We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for large groups!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milton Of Buchanan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Schoolhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our party of 8 enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Old Schoolhouse. The property is well finished and benefits from an excellent location that lends itself well to outdoor pursuits such as hillwalking and golf. My favourite feature was the outdoor hot-tub, the perfect way to relax after a long day.

I found the price very reasonable in comparison to other lodges I have booked, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikey1983burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Let me start by saying there were only two of us, and a dog, so I can't really comment on the validity of the criticisms below, as we wouldn't have encountered any of them.

Let's get the niggles out of the way first - let me stress that these are very minor issues, which in no way spoiled our enjoyment of our stay:

* The windows in the front downstairs bedroom didn't seem to close completely, so any traffic could be heard really clearly (although there wasn't much traffic). This also caused the bedroom to be a little cold.

* Don't try to have a bath! The hot water pressure was low, so it took ages to half fill the bath, by which point the hot water had run out anyhow.

* If you have a bunch of young guys staying in the house next door, make sure they tell the Chinese delivery man which house to go to at 11:30p.m. :-)

Having said that though: it's an old building; to stick uPVC windows in it would have been a travesty and would have completely spoiled the character of it. The heating issue can be resolved by moving the thermostat to the bedroom or giving the electric fire a quick blast, and the duvets are so good that you don't even notice after a while. And you'll be so knackered you won't notice any traffic noise!

You also don't really need a bath, as you have two showers, and a hot tub for occasions where you want to chill out, so it isn't an issue.

Claire and Graeme have done an excellent job with the house - the decoration is stunning, and everything is provided which you could possibly need. The fact that the house has Sky Plus and reasonably fast wireless broadband is a massive bonus. The aforementioned hot tub is also an excellent feature - very few self-catering houses would give you this.

The garden is big and is an excellent sun trap, particularly at the rear of the house. The location itself is superb; you're away from the touristy hustle and bustle of Balloch, Luss, Balmaha, etc., but within easy driving distance of all of them. The eastern side of Loch Lomond is gorgeous, particularly up towards Rowardennan. But the house is also within easy reach of Glasgow, so it's the best of both worlds really.

If you're looking for somewhere to get away from it all, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

After recommending a friend to the Old School House i was dissapointed to learn that the contructive critisism i gave on my own return was not taken into account. The kitchen remains poorly stocked with basic utensils such as a tip opener not being provided. There is also only 4 knives and forks provided which is baffling as the house is supposed to accomodate 6-8 people. There are no blinds on the windows in the living room, meaning whoever is unfortunate enough to sleep on the sofabed will be woken up early by the day light.
The comments in the guest book reflect what i have said so it is very dissapointing and frustrating to hear that they have simply been ignored. Such a shame, as the property has the potential to be superb if only these simple problems were rectified.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Absolutely stunning location and first class accommodation, Was there pampering the lovely ladies from Edinburgh who were on a hen weekend. www.lomondbeauty.co.uk, would love to pamper you here!!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank lomondbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Having stayed at The Old Schoolhouse in April 2010, we returned in June 2011.

Excellent weather second time around led to another truly fabulous 4-night stay.

I cannot speak highly enough of the house and surrounding environment, it is absolutely stunning.

Looking forward to returning in 2012!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Craig3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed at the Old School House with our guests from South Africa, The cottage is modern and very clean and comfortably accommodated 4 adults and 5 children (all girls). Lots of entertainment and games for children not forgetting the wonderful hot tub which the girls loved. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. It was home from home, will definitely go again at our earliest opportunity. Clare and Graeme were fantastic hosts. The cottage is close to all amenities, and the loch is just a short walk away. Would highly reccomend this accomodation to anyone.

Room Tip: The cottage is located in a well lit area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I shared my 21st birthday with 12 of my friends at The Old Schoolhouse and we had an amazing weekend! The best couple of nights sleep that many of us had had for a while and the hot tub was just superb :D We didn't get a chance to see the surrounding area as we were too occupied with the movies in the houses and the hot tub as it was snowing during our visit. Claire and her husband Graham were very helpful and their 'Old Schoolhouses' are really something else. Upset at having to come home, but hopefully be back soon! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nona8390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Of Buchanan
6.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.1 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
1.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Loch Lomond Waterfront
#1 of 5 in Balmaha
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Schoolhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Schoolhouse

Address: The Old Schoolhouse, Milton Of Buchanan G63 0JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Milton Of Buchanan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Milton Of Buchanan
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Schoolhouse comprises of four, self-catering cottages set within Balmaha in the Loch Lomond National Park. All four cottages have been lovingly restored and furnished to give a contemporary, luxurious feel. There are 2 three-bedroom and 2 two-bedroom cottages. Each cottage is equipped with all necessary appliances for a very pleasant getaway, e.g. dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, hairdryer, iron, travel cot. The living rooms in the two-bedroom cottages have an open-plan, contemporary feel and include wood flooring and hi-tech features, including flat screen TVs, Sky Q (including Sky Movies and Sky Sports) and Wi-Fi. In addition to the above, the three-bedrooms are set over four levels and have a beautiful, natural-slate feature wall, viewed from the mezzanine living area. The three-bedrooms have a modern family bathroom and also a shower room opposite the master bedroom. The two-bedroom cottages have a modern, stylish shower room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing