We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old School Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a lovely, lovely place. A fabulous building which is furnished and decorated in a way which manages to be both tasteful and chic but also relaxing and homely. It has a calm and soothing feel to it and the garden is likewise tranquil and lovely. Sadly we didn't get to meet John but Wendy is a wonderful host who really engages with her guests and instantly establishes a real rapport. It would be impossible to praise her or The Old School too highly.

Room Tip: The Old School is on a quiet 'A' road. It has double glazing which cuts out what little traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
115
353
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

As soon as you walk in to the Old School and meet Wendy and John you'll feel at home. From the spacious en-suite rooms and enormous freshly cooked breakfasts, to the roaring fires and comfy couches in the lounges; you'll want for nothing!

Wendy and John are wonderful, friendly hosts who are always eager to help and their knowledge of the local area will ensure you'll never be lost for something to do or places to see. We stayed for just under a week in November and can honestly say we felt utterly relaxed and pampered by the time we left.

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieTravelsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our family of 4 just returned from a nearly month-long family vacation in England, Scotland and Ireland, staying in B&B's for most of the time. We stayed 3 nights with John and Wendy at The Old School. We all agree that The Old School was really our overall favorite of the whole trip--and we stayed in really wonderful places. Our rooms were 100% comfortable and spotless. The guest lounge was perfect--a welcome place to unwind at the end of the day. Breakfasts were totally wonderful--delicious and perfectly cooked. But what really sets Old School apart is the genuine warmth and hospitality of John and Wendy. From my initial email inquiry to helping us get our luggage out to the car, John and Wendy were a perfect combination of professionalism, kindness, and good humor. Recommended without qualification!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cftyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our three-week England, Scotland, Ireland adventure. What a wonderful place to relax and unwind in such a beautiful setting. Wendy and John had great ideas for us on places to visit and a wonderful selection of maps and guidebooks.

Every afternoon Wendy and John served tea and a cake to enjoy in the large lounge -- the fire in the wood stove was welcome on the days we were there. Breakfast was superb with a wonderful selection from full English to just a bowl of porridge.

We were a short walk to the local pub/restaurant where we dined with other guests from the B&B.

Our room was wonderful -- large king-size bed, big fluffy towels, and quiet. So, if you're heading to the Cotswolds, this is a wonderful B&B to make your base. You will not be disappointed. Many thanks to Wendy & John!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ret48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wendy and John have mastered Bed and Breakfast...they are well suited to making the traveler feel welcome. The eggs at breakfast come from their own chickens...amazing roasted tomatoes and cooked mushrooms, the traditional Full English Breakfast. Most enjoyable was the group of other people staying at the same time, making breakfast conversation lively and enjoyable. My husband particularly liked the lounge area with the bottle of port kept on hand for the guests...we used the area to upload our days photos and to relax from a long day of touring. Highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHL4457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Its our second time at the old school house and once again our stay was perfect. The minute you walk in you are welcomed by John and Wendy who are the most wonderful people and hosts! We are shown to our room and left to settle in, the rooms are spacious with comfy beds and all have en suits. The rooms are decorated tastefully and cosy, the rooms are spotless and so are the bathrooms .
At around four o clock you are brought tea/coffee and a homemade slice of cake which never disappoints, you can either have it in the beautiful lounge with the big stained glass window with the fire roaring on them cold days or weather permitting in the gardens which are kept immaculately by john, and take a wonder a little further and you can meet the rabbits, chickens and ducks oh and the baby chicks. The breakfasts are huge and you defiantly won't be needing lunch, everything is cooked to order and wow is it good, endless choice of teas, coffee, fresh fruit juices. Your eggs cooked any way you like them and they come straight from the garden. There is fresh fruit, cereals porridge the list goes on and far to much to mention. At breakfast you meet the other guest normally and it is a great atmosphere and endless discussions on what is on the agenda for the day. Wendy and John are constantly recommending places to visit and the local knowledge of whats going on in the area is second to none, they will book any activities for you so it is stress free from horse back riding to dinner reservations. If you are lucky enough to have Wendy cook for you one evening then you are in for a treat the food is simply divine! We will defiantly be visiting in the near future as we just can't keep away, its the perfect weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

After almost 2years we returned to the Old School for a long weekend. The welcome was as warm and friendly as ever. Wendy & John are lovely people who never fail to provide excellent hospitality. The Old School is the most beautiful place tastefully decorated to be both cosy, welcoming and comfortable. Wendy is an excellent cook and the breakfasts are something not to be missed ; the only place where you have to specify exactly what you want I.e. 1 egg, 1 bacon etc. and if you love animals there are ducks, chickens, rabbits and a very shy cat to entertain.
In all, the best possible way to see one of the most beautiful parts of England.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Compton
3.6 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.6 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old School Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old School Newtown, Little Compton, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Little Compton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Compton
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old School Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old School b&b
The Old School Hotel Little Compton
The Old School Bed And Breakfast Little Compton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing