

Many thanks for your review for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us for your business trip. Bowden Hall, in it's tranquil setting, certainly provides a calm atmosphere for all our guests whether it be business or leisure and we were glad that you were able to experience a pleasant morning run in the surrounding countryside which is very scenic.

Our staff always endeavour to make sure that guests are made to feel welcome and we're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us also.

We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed one night & room was good, it is a lovely hotel & staff very friendly. We ate in the restaurant in the evening & the food was very good, drinks & food were priced as expected for a hotel of this quality,
With most hotels we only return if there is a need to but this one is exceptional for its setting & good food, such a relaxing experience.
The breakfast was very good & again staff attentive. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear taypet

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently.

Bowden Hall certainly provides that leisurely relaxing feeling in lovely surroundings.

We are glad that you enjoyed your meals and bedroom and we will certainly pass on all of your kind comments to the staff that were involved in making your experience such a pleasant one.

It was nice to hear that you will consider returning to stay without needing an excuse and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to this hotel with my partner and loved it, the food and the hotel was great and the people there were also very kind and nice.
The breakfast was amazing and bottles of wine were good value and Wifi and the tv was great as well and aircon in the room, also it is the countryside so in the summer a lovely place to walk around and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear CookyCardiff

Thank you for your lovely kind words about Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Our staff and team receive many compliments of their warmth and helpfulness so we glad that you also got to experience this.

Summer is a special time to stay with us because the grounds are even lovelier and green for walking around. You'll probably have seen our resident ducks waddling around the large pond.

All in all we are glad you found us comfortable and relaxing and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you choose to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing