We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Little Gem”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Little Gem”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

What a lovely place. We held a reunion here with 13 of us staying some for one night and some for two nights. We also had two main meals in the 17th century Pub/Restaurant. The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and very attentive in fact they couldn't do enough to make our stay successful. The rooms were excellent easily equivalent of a 4 stat hotel. Lovely full bathrooms with nice toiletries and plenty of towels. Absolutely no complaints and would happily recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    56
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
110
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

First time diners at this lovely country pub after attending a wedding their last summer. Entered into a great chatty atmosphere with a roaring log fire making it a pretty perfect Cotswold seen. We had booked a table which looks like you need to if going on a weekend night. Quite a short menu but with a really a good range of meals with most around the £10 mark. Specials board also had a further 4 mains to choose from so we were spoilt for choice. Quite a lot of game on the menu which in my view is great to see especially this time of the year but may put some off. I went for a Smoked Salmon Kedgeree and Game Pie. My wife had Soup and Steak. Both meals were fantastic and the waitress was really friendly and ensured we were always good for drinks and enjoying our meals.

Highly recommend giving it go and cant really see why you would be disappointed. Final bill was good and we both felt we had a top night out with great value for money. Will be going again with friends.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RTS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My friend and I regularly enjoy trips away with the dogs and The Crown was one of the best ever. Everything about the place was wonderful, from the welcome to our dogs, the quality of the rooms and the super meal in the bar and breakfast.
We will certainly be back again and would thoroughly recommend The Crown to everyone.
It is so nice to find somewhere really nice where you can take your dogs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelabolitho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Hello Simon & Gemma. We stayed with you Friday and Saturday night last weekend and we would just like to thank you so much for such a lovely weekend. Your hospitality is second to none and your staff are so helpfull and welcoming. We can see that to make such a place feel so welcoming and relaxing does not come without a lot of very hard work but you all execute your tasks with such an air of calm it carefully masks all the hard work going on behind the scenes leaving your guest relaxed and satisfied. You are all truely the kings and queens of ducks! We will definitely be back again asap. Thank you all. Nick and Sarah Davies

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Visited The Crown Inn three times this year, eaten every time and food, service and drinks were faultless.

The portion sizes are really good, the food is good quality at a fair price.

Dogs are welcome - always a bonus.

We have visited in the height of summer... really busy and the food quality has never slipped even when it is really busy. Sunday roast is also great!

This a great example of a Cotswold village pub! Thumbs up all round everytime..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank field39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Crown does it so well. Food is simple and good, Choice of draught beers excellent (especially the Butcombe) and bar utterly welcoming.
A few more logs on the fire would add to the exquisite perfection-great place to while away an afternoon

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bordering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for one night and the room was clean and comfortable. We booked a table to eat in the evening and were very glad. The beautiful, traditional, atmospheric and welcoming pub was buzzing and I am not surprised. The staff were all efficient and helpful but the food and drink were outstanding. A well priced menu with modern classics and seasonal dishes with a twist which made us wish we could try them all!! The breakfast is also freshly cooked treat of local goodies and the choice is perfect! Overall I wish we did not live do far away but hope to be back soon! Well done to all at The Crown Inn

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandJ_Newark_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frampton Mansell
4.9 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
7.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
6.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
3.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: | Stroud, Frampton Mansell GL6 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Frampton Mansell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton Mansell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Cotswold village of Frampton Mansell lies the Crown Inn. A seventeenth century ‘cider house’ that is steeped in history and is, quite simply, a perfect village pub.Roaring log fires; delicious, traditional, home-cooked food; fine, locally brewed real ales; a stunningly beautiful building dating from 1633 and of course, good company.Add to this a very well appointed 12-bedroom hotel annex, ample car parking and simply exquisite views across the golden valley and you have the precise recipe for a relaxing and enjoyable venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Frampton Mansell
The Crown Inn Frampton Mansell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing