We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place for a group of 20 at a sensible...”

Review of Rigside Farmhouse

Rigside Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rigside Farmhouse
sitting room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
Rigside Farmhouse
sitting room
Kitchen
Conservatory
sitting room
Sitting Room
kitchen
Kitchen/Dining room
dining table
front Hall
Lark
Kestrel
Flamingo bedroom, with door through to Osprey
Osprey, entered through Flamingo bedroom
Master Bedroom
Rose Garden
trampoline
The gated entrance to Rigside
Salter's Lane, entrance to Rigside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Little Compton, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HappyTr1p...
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a group of 20 at a sensible price”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for my 40th birthday celebration weekend, the party included 13 adults, 6 children and 2 infants. When I was searching for a property of this size there were far too many overly plush places that cost a fortune. Rigside was just right - very comfortable, spacious and affordable. We booked through Manor Cottages but I also dealt directly with someone from Cotswold Farm Cottages who was extremely helpful, went out of her way to phone me to talk about room arrangements (we added in some extra beds for which we paid a small amount). The garden was great for young kids, the climbing frame was a little bit old but I don't think any of the children noticed, and the trampoline was very popular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Looked small from the outside but was very spacious, didn't feel at all cramped.
Liked least: One fridge was out of order
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location, properly kitted out for large groups
Liked least: perhaps the towels were due to be replaced? Not as soft as we might have hoped.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 May 2014
We were so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have lots of families and Hen parties visiting and it is always lovely to hear positive responses. We always put in lots of extra kitchen equipment, so that you have enough for large parties. Robin is a small room, and we do say that on the website, I hope your teenager wasn't too unhappy! Please visit us again, you were a delightful group.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob T
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well situated, but the house lacked TLC and was disappointing”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This could be a really good holiday let, but there was a lack of investment evident in the upkeep of furnishings and general decor which disappointed us. The sofas look as though they had come from a charity shop as had most of the soft furnishings, such as cushions and curtains. The TV in the lounge didn't work and the one in the master bedroom needed 15 minutes attention to wiring et al.

We fed back to Manor Cottages at some length after our return but after 2 weeks we do not appear to have received a response.

The house itself is well proportioned and nicely situated and it could be a good deal better if some money was re-invested from rentals into upgrading the decor and furnishings and giving the property a bit of TLC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the condition of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Thank you for your feedback and your comments. Our house is very competitively priced, compared to similar properties in the area for this reason, specifically because we keep the house highly comfortable, for family gathering, so that they can feel comfortable and relaxed. I am sorry you had problems with getting the televisions to work, but am glad that this was sorted out for you at the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large communal spaces
Liked least: The sewerage issues
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. As you know the flooding had been very extreme, and so we had to have the drain cleared twice, especially as previous tenants had put nappies down the drain! I do apologise for the inconvenience and am glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Please come and see us again. Kindest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing