We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Example Of British Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Compton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old School Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Perfect Example Of British Hospitality”
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night at The Old School, and we enjoyed it immensely. Wendy the landlady personifies the ideal British host. Wonderful welcome, tour of the building, slightly eccentric and tea and cake on arrival.

The room we were in was nicely in keeping with the building, and very comfy, although it was a warm night.
Wendy booked us a table at the equally welcoming Red Lion up the road, with the nice touch of a torch in the drawer for the walk back.

Breakfast was very tasty and overall our stay was a perfect relaxation.

Did I mention the rabbits, ducks, fish, chickens and cat?

So if you fancy a couple of nights in the Cotswolds, this is definitely worth your attention, particularly if you are a foreign traveller in search of that famous English hospitality.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
121
364
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the school house last weekend 27/28thjuly. We had a wonderful , relaxing,time. Wendy was SO hospitable and very knowledgeable about the area and surrounding areas in and around the cotswolds. We had a lovely room,as well as a beautiful sitting room we're wendy brought us a tray of tea and homemade cake.would love to return. EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italiaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Old School for just one night on our way back to Yorkshire after visiting relatives in Sussex and Surrey. We were really looking forward to staying with Wendy because she had been so welcoming and friendly on the phone that we felt we already knew her! How right we were - Wendy welcomed us to her home and we had tea and cakes in the garden upon our arrival. Our room was perfect with a lovely large comfortable bed (excellent mattress) and dinner was to be found in a beautiful little gastro pub just a short walk away through a field. Food excellent, lovely atmosphere. After a good night's sleep we had one of the best breakfasts I have ever had - and we have stayed in many top five star gold award B&Bs. There was a lovely selection of delicious goodies to choose from - I chose granola and fruit compote, with a mushroom omelette to follow. Wendy made us feel like part of the family and we would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Old School in Little Compton. It was excellent in every way.

Wendy was an exceptional host and made us so very welcome in her home, which was really comfortable & beautiful. The room was well appointed and very comfortable and clean. We were made to feel very welcome, Wendy offered tea/ coffee with gorgeous home made cake after returning from our travels each day, this was such a lovely touch and so very welcomed. We enjoyed the lounge area in the late afternoons after a long day out, relaxing and reading. Wendy gives great advice for planning your day by way of places to visit and has a selection of maps and books to help with your trips, very helpful. The whole house ( the old school ) is lovely and it's lounge is such a beautiful room to make use of in the evenings (the whole house is lovely). Very relaxing and superbly furnished to a high standard. You will enjoy the Old School at Little Compton, nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfast's offerred at the Old School were superb, the ingredients were locally sourced and presented beautifully. Wendy understands food, this is clear from the quality of the breakfasts and enjoyment we had in eating it!! You will love this B&B for sure and we would definitely revisit if in the area, we would definitely recommend it to other couples.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Wendy has created a real haven that I plan to return to again. This is the only B&B that I have found to be extraordinarily memorable. Comfortable, designer beautiful, clean -- what else would you expect from a food stylist (who is no doubt very good at her job)? The restaurants in the area that she recommended were equally good. Thank you Wendy for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms at this B&B. All ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This place was everything it is cracked up to be and more. Wendy and her staff do and incredible job. You cannot beat the breakfast and make sure you set aside some time to walk the surrounding countryside. Beautiful restored old school house. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGBrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Superb comfort & hospitality, and nothing was too much trouble for Wendy. We were even lucky enough to be invited to a special dinner being held there and it was superb.

Having spent almost 6 weeks staying in B&Bs and hotels across the UK during our trip, we can say this is definitely the best place we stayed and the most memorable. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandLabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Compton
3.6 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
3.7 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old School Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old School Newtown, Little Compton, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Little Compton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Compton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old School Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old School b&b
The Old School Hotel Little Compton
The Old School Bed And Breakfast Little Compton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing