We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Cotswold evening”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

First time diners at this lovely country pub after attending a wedding their last summer. Entered into a great chatty atmosphere with a roaring log fire making it a pretty perfect Cotswold seen. We had booked a table which looks like you need to if going on a weekend night. Quite a short menu but with a really a good range of meals with most around the £10 mark. Specials board also had a further 4 mains to choose from so we were spoilt for choice. Quite a lot of game on the menu which in my view is great to see especially this time of the year but may put some off. I went for a Smoked Salmon Kedgeree and Game Pie. My wife had Soup and Steak. Both meals were fantastic and the waitress was really friendly and ensured we were always good for drinks and enjoying our meals.

Highly recommend giving it go and cant really see why you would be disappointed. Final bill was good and we both felt we had a top night out with great value for money. Will be going again with friends.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank RTS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

My friend and I regularly enjoy trips away with the dogs and The Crown was one of the best ever. Everything about the place was wonderful, from the welcome to our dogs, the quality of the rooms and the super meal in the bar and breakfast.
We will certainly be back again and would thoroughly recommend The Crown to everyone.
It is so nice to find somewhere really nice where you can take your dogs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelabolitho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Hello Simon & Gemma. We stayed with you Friday and Saturday night last weekend and we would just like to thank you so much for such a lovely weekend. Your hospitality is second to none and your staff are so helpfull and welcoming. We can see that to make such a place feel so welcoming and relaxing does not come without a lot of very hard work but you all execute your tasks with such an air of calm it carefully masks all the hard work going on behind the scenes leaving your guest relaxed and satisfied. You are all truely the kings and queens of ducks! We will definitely be back again asap. Thank you all. Nick and Sarah Davies

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Visited The Crown Inn three times this year, eaten every time and food, service and drinks were faultless.

The portion sizes are really good, the food is good quality at a fair price.

Dogs are welcome - always a bonus.

We have visited in the height of summer... really busy and the food quality has never slipped even when it is really busy. Sunday roast is also great!

This a great example of a Cotswold village pub! Thumbs up all round everytime..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank field39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Crown does it so well. Food is simple and good, Choice of draught beers excellent (especially the Butcombe) and bar utterly welcoming.
A few more logs on the fire would add to the exquisite perfection-great place to while away an afternoon

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bordering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for one night and the room was clean and comfortable. We booked a table to eat in the evening and were very glad. The beautiful, traditional, atmospheric and welcoming pub was buzzing and I am not surprised. The staff were all efficient and helpful but the food and drink were outstanding. A well priced menu with modern classics and seasonal dishes with a twist which made us wish we could try them all!! The breakfast is also freshly cooked treat of local goodies and the choice is perfect! Overall I wish we did not live do far away but hope to be back soon! Well done to all at The Crown Inn

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandJ_Newark_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have visited the Crown Inn atleast 4 times. We have stayed for a couple of weekends and simply gone for a decent Sunday roast.

The Crown Inn is in a superb location for walking along the old disused canal. It is excellent walking coutry.

The Crown Inn is full of character with roaring log fires in the Winter. The staff are always efficient and friendly. We enjoy the Sunday roasts which are reasonably priced and you get a hearty portion. You do need to book ahead as the Crown is so popular. There is always a good choice of real ale and there is always Leffe Belgium beer. Some of the menu is a bit pretensious such as the parsnip shavings in the ploughmans. However we have never had a bad meal.

The accomodation is in a newer Block built out the back. Clean and tidy, but with less character.

This is one of our favourite weekend breaks where we can relax and chill. If only we could live in the village!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frampton Mansell
4.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
7.3 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
868 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
204 reviews
4.9 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
19.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: | Stroud, Frampton Mansell GL6 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Frampton Mansell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton Mansell
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Cotswold village of Frampton Mansell lies the Crown Inn. A seventeenth century ‘cider house’ that is steeped in history and is, quite simply, a perfect village pub.Roaring log fires; delicious, traditional, home-cooked food; fine, locally brewed real ales; a stunningly beautiful building dating from 1633 and of course, good company.Add to this a very well appointed 12-bedroom hotel annex, ample car parking and simply exquisite views across the golden valley and you have the precise recipe for a relaxing and enjoyable venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Frampton Mansell
The Crown Inn Frampton Mansell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing