We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for family gettogether”
Review of Upper Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upper Court
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant for family gettogether”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a big family get together last weekend. Everyone was very impressed by the accommodation and facilities at this beautiful peaceful location. Everyone in the party from 2yr old to 72yr old had a wonderful memorable weekend. Would recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    12
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I visited Upper Court as part of a friend's hen weekend. Our accommodation was immaculate and the facilities were fantastic for a rural location.

Excellent tennis court and outdoor swimming pool. Lovely opportunities for walks around the nearby lake and close to the local pub! Would definitely visit again with my family and boyfriend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpperCourt, Owner at Upper Court, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you had such a great time and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a gem of a find! We were a bunch of 10 girls for a quiet hen party in August & was welcomed with open arms by the owners Diane & Bill, and their adorable family. If you are looking for mod-cons this probably isn't the place for you, but if you enjoy romantic, old-world charm then you will not be disappointed! The grounds are extensive & beautiful & you can take their dog on some great walks from the house. Highlights included a game of croquet & a pottery class with Olly! Looking forward to booking a family party there next summer.... A special place - only tell your best friends about it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

It is not without difficulty that I write this mixed review for Upper Court, because we had a marvelous Wedding enjoyed by all, and our guests enjoyed the cottages and facilities very much. However from MY point of view as a BRIDE, a lot of stress was inflicted on me which luckily I was able to dominate, so as not to make it visible and not to affect such an important and expensive event in our lives.

We booked all of the accommodation at Upper Court, plus a few rooms at the nearby pub (under the same ownership as Upper Court) from the Friday to the Monday morning, including the use of the grounds for a marquee for our wedding reception on the Saturday. We chose Upper Court after visiting many venues around the Gloucestershire area because of the beauty of the manor and the grounds, the reasonable pricing, the extensive on-site accommodation, and the relative flexibility. Upper Court has really gorgeous grounds and cottages, all facilities were kept in good condition, everything was clean and decorated with excellent taste. They have a good selection of vendors (in our case both the Marquee contractor and the Caterer did a fantastic job). The facilities such as the tennis court, swimming pool and games room were a great bonus and provided some fun distractions for us and our guests.

However, I feel that as a wedding venue it is let down in many ways by the administration. I understand that Diana Herford has been having some problems staffing the pub kitchen and as a result has had to spread herself very thin. While I sympathize with that situation, as a paying client (and a bride!) I do not want to have these problems passed onto me. We supplied Upper Court with comprehensive lists of who the guests were and where they would be staying, and the contact details of my cousin, an experienced events organiser, who had offered to be act as Wedding Planner, who would be the point of contact if any further information was needed. A few days before the event Diana contacted us to say that some rooms would not be available due to circumstances beyond their control, and offered us rooms at the pub instead, which we accepted without issue. However, when the guests started arriving, Diana kept coming to me with confusing logistic questions that should not have been necessary. She had not kept records of the rooms in the pub to accommodate the guests that she had transferred there, had not printed any of the guest accommodation lists, and ignored the contact details for the Wedding Planner.

There were occasionally issues with guests staying at the manor or the pub not being able to access their rooms as the buildings had been locked and no keys had been provided. Another issue happened at the pub on Friday night - a large group of our guests had made a booking to eat on the Friday evening, but due to their hire car breaking down and having to wait several hours for assistance, were unable to make it. I was part of an entirely separate group who came to the pub for some food and drinks, unaware of the plans of the other guests and unable to contact them for most of the evening; while it was an unfortunate situation for all concerned, such things do happen and I think it was unfair of the pub staff to treat my group as if it was our fault, and to continue blaming us for the rest of the weekend. On the Monday morning Diana agreed that we could check out at 11:00, but then started pressuring some of our guests, who were still having breakfast at 10:30, to vacate their cottage for cleaning.

I do not believe that we were problematic clients; we treated the facilities well, we kept the volume of the music in the marquee to a reasonable level and left the marquee when we had agreed to. However, during the incident with the car breakdown we were referred to as the most chaotic group they had ever had to deal with.

On the whole I think that Upper Court is a beautiful venue and perfect for weddings; however, the administration really needs to improve before I would unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just coming back down to earth after our daughter's wonderful wedding at Upper Court. (28/9/13). What a beautiful romantic setting,with the marquee looking out onto the lake with its swans gliding by. The ceremony itself was at St Nicholas' church, next door. After the service we were able to wander straight out into the gardens for drinks,canapės and photographs, before heading to the marquee. Full marks to Anne and her team for great food and service.
Many of our guest were staying on site in the self catering accommodation, with the bride and groom staying in the romantic "Dovecote". Some of us had rooms in the Manor House itself (have never slept in such a comfortable bed!) all accommodation was well designed,individual,comfortable and clean. Diana and Bill are wonderful hosts...totally unobtrusive...just stepping back and giving over their lovely property for guests to treat as their own.
The next day,we made use of the close proximity to the Herfords new pub, just a few minutes walk down the lane to "regroup". We were made very welcome despite our very large numbers and were able to sit in the lovely sheltered garden before a very good Sunday lunch, all home made with friendly service with even Diana getting "stuck in" and lending a hand! Many of us returned to the Manor to enjoy an afternoon enjoying the gardens and sitting in the sun.
Some of our guests had stayed at the Crown and we had checked out the rooms before booking....they are an absolute delight and am reliably informed,super comfy beds. Those of us staying at the Manor House had breakfasted here...super.
Don't think I can find any negatives regarding our visit. I noticed a comment from a previous review about early finish in marquee. We were a very large party ..154 with many young "party animals"... I guess given the chance, they might have danced on....but honestly? .... A wedding is a long day, many travelling large distances ...midnight is late enough....and even those staying at "The Party House" soon disappeared off to bed! Save your energy for the next day, and go have Sunday Roast at The Crown!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Bill and Diana Herford have added The Crown Inn to their Kemerton holiday options. Just a short walk from Upper Court, the Crown has been lovingly restored into a gastro pub with a friendly village pub atmosphere and reasonable prices to match. There are 5 B&B doubles; the one I stayed in was immaculate and recently refurbished. I think their introductory discount applies throughout the autumn, so hurry to sample this gem!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the village road, which is not too busy, but the ones at the back ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We hired Upper Court for our daughter's wedding at the end of July 2013 and the event weekend was a great success. The cottages offered excellent accommodation with comfortable rooms, well appointed facilities, free Wi-Fi and, above all a beautiful setting.
The wedding in the church on the grounds of Upper Court was everything we had hoped for and we were able to get some fantastic photographs after the service.
We hired a large marquee which was ideal and offered all the facilities we needed for catering and entertainment. One note of caution is to ensure that you observe the end time for your event and the marquee may be dismantled very early in the morning after your event. Therefore be sure to remove any personal items at the end of the evening.
The catering company that were recommended by Upper Court were very good and provided an excellent meal and service and were very helpful during our event.
We hired Upper Court for the weekend and had a BBQ on the following day and even managed a game of cricket.
I would highly recommend Upper Court as a great location for a wedding.

Room Tip: Understand that there may be dogs wandering around during your event
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matkincc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemerton
3.4 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,090 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
4.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Beckford
The Beckford
#1 of 1 in Beckford
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 1 in Kemerton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Court

Property: Upper Court
Address: Church Lane | Tewkesbury, Kemerton GL20 7HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Kemerton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kemerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Court 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five self-catering holiday cottages set in the beautiful grounds of Upper Court in the Cotswolds. Perfect for family celebrations, hen parties, weddings or a romantic break for 2. Located at the foot of Bredon Hill boasting an all-weather tennis court, outdoor swimming pool.4 Miles from Tewkesbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Upper Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Court Hotel Kemerton
Upper Court Kemerton, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing