We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Schoolhouse
Nearby Hotels
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
61
10
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
10
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubloch lomondthe cottagesamazing weekendhen weekendcameron housefamily get togetheron arrivallovely cottagethe location is perfectopen plan kitchenconic hilla great staysky moviesthe oak tree inncottage numberproperties
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I shared my 21st birthday with 12 of my friends at The Old Schoolhouse and we had an amazing weekend! The best couple of nights sleep that many of us had had for a while and the hot tub was just superb :D We didn't get a chance to see the surrounding area as we were too occupied with the movies in the houses and the hot tub as it was snowing during our visit. Claire and her husband Graham were very helpful and their 'Old Schoolhouses' are really something else. Upset at having to come home, but hopefully be back soon! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nona8390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed at The Old School House for the weekend from the 25th-27th February 2011 along with my 15 friends for my hen weekend. We stayed in both houses and we all had an absolute ball and were gutted that we had to go home. The Old School House was the perfect setting, the houses are absolutely beautiful and were very clean and modern, had excellent facilities and the hot tub was great! Claire and her husband were very helpful and I would definitely recommend to anyone and I hope to be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D12YSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My husband and I stayed there recently with our dog and had a lovely relaxing stay. Even the dog seemed more chilled out!

We stayed from Mon-Fri in Oct 2010. I found the place on the internet after trawling for hours looking for somewhere that was nice and modern that would accept our dog (trust me this is very difficult as many places that accept pets, well lets just say i wouldn't let my pet stay there!)

The old school house was perfect for our tastes, very modern and minimalist in style. the finish on the property is excellent. almost like something you would see on the Grand Designs tv programme.

Everything you needed was already taken care of right down to the fairy liquid and laundry detergent.

We used the property as a great base and took day trips with the dog to the very nearby Loch Lomond, local nature trails and forrest walks.

We also treated ourselves to a first class meal at the new Martin Wishart fine dining restaurant located within Cameron House. This was only about a 25min drive away.

I would also recommend a meal in the cosy Oak Tree Inn, in Balmaha, which is about 2mins in the car or a good 20min walk along the main road. word of warning (huge portions) they also do take away and we had two fab pizzas one night that we collected and brought back to the house.

The dog found the stairs quite tricky for the first few days as they are all wooden and turn at some tight angles in parts, however that's his inabilty to manage them and not any fault on the house. By the end he was running up and down them like a spring lamb.

We went a massive walk one day and came back opened a bottle of fizz and soaked our muscles in the hot tub. Great Touch!

We had the best sleeps ever as the bed was so comfortable...or was it the fresh air who knows?

Claire was really helpful and we're dying to go back next year. we'd also love to take our friends and family next time as it's really a great place to be enjoyed by a crowd as well as a couples retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

A nice cottage and owners are really nice so you feel very welcome which is great.
The garden and hot tub is such a fantastic feature of this place! Also for dogs to be allowed in such a nice place is unusal and impressive.
The multi-level, open plan design plus slippy wooden floors was a bit hairy with a 2 year old though and the dogs found it a bit of a challenge too but got used to it.
Criticisms - the shower downstairs was broken when we arrived which meant everybody trooping up to the third level of the house, to shower. Having 2 bathrooms was one of my main criteria in looking for a place so i felt a bit cheated by this. Kitchen not well stocked enough to really make a proper meal - there were no mixing bowls or salad bowls for instance. No dishwasher tabs which was infuriating after having fully stocked up the dishwasher!
Make sure the heating is working when you arrive we had a problem as the heaters had mostly been turned off on 2 top levels of house and the heating system is not straightforward. Also the water heater was set to the lowest so the water was lukewarm. (we turned it up when we eventually sussed it out)
Overall though we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maundering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Myself, 6 friends and 2 young babies have just got back from a long weekend at the Old School House and we had a great time which was made even better by the fantastic sunshine we had! The house is very clean and has a very contempory feel about it, the gardens are well kept and the hot tub was very welcoming! The beds are really very comfortable and there are plenty of towels provided. We found it to be a bit on the small size for our group, especially the kitchen but when we had a peek through the empty house next door, the kitchen was much bigger so perhaps a request for the bigger property for larger groups wouldn't go a miss. Our only other critisism was the lack of utensils in the kitchen, we made a big roast beef dinner on the sunday and we needed to go out and buy extra utensils such as a cheese grater, potato peeler, seive etc in order for us to be able to cook the meal which we found to be dissapointing in a self catering home. Another problem we found which we alerted Claire to, was the broken upstairs shower which resulted in 7 people having to use the downstairs wet room which also began to leak. Claire was alerted to this and we're are sure once the problems are rectified the house will be completely faultless. Having said this we would return and we had a brilliant weekend!! I hope Claire sees this as constructive critisism and nothing more becasue we really did enjoy ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews