We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly has the 'WOW' factor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Farmers Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Certainly has the 'WOW' factor”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had the most amazing welcome from really friendly staff. We stayed for my 50th Birthday and booked a table for an evening meal .... the food is just fantastic, very tasty and plenty of it!! The room's are spacious, I have a real thing about staying in accommodation but the rooms are very clean and the bed's are very comfortable. I will certainly be recommending to others. 10 out of 10 from us here in Surrey. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Farmers Boy Inn..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    160
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
114
457
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed one night here and had our evening meal at the Inn. Very over rated. Food bland and although so called local produce used surprised no Wye Valley asparagus on the menu whilst it is in season. The meat pie filling did not taste of much and the portion of mashed potato was only enough for a child. The cooked breakfast the following morning was unappetising. Only choice of two cereals, bowl of fresh fruit salad and the cooked breakfast was tasteless.
Accommodation was fine but not very sound proof. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We enjoyed our meal very much and the service was excellent. We turned up on a Monday evening and the two young girls were clearly very busy (unexpectedly) but they worked hard and were so friendly we had a lovely evening. A nice friendly atmosphere, good food and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Farmers Boy Inn..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our Dalmatian dog "Oscar" on a Wowcher deal b & b. The rooms are in an annex at the rear of the pub. They are on ground floor and have everything you could need and very clean. bright and inviting. The bed is huge and very comfortable. Nice modern decor, spacious bathroom and great power shower. Room comes with tea and coffee making facilities, towels, flat screen t.v. and hair dryer. The pub itself is lovely, old fashioned and quaint with a good atmosphere and all the staff we met were lovely. The food was excellent using local produce. A very good breakfast that will set you up for the day. Phil the owner was there and is clearly very attentive ensuring a high standard. We had a short chat with him at breakfast when he came over to see our dog. Phil is very professional yet has an easy pleasant way. we left feeling we must return again soon. Before we left we bought some of his amazing pies, a must have.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin-Margaret-Oscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Farmers Boy Inn..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We booked this through Wowcher so didn't really know much about it, but got a great deal.
The main thing to say is that I would have gladly paid the full price as we had a lovely stay. It's a shame that it was just for one night.
The rooms are lovely, simple but very clean, very comfortable, and very nicely decorated.
Dinner in the pub was excellent. The pies were great, the service was hard to fault, my wife got the corner table she wanted, I tried some local beer. And the owner obviously has a good sense of humour.
Breakfast was also superb, and again the service was excellent.
We have already recommended this to family, and will gladly stay here if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Farmers Boy Inn..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Given this stay as a birthday present. When booking staff were very helpful and friendly on the phone. On arriving this continued. It would have been useful to have a proper explanation of the facilities as when we got in the room we thought we had only cold water but on asking back in the bar was told that it was on a timer. Staff still helpful though and keen to assist with any questions we had. Phil made sure we could push our motorbike down to right outside our accommodation which I think will appeal to others with bikes. Food was good and plenty to choose from. A new member of staff (name I can't remember sorry) served us our food and was so polite and helpful. One of us is vegetarian and there were enough options on the menu. Although the Inn is obviously very busy we had a nice restful stay and enjoyed walking around the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Farmers Boy Inn..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This has been our 3 rd meal at the farmers boy Phil &. Manda have really built up a good reputation for food all the staff are lovely
My tip go for the steak and blue cheese pie yummy
Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Farmers Boy Inn..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
6.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
14.3 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Property: The Farmers Boy Inn
Address: A 40 Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
The Farmers Boy Inn Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing