We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Preston Girls”
Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, Lancashire.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“By Preston Girls”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Yes its in a quiet resort - like it tells you in the brochure! But there are plenty of trips, we loved our trip to Marineland. The Sea Lion and Dolphin show was fab, in fact we went for lunch then went to watch them again! If you dont want to stay in Marineland all day you can venture out into the town for shopping or going to the bars and restaurants. The Old Town of Alcudia is a 20 min slow walk from the hotel which has shops, bars, cafes and a market twice a week. There is also the port if you fancy more night life .You can go by bus or catch a taxi for 6 euros. As for saying you are only allowed one cuppa at breakfast? You can sit there for 2 hours and drink it until its coming out of your ears!!! The food was lovely and varied and it wasn`t 5 euros for a glass of wine (like mentioned in other reviews) but 2.75 euros. There is also entertainment on in the hotel 3 nights a week. The rooms are clean and comfortable, we requested a sea view, which was beautiful. The staff where fun and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing week away in the sun at the Hotel More.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrestonGirls2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    240
    93
    30
    27
See reviews for
220
380
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2011

01/10/11 - 08/10/11. Before entering the hotel, the wheelchair/pram access ramps are so steep you could end up in a wheelchair yourself if u slip. The Staff - At check-in, the girl had no idea if we had a cot in our room as requested, nor did she have any intention of finding out or doing anything about it if we didn't (fortunately we did). After paying 2.3 euros for a cup of tea and leaving the barman the 70c change from 3 euros, the only thanks i got was "yes that will pay the mortgage". The balcony doors did not lock, when this was reported to another woman at the front desk, she laughed and told me we would not get burgled on the second floor. The problem was temporarily fixed when we explained that we had a toddler that we didn't want falling off a second floor balcony. The Room - Clean but not comfortable. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and with 1 pillow and a huge cushion, even my 5ft 2in partner was left with her feet sticking 6in out the bottom. The Food - The chef isn't Gordon Ramsey, don't expect a gourmet meal. All this aside, you get what you pay for, if you want 5* luxury, book a hilton. If you want cheap and cheerful, the Hotel More isn't too bad.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just returned for a holiday at Hotel More in September, despite what i've read in some of the previous reviews, we found the Hotel very clean and comfortable, and the food was good. Yes, there is not a lot of entertainment in the Hotel, but Alcudia and Puerto Pollensa were only a short taxi or bus ride away. Only a Ten minute walk into the Old Town , where there has a lively Market on a Tuesday and Sunday, (remember to haggle ).
The Red Rum Pub we found very disappointing with very poor food, The Caramel Restuarant a few yards from the Hotel offered a far better taste experience, and i would recommend them.
All in all we had a very good holiday, and would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holidaymaker123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Are holiday started on the 24th sept 2011 till 8th oct 2011 and the hotel is great if you want a quiet holiday not for older children as there is nothing to do no where to go at night or do at hotel, the food is bad as it gets reheated for the evening meal if it don't get eaten at the lunch time and the food is very bland.There is only two buses that goes to the hotel one at 9am and the other returns at 12.20pm then you will have to walk or get a taxi to where you want to go, I sat in the resturant for my evening meal and for 3 nights never got asked if I would like a drink with my meal, You can only have a free cup of tea or coffee in the morning with breakfast then you have to pay for it, There are a lot of elderly that goes to that hotel and push you when you are trying to get a meal and they will tell you that they have been going there for as long as 21yrs thats if they speck to you that is,the hotel it's self is clean and the cleaners do well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s_hawkins87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

It is hard to imagine that the 'Go Pontinental' style of hotel still exists, but here it is alive and well in Alcudia. Set in a lovely, quiet residential location, with the beach in close proximity, it is, therefore, difficult to understand why the management of this hotel set such low standards. We booked here after reading the favourable reviews on this website. Just goes to show how perceptions and standards can be so different.

We requested a double room, but were given a triple room (x 3 singles). On enquiring, we were told that there are only 2 rooms in the entire hotel with double beds and people preferred single beds. We were offered a swop the next day, but declined as the new room overlooked a courtyard with music playing until past midnight. The beds themselves had metal frames and were extremely uncomfortable, a bit like sleeping on a folding Z bed. The food is generally of a poor standard, although there appears to be plenty of it. However, service is low on the agenda and you have to clear your own table. It's a bit like a self-service school cafeteria. Quite frankly this is unecessary in the 21st Century and down right degrading.

The hotel itself has an air of shabbiness about it. The dark wooden approach does not engender Spanish villa, more penny pinching management. The room we had was adequate, but small (3 beds crammed in) and the bathroom tiny, particularly the shower - you will laugh at the size of the bath - Jeanette Krankie size! The pool is across the road. Outrageously there are only 3 umbrellas around the pool, totally inadequate. Other shade nearby was taken up very early morning by the towel on sunbed brigade, so we were forced to sunbath on the pretty uncomfortable sunbeds in the garden to the rear of the hotel.

Nearby, the Caramel bar has superb food and is lovely to sit out in. The Red Rum pub is good, although chips with everything, but avoid the steaks - terrible. Do walk the, literally, 15 mins into Alcudia old town which is lovely.

So all in all, we won't be going back and unless The More bucks its ideas up, I doubt many others will either.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GulliverGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Our family has been to Hotel More 3 times now,twice in September and once in July. Our two children were both under ten and adored the freedom of being allowed to head off to the beach on their own whenever they wanted.[unknown to them,mum and dad watching from the balcony or pool area] The laid back atmosphere took me back to my own childhood holidays when I could spend hours investigating rock pools and making new friends. The food is always of an excellent quality, freshly made and watched over by the head chef! Be sure not to miss the beautful freshly cooked steaks on Mondays, {after the bullfighting in nearbye Old town Alcudia on Sundays...coincidental I hope.] This is not an all singing,all dancing holiday but one you will remember fondly for many years to come.
Only thing missing would be air con in the summer months but we got around this by staying in one of the large rooms at the very top of the hotel which had a marvelous breeze coupled with the fantastic views over the bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I will start off with my usual ten out of ten,
The food was beatiful, could not complain about the food at all, when people say its school dinner food, I would have loved to have gone to their school....still ten.
The cleanliness of the rooms and surrounding areas were immaculate, sheets changed every day and clean towels the same .....still ten
The location of the hotel is lovely, the view is fantastic, in kind of a little bay with a beach only shared by two hotels, with the pool for the hotel More just opposite, and yes, you can lie on the beds on the beach....still ten
The pool is cold but very refreshing, there is a toilet...however there are only three San Miguel brolleys and 75% of the beds are broken, and there is a real bad grime mark all round the pool....down to nine
Some of the staff, I would say 90% of them, need to go on a customer service course, the manager included, she is a screamer and if she has to shout at one of the staff she does not care where she is or who hears it.......down to eight.
So thats it, eight out of ten which isnt bad, there is only two bars in close proximity to the Hotel More, and that is the Caramel Bar and The Red Rum, go and see the sunset there, amazing!!. Glad we went full board as very very expensive unless you want to go into the Port or Belleview Strip, which will put money on your holiday but save in the long run if you like a drink or two,,,,,,,

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandyrKinver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alcudia hotels
0.9 mi away
Prinsotel Mal Pas
Prinsotel Mal Pas
#39 of 56 in Alcudia
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#9 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,299 reviews
2.5 mi away
HSM President Golf & Spa
HSM President Golf & Spa
#16 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia
#10 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
463 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#3 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
#28 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Property: Hotel More
Address: Paseo Tirant Lo Blanc 8 | More vermey, 07400, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alcudia
#10 Family Hotel in Alcudia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel More 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, small and cosy hotel situated in the north of Mallorca, close to the Alcudia old town area, with superb views overlooking the bay of Pollensa.Especially indicated for clients looking for a relaxing holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel More Alcudia, Majorca
More Hotel Alcudia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing