We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Dick Whittington Farm Park
Ranked #9 of 10 things to do in Longhope
Attraction details
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We've been here once and wouldn't go back . It was ok but its grubby and very tired looking. After reading the reviews on here and reading the managers responses in which he protests far too much with varied excuses I will not be going back and I will advise everyone I know not to.
Also there are more negative reviews than individual positive ones so I don't understand why you are being so rude to your customers. Perhaps you really need to spend time on cleaning the place rather than long winded replies on here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mkh102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Owner at Dick Whittington Farm Park, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
The Management are left rather speechless by this review. The only criticism appears to be ‘it’s grubby and very tired-looking’.

This reviewer seems to have overlooked the small fact that this has been the wettest winter on record. As a working Farm, our first priority is our livestock. Very many of our enlightened visitors have taken the trouble to congratulate our Livestock Team for keeping our animals fit and well, warm and bedded, through this dreadful winter.

Therefore, the spring painting and tidy-up has been held back but, now the drier weather has arrived, we are pleased to report it is well underway.

To reflect this, we have not been charging for adults with paying children.

This reviewer seems to be more worried about a lick of paint rather than the welfare of our animals. Sorry, but our priority will always be our animals. This reviewer also seems to have omitted mentioning the discounted entry prices, the Easter events including tractor and trailer rides, Easter egg hunts, face-painting, egg decorating and so forth.

Several thousand visitors have already enjoyed what we are offering and have taken the trouble to talk to our staff who we believe are due a massive ‘congratulations’ rather than this type of observation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    22
    32
    48
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Party Venue!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We held my daughters 3rd birthday party here on Saturday after visiting the venue a few times over the last couple of years and being really impressed.
It has a lovely spacious and airy indoor play area, the castle room where the children ate their party food is a hidden gem and the outdoor area provides a real choice of entertainment.
The castle room was booked for 2 hours, but there is no time limit on how long the children can stay so the group were there for 3-4 hours.
Great value for money.
Many of the party hadn't been before but they will all be returning again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareMallender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Party Fun”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My son had a fantastic time celebrating his 5th birthday at the Dick Whittington Farm Park. The softplay area and slides are great for kids of his age, although my 12 year old daughter also had brilliant fun. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The place was tidy and clean. One very happy 5 year old plus freinds. Thank you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire. United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great party venue”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Booked a party for my 7 year old (for 13 children 4 to 8) with hot food.
The kids loved playing in the indoor play area including the big slides, we pretty much just sat and watched all 12 of them. Then into party area of the cafe then the kids were desperate to get back to the play area the 2 hours went so quickly, which is always a good sign.
The staff couldn't have done more for us, nothing was too much. Even cut and put the cake into the party bags (which they supplied).
Cannot praise them high enough. Will hopefully go again :)
The children choose their meals on arrival and the food was ready when we asked.
All we did was bring the cake!
Perfect! All the parents were impressed with the venue too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Needs a clean”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Have visited DW Farm park several times as we are local. My feedback is thus-
1. Playbarn is brilliant fun for the kids but it is dirty. OK, it has been surface cleaned but not deep cleaned for a good while. It needs a good, thorough scrub down- in commercial kitchens they have companies who come into the kitchen at night and perform a 'deep clean.' This means eveything is pulled out, scrubbed, washed etc. Carpets are washed, people get down on their hands and knees and scrub. This is what the play area needs. Same for toilets- surface ok but if you look closely it is grubby. When we were there in the summer the air conditioning was dripping down near the fire exit next to our table. It wasn't dripping recently, for the sake of balance.

2. Don't fill holes in the wall with what looks like a carrier bag stuffed in.

3. Animal area is what it is. They are obviously trying to upgrade and to me, the animals look well treated, even though some of the areas are a little dated. It is a country farm park so there will be countryside. But the comment about nettles at toddler height is a fair one. Yes, encourage nettles for wildlife but perhaps not where the children are? I have lived in the country all my life, so not afraid of a bit of muck but crying over nettle stings is a pain.

4. Signage- loads of people have commented on this and they are right- just get a few cheap signs printed and it would make the whole experience a lot easier.

5. Pricing- you may say it is good value but if you went to other attractions you would see that it isn't. What is good is that if you want to go to the soft play there is no time limit. Both Westons and Over are within driving distance and are free- so you need to make people want to part with the money.

6. Last time we went, we wanted to spend money in the cafe. Quite frankly, you need to get someone to look at your menu. Too many e-numbers, white bread and apple juice made from concentrate. Now- before you jump dowm my throat on the reply, bear this in mind- we had money to spend in your cafe and we ended up spending very little as the selection was poor. Went to the Harts Barn cafe instead.

7. Just buy a massive tub of white paint and go round and touch things up. On the whole, it just looks grubby, which is to your detriment.

8. Encourage your staff to smile a little. While they seemed to be doing their best, they weren't that cheerful.

And finally- when you reply on here, getting shirty with customers does you no good. Running them down does you no good. Professional responses with acknowledgements of fair points and what you feel is unfair is far better.

Will I visit again? Yes, it is local, handy and my daughter loves the slides. Would I spend a whole day there? No, perhaps a rainy morning with lunch somewhere else. However, just one thing to note, I am a mum who knows lots of other mums and the general consensus is it is a bit too pricy for regular visits- which surely is what you want? Regular visitors, drinking coffee and buying food and staying onsite for as long as possible.

If it is raining, the playbarn is handy- but as far as I know, there isn't a price just to visit the soft play, which perhaps is a missed opportunity.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Owner at Dick Whittington Farm Park, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We appreciate the constructive comments of this review. We are pleased to say that we do, in fact, have an on-going maintenance programme and many of the issues referred to are in-hand to be done over winter during our quieter period.

Since the beginning of September, there has been a special admission price whereby an adult with a paying child would come in free. This means that a family of four can come in at an average of only £3 per head with no time limit. Many regular visitors take advantage of our Membership Scheme which makes visits extremely cost-effective.

We have recently introduced into the café a menu that addresses the E-numbers issue by providing alternative choices. All food orders can be tailored to the individual’s requirements.

We would like our visitors to talk to us about any improvements they think would help enhance their visit. All of our staff are very approachable. Our Receptionists are more than happy to discuss any particular ideas.

We look forward to seeing this reviewer again shortly and hopefully they will take advantage of our Christmas programme and the various events we have planned for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dick Whittington Farm Park also viewed

 

Been to Dick Whittington Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing