We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accommodation, good food”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Retford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adequate accommodation, good food”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Good and friendly service and good food but accommodation fairly basic - minuscule TV, good bed, kettle needed cleaning so accommodation over priced although quite high priced area. Dinner bill was a lottery - 4 different versions - and bill the following morning was different to what was signed the previous night! Having said that it can be recommended for good evening meal and beer but examine bill closely!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    58
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
111
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is one of the best pubs around, trust me I've tried a lot:) Lovely atmosphere, epic views over the valley, friendly service, lots to like and worth stopping by for. The food is a pretty good simplish fair, it's not going to win any awards but then that's missing the point. Beautiful honest pubs like this are becoming an increasingly rare site. No doubt a pleasant place to pitch up for a few days also.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Will we go again, very doubtful. The Inn is run by a group of young inexperience people and the food extremely poor. I can say on the good side that they sell good beer. The breakfast was also of poor quality and only one person service and apparently cooking the food as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haymaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My partner and I visited The Crown Inn yesterday evening (a Wednesday in April). We travelled from Gloucester and the roads weren't great, but no worse than any other country roads. There was plenty of parking and the outside space was very well lit. The bar was fairly crowded as it is quite small, but we were seated for food almost immediately in a separate area, which was lovely and cosy with old pictures of the pub. The dining area was quite busy but we were served very quickly, and the food arrived relatively fast. The menu is a good mix of familiar pub classics and more adventurous options. The mini venison pie with rhubarb chutney was a great starter and the pork tenderloin was cooked beautifully. The entire meal, including drinks, came to £45. I would happily have paid more for such a good experience. It was one of the best meals I've ever had and the atmosphere was lovely. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Exactly what we wanted as a short break away from the city. Accomodation was clean and comfortable and the food and drink (the local beer was stunning) available was of a very high quality. We cannot speak highly enough of the service which we found to be friendly, efficient and courteous without being overly fussy. The location, set in the winding cotswold hills was perfect and the atmosphere we enjoyed on the Friday night was something special. We found the locals to be friendly and accomodating and we would have no hesitation staying here again and hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This 17th Century Inn is just lovely. It is out in the 'sticks' and has very patchy phone signal. The bar has 3 open fires and a very cosy, friendly atmosphere from all in there. There is wifi available in the bar and restaurant but not in the rooms. The menu is varied, fresh and tasty. I did not have the cooked breakfast but it looked great.
I would like to mention the staff, the service I experienced was exceptional. From calling before I arrived to check if I would be eating, organising taxis, making me a packed lunch and remembering what sort of wine I liked - I felt valued.
Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

food here is lovely, staff serving are knowledgable about the dishes.plenty of friendly bar staff in a lovely old building. logs fires burning, just a lovely setting for a quiet night out. the drive there was down some winding lanes and past a viaduct,all adding to the fun of the evening

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frampton Mansell
3.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
244 reviews
4.9 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
554 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
496 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: | Stroud, Frampton Mansell GL6 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Frampton Mansell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton Mansell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Cotswold village of Frampton Mansell lies the Crown Inn. A seventeenth century ‘cider house’ that is steeped in history and is, quite simply, a perfect village pub.Roaring log fires; delicious, traditional, home-cooked food; fine, locally brewed real ales; a stunningly beautiful building dating from 1633 and of course, good company.Add to this a very well appointed 12-bedroom hotel annex, ample car parking and simply exquisite views across the golden valley and you have the precise recipe for a relaxing and enjoyable venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Frampton Mansell
The Crown Inn Frampton Mansell, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing