We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We found the Crown Inn by accident last Autumn on our way back to Berkshire from a short break in the Cotswolds. Had an excellent lunch and determined to stay there for a short break - having ascertained that the Hotel was dog-friendly!

Stayed there over a long weekend at the beginning of May 2011 having taken several weeks to make a reservation (the place seems to be permanently full).

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and well appointed, the breakfast excellent and the inn facilities, meals and refreshments first rate.

We heartily recommend the Crown Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    56
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
110
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just spent three nights at The Crown Inn. The staff are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Bedroom was comfortable and clean with everything to hand. We were there for the walks and had two days of excellent walking in the beautiful countryside. Enjoyed the evening meals - we tried another pub in the area one night and it was very poor compared to the Crown - definitely the best in the area. Would highly recommend this picturesque Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelmersdale lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I can say without fear of contradiction, repetition,condescention or even condensation,that this was a wonderful short break.We were greeted in a very friendly way when we arrived.Shown to our room very quickly.The room was a good size,clean and with all the things you need for a short break.There is a lovely bar at the hotel,with a good selection of drinks and also some local beers, (stroud, etc) lovely jubbly as del boy would say.The weather helped.We spent every evening in the hotel's garden, having our evening meal.We could have dined in the dining room, which was very nice but the weather was just too good to be sitting inside.The meals we had over three nights were delicious, even the simplest of fish and chips,was probably the best I have ever eaten. My compliments to the chef as they say. And, my compliments to all the staff and management at this great hotel. My wife and I will stay here again, (if possible) when we visit the cotswolds again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayemcee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I are regular visitors to the area and know The Crown Inn as an excellent pub with good real ale…try the “Laurie Lee”…fantastic meals and attentive service to match. No matter the season, Simon and Gemma extend a warm welcome and fine dining throughout the year.
In July 2011, we stayed in their hotel accommodation for the first time. We were not disappointed and could not have been afforded better service. The prices were reasonable and extremely competitive for the area. On our second evening, a group of Morris Dancers arrived to entertain the customers. They were superb and blended seamlessly into the rich tapestry of a Cotswold vista with the sun setting over the valley towards nearby Chalford.
Well done to Simon and Gemma for their hard work and excellent staff ethos....The Crown is a true jewel in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmjpgrigglestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Having a 16th Birthday for our teen we wanted a good meal. The Crown Inn provided that (and some ) - staff were excellant, friendly but not sickeningly so - service was prompt and with my request for the candles I had brought with me to be put into teens dessert, they did without the bat of an eyelid as if it was an everyday ask( unlike many other places we have been too). Other guests joined in when we sang Happy Birthday at dessert time - such a friendly relaxed atmosphere, it was all just so natural and comfortable ( yes, the teen nearly died with embarrassment) We did book for a Friday night but there was space should we have decided to have just turned up @ 7.30pm. Menu choice wasn't extensive but what they did offer catered for our needs and was varied and what they did do, they cooked extremely well! They offer certain items in child portions too for those with younger children who have smaller appetites. Husband was pleased with the choice of Ales available.
Overall, a wonderful gem of a place and we will be going back :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloshette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The hotel was nice and the pub served excellent food. Breakfast was great. I had room #4 on the ground floor which is next to the entry to the hotel. If you were a light sleepy the slamming of the outside door could be annoying.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed here 3 nights and travelled to the Ryder Cup one day. Had stayed about four years earlier. Rooms have been completley renovated, and the Inkeepers -Gemma and Simon really "get it".
Great service, good food, and they really go out of their way to make you feel at home. They have also gone the distance and have a great staff who is well trained and empowered to do whatever is necessary to accomodate their guests.
It is in the middle of nowhere---but boy is it scenic. Great walks, lot's of wildlife.
Can't wait to go back. Know the lamb dishes and a well pulled pint await.--Cheers

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ajgibb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frampton Mansell
4.9 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
7.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
6.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: | Stroud, Frampton Mansell GL6 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Frampton Mansell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton Mansell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Cotswold village of Frampton Mansell lies the Crown Inn. A seventeenth century ‘cider house’ that is steeped in history and is, quite simply, a perfect village pub.Roaring log fires; delicious, traditional, home-cooked food; fine, locally brewed real ales; a stunningly beautiful building dating from 1633 and of course, good company.Add to this a very well appointed 12-bedroom hotel annex, ample car parking and simply exquisite views across the golden valley and you have the precise recipe for a relaxing and enjoyable venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Frampton Mansell
The Crown Inn Frampton Mansell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing