We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is hard to describe how wonderful this place is.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stouts Hill Cotswold Holiday Resort
UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“It is hard to describe how wonderful this place is.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Living just 60 miles or so north of here we had never explored the Cotswolds, I am so pleased we now have. We were very fortunate to be able to swap from Diamond resorts into a week at Stouts Hill, I just happened to look on the website at the right time. On the approach to the village of Uley there is a tiny sign to Stouts Hill and the entrance is more like a private driveway, we pulled into the parking area and entered an oasis of calm, peace and tranquillity. The building is wonderful, the grounds are wonderful, the countryside surrounding Stouts Hill is wonderful, and we had not even seen our room yet !!!. We were privileged to have apartment 8 in the main building on the ground floor, it is quirky in a very good way, more than big enough for 2 people and very, very clean and well maintained. The bed was so comfy we slept better than at home, we experienced NO noise from other guests and in fact remarked to each other how silent the place was. I am not a serious golfer but enjoyed a having a go round the pitch and put, the fishing in the lake was stupendous, as a keen angler I made the mistake of only taking a few bits of Mickey Mouse tackle, if you enjoy course fishing please take some decent tackle, even with the wrong gear I caught carp up to 5lb, bream to 3lb and BARBEL up to 2lb, plus small roach, chub and perch. The staff were so friendly and helpful we felt we were staying with friends, not in a hotel or even a time share, Belinda gave us an intro to the area on Monday morning, she was so helpful. We booked into the Wednesday evening meal and had a great night with the other 13 people that decided to join in. The food was at least as good as the price charged. The "honesty Bar" was a new experience, help yourself and fill in a docket and post into a box on the bar, like most people we recorded exactly what we had and paid at check out. There is so much of interest to see in the area and it is a most beautiful part of England. This rates as one of the best holidays we have ever had in England.

Room Tip: I would happily accept ANY room in Stouts Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazcalUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This place is really the best!

I can't fault this in any way whatsoever - it's truly amazing and for what you pay and what you get for it - too good a bargain to be believed!

We are currently here but could not wait till i went home to spread the word! get booking is my honest advice - really and never look back!

We have a two bedroomed apartment in the main building and it is amazing! standards are so high. royal albert china, epns cutlery, crystal glasses - you get the idea! It makes you want to cook really beautiful food because you can present it so well here!

Nice little town nearby with all you need in it and a good sainsbury,s for main shopping.

Come see - you won't be disapointed!

Room Tip: I havent seen the ones in the mews but the rooms in the main building are well soundproofed with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliejules2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was very much booked at the last minute and a really very pleasant few days. We stayed in a two bedroomed mews cottage which was an old fashion delight. Bird seeds were purchased on a visit to the WWT at Slimbridge which allowed us to attract pheasant in mating bloom to our patio. In the evening driving back from a meal in Dursley we disturbed a badger on the track to our cottage. This is a really fantastic base to explore this wonderful part of the country, we will be back again.

Room Tip: Having stayed in the main house before I think the cottages are even better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekWB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent a week at this place and were pleasantly surprised how lovely it was for a very small resort.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and accommodating.
The Mews apartment had everything we wanted and the location and views were perfect.
There are lots of pretty walks around the area and very central for visiting lots of interesting villages and towns.
We had a lot of fun in the games room which was well equipped.
the indoor swimming pool is small but warm and we had the pool to ourselves.
there is no restaurant but the resort do a special meal on Wednesday which we didn't go to but heard positive comments from other visitors.
i would definitely go there again especially with the grand children, as there is lots to do with children.

Room Tip: The Mews cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here with my wife. Our son and wife joined us for two days. Everything is very quaint with a great grounds for walk. A place to chill and relax although a great centre for the Cotswolds. Reception us only open until 6:00pm which is unusual, but we didn't need anyone 'out of hours'. Can't wait to go back. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment and we were fortunate to be given 2 bedrooms (Apartment 6).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BigJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

In the former grounds and building of Stouts Hill Prep School, this timeshare resort offers a haven of tranquility. Some might call it quaint, some a bit tired but we loved it. Very quiet but with some lovely touches - indoor and outdoor pool (the indoor one you let yourself into), games rooms, honour bar and beautiful grounds. Friendly staff. Relaxing stay. Might not suit everyone but a great base to explore the Cotswolds.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nibbs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here with for a week, and I truly enjoyed it. We didn't spend much time during the day time because I kept taking day trips to different places, but the ladies who run the place are extremely friendly and helpful. I love that our apartment had a little patio with a table so that we could eat breakfast outside especially since we had lovely weather while we stayed there.The place is super clean; however, my only complaint (probably because I'm American) is that there isn't any AC, and because of that we had to sleep with the windows open and the bugs kept getting inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oompa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uley
2.0 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
4.1 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stouts Hill Cotswold Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stouts Hill Cotswold Holiday Resort

Property: Stouts Hill Cotswold Holiday Resort
Address: Uley, Dursley GL11 5BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Dursley > Uley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Uley
Hotel Class:4 star — Stouts Hill Cotswold Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing