We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without Doubt A Hotel to Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed 12 July 2014

You can tell what a Hotel is going to be like when you see how experienced the Reception Staff are at handling complaints. This was no exception. The Hotel is not just aged in an attractive way, but severely run down. The rooms of which I saw four, until I gave up and just picked the last one, had the expected bed with a 'slab of concrete' for a mattress, the toilet blocked on first use, the room had a damp smell about it, the window was very hard to open because of lack of maintenance. The shower changed temperature constantly from burning hot to freezing cold. The bathroom had no fans or ventilation whatsoever. The bathroom floor was 'sticky'. Dinner was average and the staff except for one, were noticeably lazy and disinterested. The coffee at the end of the meal was like dishwater. The food was very ordinary. Breakfast was even worse, with juice that was undrinkable, as was coffee again, the bacon was passed its use by date, the eggs were overcooked and hard and the staff were worse than those at dinner. It showed a complete lack of training that these people were part of the Hospitality Industry. The management should hang its collective head in shame and Accor needs to shake this disaster loose from its successful group. My suggestion is to stay at the Mercure in nearby Cheltenham which is how a hotel in this area should be.

Room Tip: Save yourself this terrible experience and Stay at the Hotel Mercure Queens in Cheltenham The Promen...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoneyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear HoneyAndPaul

Thank you for your comments about the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay with us recently and that you were not happy with your room. We would have been happy to upgrade you to one of our Privilege or Superior rooms had they been available. Unfortunately, these rooms are extremely popular, particularly at this time of year on a weekend.

I was most surprised to read your comments about the mattress in your room as these are exactly the same used at our sister hotel in Brighton that you have stayed at and noted how comfortable they were.

Please accept my apologies for any shortfall you experienced during your visit. I can assure you that this is not our usual high standard of customer service as you may have seen from other reviews on here and extremely out of character.

All issues that you have raised will be addressed to the team here to avoid any further disappointment with regards to service or food.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Staying in a Classic Room, we were pleased to find that the decor was pretty good and the room very clean. The hotel situation is convenient for both Cheltenham and Gloucester, with the building set in most attractive grounds, somewhat remote from the "madding crowd". Both dinner and breakfast were pretty good too - anywhere that offers Eggs Benedict for breakfast takes food seriously and the quality of the steak at dinner was above many a hotel norm. Additionally other reviews commenting on the friendly and helpful staff seem to have got it "spot on" - we were made very welcome throughout our stay. So all in all this is a hotel well worth considering if you are looking for something in this general locality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David7KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear David7KR

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and for your recommendation.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently. As you correctly pointed out, the hotel is indeed situated very conveniently close to the city of Gloucester and the regency town of Cheltenham as well as being on the edge of the beautiful Cotswolds yet set away in a peaceful village meaning that guests can truly relax. The décor lends itself to the style of building and our main aim is always comfort.

We take pride in the quality of our food so we were glad that you took full advantage of our made to order breakfast menu. Eggs Benedict is one of our most ordered items. Also we are pleased that you enjoyed your steak the night before.

The friendliness, helpfulness and warmth of staff is what makes a hotel in our opinion and we are becoming very well known for having a great team which we are immensely proud of.

Should you decide to visit us again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Booked 3 late rooms with friends! Felt as tho we were given the cheap seats. Rooms were well furnished but rooms so hot none of us could sleep. Fans were provided in two of the three rooms however they appeared not to work properly so no help . Too top it all I left my phone charger in the room. Despite calls (which were charged) and an email I have still heard nothing. Hate to say it but very disappointed :-(

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 07Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear 07jessica

Thank you for your review.

We have experienced particularly warm weather recently and as a result we have placed portable fans in every room. We are sorry if yours were not sufficient. Our reception team would have been more than happy to replace any fans that were found to be not working properly.

With regards to your phone charger. An iPhone 5 charger has been found very recently relating to a guest under the name of Tucker who had rooms 428, 429 & 430. If this was a member of your party, please be aware that we have tried on numerous occasions to contact this guest with little success. However, if you would be so kind as to email your address to me directly at gm.mercuregloucesterbowdenhall@jupiterhotels.co.uk, I will personally ensure that the charger is posted out to you straightaway.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is in a stunning location with well cared for grounds and staff that are extremely customer service orientated. The downside is the lack of lift, so walking up to the 04th floor with luggage certainly raises your heartbeat!
The room I had was a good size, as was the bathroom, but the decoration was tired and could do with updating.
The restuarant food was delicious and well presented, although some of my colleagues did encounter a few issues with their meals - issues dealt with very quickly.
The conference room again was tired and some of the tables had parts of the trim missing. The fire door going up to the congress room, actually had a 2 inch gap at the bottom - not great if it really was supposed to be a fire door.

In summary....great staff and the potential to be a great hotel if Mecure spent some money on it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lawn give a nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pebblepower23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear pebblepower23

Thank you for taking the time to write some comments for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel. We welcome all the constructive comments we receive on this website.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us. We are blessed with stunning surroundings that we like keeping in great condition. Our staff are a really great team of people that work around the clock to ensure our guests needs are taken care of.

With regards to the lift, we apologise if you struggled to get your luggage to the 4th floor. Our reception team are usually instructed to offer assistance in the form of a porter to help carry any guest's luggage as we cannot install a modern lift due to the age and design of the building. However we do hope the view from one of our top floor rooms was worth it!

We were sorry to read that your colleagues had a few issues with their evening meals but glad that it was all rectified straight away and that eventually was enjoyed by all.

We do hope that you will all visit us again sometime.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In summary, very friendly and helpful staff who are let down by this hotel claiming to be four star. It's not. It'd be cost prohibitive to actually upgrade it to a 4* so best to call it a good 2* than a rubbish 4*. And it claims to be 'ski in ski out'. Seriously.

Pros.
Beautiful location and grounds
Friendly and professional staff

Cons
Very very old,tired and run down rooms,fixtures, fittings. Felt more like and old b&b than a 4* hotel
No biscuits in room (never seen this before!)
Very small TV with poor UI and rubbish picture quality
No info in rooms on hotel and area
Awful menu
Very very limited room service after certain time
Limited toiletries in room (just bar soap and shampoo)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stirling A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Stirling A

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Gavin Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Bowden Hall Hotel Saturday 28th June. It was to celebrate a friends birthday and we wanted somewhere a bit special. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room was really lovely, We had paid extra for executive touches ie; bathrobes, free movie chanel, coffee machine, free newspaper which we did take advantage off and use, but on insight we could of done without those extras and paid a bit less. A wedding, 60th birthday party and hen do were all going on, but we enjoyed the extra atmosphere this created and sat out in the garden firstly drinking coffee and later on a nice glass of wine chatting away to other guests. The village of Upton St leonards does not offer much but we did have lunch in the local KIngs Head pub. If you like walking Im sure plenty of places to walk, we wanted a lazy chill out stay.

We booked the evening meal and this was very tasty, a bit pricey but what we expected for a hotel this size. Our waitress Claire was very nice and good fun.

The hotel is a bit dated in places but the lounges and restaurant are comfy and welcoming.
Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice, hot and tasty.

Only 3 miles from Glucester keys and surrounding areas so if you want somewhere a bit more special close to Gloucester, Cheltenham and surrounding areas we can more than recommend
Boden Hall Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Christine g

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

We were very pleased to read that you and your party enjoyed your break with us last weekend to celebrate your friend's birthday. Bowden Hall is indeed an ideal venue with which to celebrate a special event such as this.

We are glad that you found everything to your satisfaction regarding your room. Our privilege rooms are perfect for that extra-special touch.

The location of Bowden Hall is convenient for many a relaxing country walk especially as it's situated very near to the local sleepy village which is very scenic and as you pointed out, with a great pub for a cosy drink or two!

We are very proud of our team here and will endeavour to pass on your kind comments to those that particularly made your stay with us such a pleasant experience.

Our breakfasts are certainly hearty and memorable as there's something for everyone including a menu with made to order items if the buffet doesn't suit.

Thanks also for recommending our hotel with regards to it's location. It is certainly handy for visiting the beautiful Cotswolds, Gloucester and Cheltenham. All of which boast great shopping and places to have a relaxing lunch.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
848 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £76 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing