We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hatton Court Hotel(Upton St Leonards)
US$95
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$64
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Ibis Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel(Little Witcombe)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Station Hotel(Gloucester)
US$80
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$71
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
335
329
166
82
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
329
166
82
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifttop floorprivilege roomlovely groundspublic roomscountry housesmall lakelovely hotellisted buildingfirst floorlounge areabuffet stylesat navbreakfast and dinnerrestaurant managerfamily weddingflights of stairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After staying here for 4 weeks (1 night each week)

I would like to say thank you to ALL the staff for making my stay a really comfortable and enjoyably one. I will have no problems in recommending the Mercure Bowden Hall to anyone.

I would also like to say a special thank you to Alison on the reception desk, she was so polite and so helpful every week and really went out of her way to provide a sensational customer service.
and not to forget a huge thank you to Gavin the GM for making it almost hassle free to get my room booked each week.

I wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Thank you.

C.IERSTON

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carl I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Carl I

Thank you for all of your kind comments for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

It was a pleasure having you stay here with us over the last 4 weeks and we are glad to read that you enjoyed every aspect.

Our staff really do make the hotel what it has become today and we are very proud of them all.

I will pass on your special thanks to both Alison and Gavin who I am sure will appreciate your words of gratitude.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for 1 night in late July. We were impressed with the grounds, room and service. We stayed in a Privilege room on the top floor which was clean, well furnished and very comfortable. The hotel was a little warm, but the window opened wide and there were 2 fans in the wardrobe, which we arranged so that they were pointing at the bed. We stayed at the hotel for dinner and breakfast and were very well taken care of by friendly and professional staff. The food was very good. We ate breakfast on the outdoor seating area, which was nice because we could watch the ducks! A really enjoyable stay - we will return - thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Alice22

Thank you for your kind comments.

We were most glad to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us in late July. Our Privilege rooms are very popular providing that extra touch couple with great views of the Malvern hills and surrounding countryside. We were pleased that you were comfortable and not too warm due to the fans provided in your room.

When the weather is suitable, guests can often enjoy their breakfast outside on the terraced area overlooking the duck pond which makes for a very pleasant start to the day.

I will pass on your compliments to all the staff members involved in making your stay such a memorable one and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked a two night stay, having been given a Red Letter gift, We were put on the 4th floor (which is the loft) and at the furthest point, It was a very small room, small window that opened a few inches top and bottom and was about 30 degrees in there with no air conditioning, We asked to be moved and reluctantly was moved to the 3rd floor much better room with air con, But shame cleaners forget dusting and bathroom grouting discoloured and moldy in places.
We met another couple on a red letter day experience, Their complaint 1st Floor (broom cupboard) small room small bed small window no room to even lay their case down,
Yes we both were moved to better rooms, coincidence we were Red Letter customers, you tell me?
4 star, In my opinion not the rooms we had.
Paul B.

Room Tip: insist on air con, don't use 4th Floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Paul B

Thank you for your comments

We were sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with your bedroom. All of our bedrooms vary in size due to the age and design of the building. We allocated bedrooms as guests check in regardless of how or where the booking came from.

We do hope, however, that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us and that you were made to feel welcome by our staff.

We wish you well with your future travels.

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a two night stay at this hotel. We stayed in a family room with very comfortable beds and plenty of space. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was very tasty. The two ladies on duty in the dining room at breakfast were friendly and helpful and a real credit to the hotel. We will definitely return!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Sue S

Thank you for taking the time to write some comments on our hotel.

We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and that you found your room comfortable and your breakfast tasty.

I will ensure that your kind words are passed onto those team members that made your visit such a pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews