We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food always good and staff always friendly”
Review of Old Dairy Tearoom

Old Dairy Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Longhope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family-run tearoom focusing on using good quality local produce. We serve breakfasts, home-cooked lunches, light snacks & our highly regarded home-baked cakes and scones, enjoyed on their own warm from the oven, with clotted cream & jam, or as part of our celebrated afternoon teas. We have 16 loose leaf teas from which to choose, and James Gourmet Coffee from Ross-on-Wye. Booking is advisable for lunch & especially for Sunday roasts served every Sunday 12-3. Special dietary requirements can be catered for, with gluten-free & limited dairy-free items available on the daily menus, but please let us know when making your reservation if you have specific dietary needs. We serve our hot food menu (including breakfasts) until 3pm all year round.
Cwmbran
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Food always good and staff always friendly”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been visiting this tearoom for several years en route to visit family & friends in Oxfordshire/Berkshire area. We have never been disappointed and have tried everything from tea & cakes to the daily specials. There is a wide range of food available which would be to everyone's taste. They do a range of speciality teas and icecreams too which is a bonus and the little shops there are all of the best quality. We also visit the food shop within the cookery school where there is a range of homemade cakes & biscuits, breads, cheeses etc all top quality produce and locally sourced. We will carry on visiting as long as we travel to family and friends which is several times a year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne B, Owner at Old Dairy Tearoom, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your positive feedback. We will pass on your comments to the other business owners at Harts Barn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    20
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A party of 13 went for Sunday lunch. We ordered main course(roast ) in advance. Absolutely perfectly cooked and presented. The pork was delicious. Choice of desserts didn't include cheese but when asked if 3 of us could have some we were brought a lovely cheese plate each.Also able to take own drinks. Now that's a bonus! Very reasonably priced food served by friendly staff. Great atmosphere throughout. We were in a lovely room upstairs. Will deffinately return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne B, Owner at Old Dairy Tearoom, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you minsee, we very much enjoyed your party, and glad our 1st floor private room was to your liking.

The tearoom is not licensed, but we are happy for our guests to bring their own wine to enjoy with their meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Tea Room we've visited!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We first visited the tearoom on recommendation of a friend and have returned many times since. Whenever we visit, we are always made to feel welcome, especially our children. The tearoom is warm and welcoming: clean and tidy. The staff are polite, friendly and obviously well trained. There is a wide range off food offered, using local products, which is always of an exceptionally high standard. The presentation of the food is always a talking point and whether you choose a light snack, a slice of the delicious cake or a main meal, you will not be disappointed. Even the children like to try new things. Very good value for money and a wonderful, traditional atmosphere. We also like that every time we visit, there are a selection of foods and beverages which we can purchase to take away.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jezgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne B, Owner at Old Dairy Tearoom, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thanks for your review, jezgibson. We are pleased to hear your children enjoy visiting the tearoom and getting adventurous with their food choices! We are especially pleased to hear you appreciate the girls who work in the tearoom - they work hard to make it a good experience for families such as yours, and we look forward to seeing you again in the tearoom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely scones”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very nice, attentive staff, tasty scones and teacake. Interesting range of juices for children too. Good range of cakes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne B, Owner at Old Dairy Tearoom, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thanks for your kind words Carla, we're very happy to know you enjoyed our homemade scones, and that your children enjoyed the fruit juices from Newent. The best thing about Crusher's Pride juices is there's absolutely nothing added - no sugar, no preservatives, so, great for the kids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent English food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very popular home prepared food, very large portions of excellent good tradition English food. Good happy staff, you must try the puddings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0eSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne B, Owner at Old Dairy Tearoom, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thanks for your review - Zoe, myself and the girls that work in the tearoom thank you for your kind comments, and we hope to be able to welcome you to the tearoom next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Dairy Tearoom also viewed

Drybrook, Forest of Dean
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Churcham, Gloucester
 
Longhope, Gloucestershire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Old Dairy Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing