We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous venue!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milton Of Buchanan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Schoolhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Absolutely stunning location and first class accommodation, Was there pampering the lovely ladies from Edinburgh who were on a hen weekend. www.lomondbeauty.co.uk, would love to pamper you here!!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank lomondbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

Having stayed at The Old Schoolhouse in April 2010, we returned in June 2011.

Excellent weather second time around led to another truly fabulous 4-night stay.

I cannot speak highly enough of the house and surrounding environment, it is absolutely stunning.

Looking forward to returning in 2012!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Craig3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed at the Old School House with our guests from South Africa, The cottage is modern and very clean and comfortably accommodated 4 adults and 5 children (all girls). Lots of entertainment and games for children not forgetting the wonderful hot tub which the girls loved. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. It was home from home, will definitely go again at our earliest opportunity. Clare and Graeme were fantastic hosts. The cottage is close to all amenities, and the loch is just a short walk away. Would highly reccomend this accomodation to anyone.

Room Tip: The cottage is located in a well lit area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I shared my 21st birthday with 12 of my friends at The Old Schoolhouse and we had an amazing weekend! The best couple of nights sleep that many of us had had for a while and the hot tub was just superb :D We didn't get a chance to see the surrounding area as we were too occupied with the movies in the houses and the hot tub as it was snowing during our visit. Claire and her husband Graham were very helpful and their 'Old Schoolhouses' are really something else. Upset at having to come home, but hopefully be back soon! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nona8390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed at The Old School House for the weekend from the 25th-27th February 2011 along with my 15 friends for my hen weekend. We stayed in both houses and we all had an absolute ball and were gutted that we had to go home. The Old School House was the perfect setting, the houses are absolutely beautiful and were very clean and modern, had excellent facilities and the hot tub was great! Claire and her husband were very helpful and I would definitely recommend to anyone and I hope to be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D12YSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My husband and I stayed there recently with our dog and had a lovely relaxing stay. Even the dog seemed more chilled out!

We stayed from Mon-Fri in Oct 2010. I found the place on the internet after trawling for hours looking for somewhere that was nice and modern that would accept our dog (trust me this is very difficult as many places that accept pets, well lets just say i wouldn't let my pet stay there!)

The old school house was perfect for our tastes, very modern and minimalist in style. the finish on the property is excellent. almost like something you would see on the Grand Designs tv programme.

Everything you needed was already taken care of right down to the fairy liquid and laundry detergent.

We used the property as a great base and took day trips with the dog to the very nearby Loch Lomond, local nature trails and forrest walks.

We also treated ourselves to a first class meal at the new Martin Wishart fine dining restaurant located within Cameron House. This was only about a 25min drive away.

I would also recommend a meal in the cosy Oak Tree Inn, in Balmaha, which is about 2mins in the car or a good 20min walk along the main road. word of warning (huge portions) they also do take away and we had two fab pizzas one night that we collected and brought back to the house.

The dog found the stairs quite tricky for the first few days as they are all wooden and turn at some tight angles in parts, however that's his inabilty to manage them and not any fault on the house. By the end he was running up and down them like a spring lamb.

We went a massive walk one day and came back opened a bottle of fizz and soaked our muscles in the hot tub. Great Touch!

We had the best sleeps ever as the bed was so comfortable...or was it the fresh air who knows?

Claire was really helpful and we're dying to go back next year. we'd also love to take our friends and family next time as it's really a great place to be enjoyed by a crowd as well as a couples retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

A nice cottage and owners are really nice so you feel very welcome which is great.
The garden and hot tub is such a fantastic feature of this place! Also for dogs to be allowed in such a nice place is unusal and impressive.
The multi-level, open plan design plus slippy wooden floors was a bit hairy with a 2 year old though and the dogs found it a bit of a challenge too but got used to it.
Criticisms - the shower downstairs was broken when we arrived which meant everybody trooping up to the third level of the house, to shower. Having 2 bathrooms was one of my main criteria in looking for a place so i felt a bit cheated by this. Kitchen not well stocked enough to really make a proper meal - there were no mixing bowls or salad bowls for instance. No dishwasher tabs which was infuriating after having fully stocked up the dishwasher!
Make sure the heating is working when you arrive we had a problem as the heaters had mostly been turned off on 2 top levels of house and the heating system is not straightforward. Also the water heater was set to the lowest so the water was lukewarm. (we turned it up when we eventually sussed it out)
Overall though we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maundering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Schoolhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Schoolhouse

Address: The Old Schoolhouse, Milton Of Buchanan G63 0JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Milton Of Buchanan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Milton Of Buchanan
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Schoolhouse comprises of four, self-catering cottages set within Balmaha in the Loch Lomond National Park. All four cottages have been lovingly restored and furnished to give a contemporary, luxurious feel. There are 2 three-bedroom and 2 two-bedroom cottages. Each cottage is equipped with all necessary appliances for a very pleasant getaway, e.g. dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, hairdryer, iron, travel cot. The living rooms in the two-bedroom cottages have an open-plan, contemporary feel and include wood flooring and hi-tech features, including flat screen TVs, Sky Q (including Sky Movies and Sky Sports) and Wi-Fi. In addition to the above, the three-bedrooms are set over four levels and have a beautiful, natural-slate feature wall, viewed from the mezzanine living area. The three-bedrooms have a modern family bathroom and also a shower room opposite the master bedroom. The two-bedroom cottages have a modern, stylish shower room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing