We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel !”
Review of New House Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New House Farm
Ranked #2 of 4 Longhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tremelo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel !”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We enjoyed our 4 night stay in this B and B .Our room was spacious , so was our ballroom. The bed wassen kingsize , the matress wastafel heavenly for our painful backs . Every morning wel wereld spoilt with a delicious breakfast, also kingsize !! Would certainly recommend this charming B and B to People Who love the countryside ! It was heavenly !! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TristanTremelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
32
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Not only is New House Farm located in a particularly beautiful part of the country, it's also a wonderful place to stay. The room was lovely, the bed was very comfortable, the views were incredible, the welcome was very warm and the breakfast was delicious! The scrambled eggs come especially recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomStapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We chose this ideal bed and breakfast as a treat for our relatives in the
USA. It was first class and Mrs Smith could not have made us more welcome.
The situation is stunning, the breakfast and accommodation is excellent and
it is a wonderful place to unwind and explore the Forest of Dean and beyond.
We will be returning

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This pearl in the Gloucestershire border has many traditional farmhouse features. The owner has personalised designs tastefully to meet the discerning needs of any traveller.
I strongly recommend if in need of some peace & quiet within picturesque surroundings, then this is your place.
Very romantic getaway

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Off the beaten track, this lovely farm house provides a quiet base for exploring the surrounding area, whether you are here for a weekend or a week.
It only has 3 rooms so it is ideal for a family and/or friends get together or small group as you have the place to yourselves, a home from home.
Our host Rosemary provided a very warm welcome and made us a wonderful pot of tea with freshly cooked ginger cake on arrival.
She also made very tasty breakfasts (the Aga-made porridge was great and the full English breakfast delicious, particularly the home-reared sausages, bacon and eggs). Home-made fruits and jams were also available.
The rooms were spacious and clean, with tempting pieces of home-made shortbread ready to go with your first cuppa. Our room had lovely views across to the Malverns, and all three rooms were clean and tidy (the en suites were modern though the plumbing was noisy at times).
Rosemary could not have been more accommodating and helpful, she really was very attentive and helpful with lots of useful recommendations about eating out and things to do. She even cooked us a dinner on our first night and the pork was a succulent delight and when we wanted to bring back our own snacks for a graze one evening that was absolutely no bother at all. The dining room was set aside for us and all the plates, glasses, cutlery and cheeseboard provided. Fabulous service.
The farm house has a relaxing lounge with lots of books and magazines, a large TV and a few games. It also has maps, leaflets and walk ideas should you want to stretch your legs in the surrounding countryside. A gate to one side of the farm house leads to a well worn track up to the top of Mayhill and the views from here are well worth the effort. You may even bump into some of the farm's animals on the way up or down.
Getting to New House Farm does involve driving along a very narrow lane so if you want the shortest section of country lane to navigate it's worth accessing the lane via the B4222 rather than the A40.

Room Tip: The room with the four poster bed has the best views of the far hills, including Malverns and has ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chestervoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We received a very warm welcome on arrival. The room was great, clean, spacious and perfect for our family. We enjoyed a delicious home cooked breakfast. We would definitely like to stay again...only next time for longer! Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Wonderful farm house nestled in the hills on the Welsh borders and yet so close to Cheltenham. Most amazing Gloucester Old Spot bacon cooked to perfection on the Aga (do not come on a diet as you will have to break it). Very genuine hosts who could not do enough to make our stay relaxing. No need for a car once there, as great walks all around- May Hill , and village pubs all within the hour at a leisurely stroll. Real gem!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_T073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
0.8 mi away
The Farmers Boy Inn
The Farmers Boy Inn
#1 of 4 in Longhope
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Yew Tree Inn
Yew Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Longhope
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Longhope
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to New House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Farm

Property: New House Farm
Address: Barrel Lane | Aston Ingham, Longhope GL17 0LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Georgian farmhouse bed and breakfast set up its own drive on the slopes of May Hill in a very quiet rural setting with no traffic. A real get away from it all gem but with easy access to the A40 and the M50. Walk through our 40 acres of woods, take a picnic and chill out in a leafy glade at a suitably sited picnic table. Take our way marked track to May Hill where you have fantastic views over 6 counties on a clear day. Meet our Longhorn cattle, sheep, horses, chickens, dogs and cats and our latest addition, alpacas named Jimmy & Elton. Delicious Aga cooked breakfasts, all with local produce including our own home reared Gloucester old spot sausages & bacon & our own free-range eggs are served in our spacious dining room. All bedrooms, one with a fourposter bed and one with a 6' bed, are ensuite and large with lovely rural views with free wifi & freeview flat screen TVs & hospitality trays. Chill out in our comfortable guests lounge with log fire & 50" Freeview TV and tea & homemade cake on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your New House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New House Farm Longhope, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing