We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Mercure
£71
ZenHotels.com
£69
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,557)
Filter reviews
1,557 results
Traveller rating
624
491
258
125
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
624
491
258
125
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift top floor privilege room lovely grounds lovely hotel lounge area buffet style evening meal room was large sat nav waiting staff public areas afternoon tea old building two night stay sandwiches both nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,557 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Im very happy with the experience we had yesterday at Bowden Hall.

I’d like to say a huge Thankyou to all staff that helped make my sisters baby shower a huge success. Chelsea went above and beyond, helping me arrange a room, letting us arrive early for set up and sorting the sandwiches for us, nothing was too much trouble.

The young gentleman who set the room up made sure we had everything we needed, his attention to detail was amazing. (Plumping pillows so they all looked presentable, re arranging the room so it was suitable for our decor) also the young ladies who set up the afternoon tea, they were very complimentary of our decor and asked us if we needed any help, again nothing was too much trouble, from wiping tables to making sure everything was perfect for my sisters arrival. Tea and coffee was always topped up. Constantly smiling and made us all feel very welcome.

Hayley made sure we had everything we needed, and the lovely Latvian lady on reception was so welcoming.
So Thankyou to everyone who helped out today. I hope everyone gets to see this email as everyone deserves credit and recognition for working so hard at Bowden hall.

I will be recommending Bowden Hall to everyone, as we have had the most wonderful day celebrating.

Thankyou once again.
Isabel Cunningham

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank issy982023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Jones, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Dear Isabel,

Thank you for choosing to leave a review.

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely time here with us for your sisters baby shower. We will of course pass your thanks on to Chelsea and the team who helped make it that much more special for you.

We do with your sister all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

Not as expected lovely building but hotel not as good as it looks. Bit shabby, and food not good. Went there as a secret escapes deal. The room was shabby. Was given free cocktails only one choice, barman was jobsworth and was acting like he was in charge.
The meal was disgusting. I ordered rib eye couldnt even cut the steak, mushrooms dried up chips cold and awful. So they gave me another meal thai curry. Was also a plate full of rubbish food. I know it was a deal but the hotel had staff that have no idea what they are doing, and guests eating their own food in the lounge. Its a shambles. Would not recommend it to anyone!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank teresasY6738AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Jones, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Dear TeresasY6738AW,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations during your recent stay with us. Your comments have been taken seriously, and we assure you that we are committed to addressing each of the issues you have highlighted.

We regret to hear that your experience did not reflect the high standards we strive to maintain. We understand the importance of a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests, and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in this regard.

Once again, we apologize for any dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

We have now stayed here several times over recent months. Every stay has been excellent; some stays with our dog and some stays without. (It’s very dog friendly, which is wonderful.) A warm welcome, lovely room with large and comfortable bed, good shower room, pleasant lounge, and excellent food.

This last stay my husband was unfortunate to have suffered a mini stroke, and the staff were very quick to call an ambulance, and dealt with the situation remarkably well. Their care didn’t stop there either - they were very supportive of myself, which I hugely appreciated. The manager was very efficient and caring, and his staff are obviously very well trained to deal with situations such as this. They were all very reassuring and could not have been more helpful.

I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MARGOTW885
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Jones, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Dear Margotw885,

Thank you for choosing to leave a review. We are so pleased that we were able to welcome you back to the hotel. It is always lovely to see regular guests staying with us here at the hotel. We are extremely dog friendly and love to welcome any family dog welcomed at the hotel.

We would like to send our best wishes to your husband on getting better. We are so pleased to read that our staff were on hand to help you and your husband through such a difficult ordeal.

We will of course pass on such lovely words to all the staff for you.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2024

We stayed overnight at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel as part of a Fawlty Towers Weekend and had a fabulous time. From check in to check out the whole team at the hotel ensured we had a wonderful time and couldn't do enough for all of us - we were a party of 20 and everyone had a great time. I was celebrating a milestone birthday and the little touches left in our room were so unexpected and most appreciated. Our room was lovely, large with a view over the garden. The food was delicious. Thank you so much to everyone involved, we had the best time.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Jones, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear HazelH41,

Thank you for choosing to leave such a lovely review. Let us please start by wishing you a Happy Birthday.

We are so pleased to read that you had a wonderful time here at our Fawlty Towers Weekend. We will of course pass on all your kind words to all the team involved.

It is always lovely to hear when the team go the extra mile to enhance a guest stay, especially with little gifts in the room for yourself.

We do hope that we can welcome you all back again in the near future for another event or even just a stay here at the hotel.

Kind regards
Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2024

All very average, food not very good tasted more like re heated meals out of the deep freeze, poor for a 4 star hotel. Rooms not very attractive all hallways painted in battleship grey,, no lift,
Lovely setting in its own ground, with plenty of parking though, so has some good points

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Jones, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear E526GVkenh,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express my sincerest apologies.

We do apologize that you did not enjoy the food during your stay here with us. This is not our normal standard and this will be addressed with the kitchen team.

As you probably noticed we are currently have some work down around the hotel to improve the comfort of our guests. Unfortunately, due to us being a listed building we are unable to install a lift. The team are more than happy to help with any luggage to and from the rooms for you upon request.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards
Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews