We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed 26 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Eatonking
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really nice, beds are comfy the staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The food is good quality and the hotel is set in nice grounds with easy access to Gloucester. Would recommend this hotel. The only draw back is there is no lift but the staff will carry any bags to your room and they do have a disabled ramp for the stairs. The staff really do make this hotel a great place to stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear James B

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.

It was a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently and that nothing was too much trouble.

Bowden Hall is nestled at the foot of the Cotswolds but is also conveniently nearby to the city of Gloucester as well as the Regency Spa town of Cheltenham along with easy links to the M5 making it the ideal place to stay for relaxation, shopping and other recreational activities such as country strolls to the nearby pub for a pint or staying in for afternoon tea and some peace and quiet.

We are exceptionally proud of our entire team and feel that they do indeed make the hotel extra special and will certainly pass on your compliments. We were glad you enjoyed your meals also and found your room most comfortable.

As you pointed out, we do not have a modern lift up to all floors due to the age and design of the Georgian building however we do have a platform to the first floor for wheelchair bound guests or anyone with mobility issues. Our staff are always on hand to help any guest with luggage where needed.

We do hope we are able to welcome you back to our hotel for a return stay.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stunning hotel and what a location! Room was very clean, modern and comfortable for 2 adults and 1 child - the only downside - was that is was a very hot weekend in July and the room must have been about 30'c+. We had the small window open (which does not result in a good sleep when there is a flat roof below!) and fan on which didn't make mych difference. I serious thought we'd have heat exhaustion issues but thankfully we didn't. Had a great breakfast though. We'd love to go back as it's a gorgeous hotel but will certainly check we're not in an attic room!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Ruth H

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

We were pleased to read that you and your family were very comfortable during your stay with us and that you found the hotel and grounds 'stunning'.

However we were sorry to read that you found your room a little warm during the very hot period of this Summer. Reception would have been happy to provide extra fans for your comfort if needed.

We are glad that you all enjoyed your breakfast with us as it is one thing that our guests comment about the most and we do hope that you return to Bowden Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After staying here for 4 weeks (1 night each week)

I would like to say thank you to ALL the staff for making my stay a really comfortable and enjoyably one. I will have no problems in recommending the Mercure Bowden Hall to anyone.

I would also like to say a special thank you to Alison on the reception desk, she was so polite and so helpful every week and really went out of her way to provide a sensational customer service.
and not to forget a huge thank you to Gavin the GM for making it almost hassle free to get my room booked each week.

I wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Thank you.

C.IERSTON

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carl I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Carl I

Thank you for all of your kind comments for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

It was a pleasure having you stay here with us over the last 4 weeks and we are glad to read that you enjoyed every aspect.

Our staff really do make the hotel what it has become today and we are very proud of them all.

I will pass on your special thanks to both Alison and Gavin who I am sure will appreciate your words of gratitude.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
5  Thank DaveF1704
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for 1 night in late July. We were impressed with the grounds, room and service. We stayed in a Privilege room on the top floor which was clean, well furnished and very comfortable. The hotel was a little warm, but the window opened wide and there were 2 fans in the wardrobe, which we arranged so that they were pointing at the bed. We stayed at the hotel for dinner and breakfast and were very well taken care of by friendly and professional staff. The food was very good. We ate breakfast on the outdoor seating area, which was nice because we could watch the ducks! A really enjoyable stay - we will return - thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Alice22

Thank you for your kind comments.

We were most glad to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us in late July. Our Privilege rooms are very popular providing that extra touch couple with great views of the Malvern hills and surrounding countryside. We were pleased that you were comfortable and not too warm due to the fans provided in your room.

When the weather is suitable, guests can often enjoy their breakfast outside on the terraced area overlooking the duck pond which makes for a very pleasant start to the day.

I will pass on your compliments to all the staff members involved in making your stay such a memorable one and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked a two night stay, having been given a Red Letter gift, We were put on the 4th floor (which is the loft) and at the furthest point, It was a very small room, small window that opened a few inches top and bottom and was about 30 degrees in there with no air conditioning, We asked to be moved and reluctantly was moved to the 3rd floor much better room with air con, But shame cleaners forget dusting and bathroom grouting discoloured and moldy in places.
We met another couple on a red letter day experience, Their complaint 1st Floor (broom cupboard) small room small bed small window no room to even lay their case down,
Yes we both were moved to better rooms, coincidence we were Red Letter customers, you tell me?
4 star, In my opinion not the rooms we had.
Paul B.

Room Tip: insist on air con, don't use 4th Floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Paul B

Thank you for your comments

We were sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with your bedroom. All of our bedrooms vary in size due to the age and design of the building. We allocated bedrooms as guests check in regardless of how or where the booking came from.

We do hope, however, that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us and that you were made to feel welcome by our staff.

We wish you well with your future travels.

Rebecca Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
849 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
25.0 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £76 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing