We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again”

The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Longhope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Award Winning Farmer's Boy Inn Longhope Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation, attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After an evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter in front of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic Gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Third visit to this lovely pub. We all had the pies and they were absolutely perfect. The staff are very good,you never have to look for a waitress they are always attentive.
Will definitely be going again.

Helpful?
Thank carolekiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Carol,

Thanks for your Great Review! I'm glad you enjoyed The Farmer's Boy Experience especially the Pies. Team Phil are always here to help!

Hope to see you for the fourth time soon! Don't forget to Download Our App

Kind Regards

Phil Kiernan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    82
    37
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Definately the place for the home made pie connoisseur..........................”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

NEW via mobile


This is the home of the great two in one pie half steak and half cauliflower and what a culinary treat this is and a meal not for the faint hearted. There is also a wide selection of culinary delights as well as a wide range of home made (not bought in or out of a packet meals). The pub is managed by a very personable Irishman and his lovely wife who are passionate about customer service and giving value for money who are always thinking outside the box for new creative culinary ideas. If you are ever in the area give it a try you will not be disappointed. Phil and Amanda are the names to remember. Well done to you both for creating a fine Country pub with good honest food.



Visited June 2014

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagwoodbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your Great Review! I'm glad you enjoyed The Farmer's Boy Experience

Hope to see you again soon! Don't forget to Download Our App

Kind Regards

Phil Kiernan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“What a great Country pub”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is the home of the great two in one pie half steak and half cauliflower and what a culinary treat this is and a meal not for the faint hearted. There is also a wide selection of culinary delights as well as a wide range of home made (not bought in or out of a packet meals). The pub is managed by a very personable Irishman who is passionate about customer service and giving value for money who is always thinking outside the box for new creative culinary ideas. If you are ever in the area give it a try you will not be disappointed. Phil and Amanda are the names to remember. Well done to you both for creating a fine Country pub with good honest food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dagwoodbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Manager at The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Ashmeister

Thank you for your great review.
We are happy to know that we looked after you.

Download our Farmers Boy Inn App so next time you are in the area you can use our amazing offers !

Many thanks

Sally Lawson
Manager
Farmers Boy Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped by because it seemed to be the only pub in the area that served food all day. There was only one other table in at the time so service and food were fast.
Really nicely decorated inside and the food was tasty and good sized portions. Really loved the chips. Had a sandwich and it was huge!
Would definately go back.
Loads of off road parking too.

Helpful?
Thank Ashmeister19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your Great Review! I'm glad you enjoyed The Farmer's Boy Experience especially the Bloomer Sandwiches!

Hope to see you again soon! Don't forget to Download Our App

Kind Regards

Phil Kiernan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Made our trip.. Thanks”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Me and my partner went for a relaxing weekend away in longhope and were very lucky to be staying 2 mins walk from this little gem.
We arrived late on the Friday and they were only too happy to accommodate us for food.. the pub has such a good atmosphere we ended up staying in the bar after dinner and chatting to the landlord and his wife and also some locals who were extremely friendly.
Sunday lunch was to die for and I love the fact you can go in to the wine shop and choose wine for your dinner.

Thanks for an enjoyable time and hope to see you soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your Great Review! I'm glad you enjoyed The Farmer's Boy Experience especially the wine picking in the shop- it's very tempting!

Hope to see you again soon! Don't forget to Download Our App

Kind Regards

Phil Kiernan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Longhope, Gloucestershire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Longhope, Gloucestershire
 
Newent, Forest of Dean
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Farmers Boy Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing