We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Don Ignacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Ignacio
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We spent eight nights at the Don Ignacio. We had a three bed room with a wonderful view on the beach. The hotel is definitely not new and fancy but it offers all what you need for a great stay at a very affordable price. We would definitely visit it again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank forket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and as the previous reviewer has said, it was absolutely worth the money we paid for it. I wouldn´t have given it a 4 star rating but it had everything we were looking for. Our room (103) however was extremely small, with hardly enough room to pass between the end of the bed and the dressing table, but the room and the bed were comfortable and the bathroom was a good size, although the shower could have been better. Basically the water fell from the shower attachment directly onto the taps,which meant that the shower had to be hand held to be able to wash under it.

The swimming pool was delightful and whilst we were there, there were sufficient sunbeds. I was particularly impressed by the way the pool and the surrounding area was meticulously cleaned every day. It was also just a short stroll onto the beach and the sea and also to some very good restaurants, particularly Cuatro Nudos.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and the wi-fi worked well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We staid 3 nights at the Hotel Don Ignacio and were very satisfied. While I would not think of it as a four star hotel ist was absolutly worth the money we paid for our stay. Spaicous room and bath, good beds and a fridge quiet but I would not vouch for it to be so quiet within season. Location directly at the beach is briliant. The people are very friendly. The breakfast buffet while not awinspireing was offered everything including cooked breakfast on request andfres ham abd cheese and fruits. I would definetly stay again and recomend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

God only knows where Don Ignacio has gotten the 4 stars they proudly sport in their logo, probably there was a raffle somewhere... In all fairness the only good point about the hotel is the position: right on the beach! Other than this the place would normally get 2 stars, tops! Rooms are small and not exactly up-to-date, bathrooms have seen better days, there is a wifi only in the main lobby... And prices are not exactly cheap. Did not try the breakfast, as they were charging another € 10.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Istkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is right where the beach ends. That beach is great many people but not crowded since it is big enough. But you can be very quickly get to several of the very few wild beaches left in the Mediterranean Spain (Genoveses, Monsul, Cala Carbon....) as well as to the rest to the Natural Park.
The hotel is small but that avoids crowds in the breakfast or swimming pool. At breakfast is you will not find a wide variety but everything's good and waiters are charming. Nice choice for lunch about 6 dishes for first and another 6 for second course. At the desk you will find very good tips. San Jose is a place where you can plan expeditions around the coast but also with many places for lunch or dinner. You can get to the port and play padel in one ideal court. At the port you can book a trip by boat. Also right by the gate of the hotel, booth with plenty of tourist information.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavierBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I spent 1 week in this hotel last July with my family. The village of San Jose is lovely and quiet just what we were looking for our holiday and the hotel has great location, right at the beach in the middle of the village. However, while we will definitely go back to San Jose, we most definitely will not stay at this hotel again.

Rooms are small and poor insulated. They don’t get properly clean. If you leave dirty towels to get changed you won’t see clean towels for the rest of the day. When we complaint at the reception, the staff was very unfriendly, they even told us that if we were not happy we shouldn’t stay in the hotel again and that’s what we will do……

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madrileña2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We had visited San Jose some years previously and decided to stay here for one night, en route back from the Estepona area. I had read some reviews of another hotel in San Jose but my partner insisted on the Don Ignacio as it is right on the beach. BIG mistake! Coming from the 5 star Crowne Plaza to this 3 star (really a 2) was such a “comfort” shock. Our room was tiny – I would imagine all rooms to be the same. About the only good thing about it was the air conditioning unit which worked well. Breakfast frankly was a joke – I won’t even go into that. For one night I guess it is fine and at least it was clean; you certainly can’t fault it’s location, being right on the beach. San Jose itself is a little gem with some quaint shops and a handful of more than adequate restaurants. It is a bit of a drive down from the main road but there are some interesting places around to visit. If you like your Spain to be minus the tourists, then this area is a good place to see.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada De Paco
La Posada De Paco
#2 of 5 in San Jose
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Gaviotas Hostal
Las Gaviotas Hostal
#3 of 5 in San Jose
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
2,510 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Calagrande
Hotel Spa Calagrande
#1 of 2 in Las Negras
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Agades
Hotel Agades
#4 of 5 in San Jose
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Ignacio

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 04118 San Jose, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £34 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Don Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Ignacio San Jose, Spain - Almeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing