We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and disappointing feed”
Review of Bavarian Bier Cafe

Bavarian Bier Cafe
Ranked #7 of 481 Restaurants in Parramatta
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Perfectly placed in the heart of Sydney's second CBD, Bavarian Bier Cafe Parramatta boasts the very best Bavarian bier, authentic cuisine and warm hospitality, along with a dedicated event space. Situated in a fully restored historical church and perfect for birthdays, get-togethers and work functions, the stylish venue has indoor and alfresco dining areas - there's even a Pizza Station in the Biergarten, where you can try tasty pizzas with a Bavarian twist. Whether you're dropping by for lunch or dinner, the friendly atmosphere will make you'll feel right at home
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing feed”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Took a large group here for the Octoberfest special menu. What a disappointment, food was average, either way too much for some of the menu items or light on for the others. Maybe the size of our group contributed to this but would like to try again as I had been told good things, maybe with a small group.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    125
    61
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
“Nice but way to expensive”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I went here a few weeks ago for a farewell dinner and it cost me around $50 for a meal and soft drink. The food is delicious and the servings are very large but it is extremely pricey for what it actually is. I had a lamb schnitzel which was huge but cost me $40 and only came with some chips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emily0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Evening”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

It was a Monday Evening with a few friends and we chose this day because it will quiet. It was quiet and very few people. We enjoyed our drinks and the Bier is out of the world.
Food was good fare on. Offer. I go for the Pork Belly and as always is never a disappointment. Infact the rest try that or the Steak on offer. It's amazing, we were all not disappointed and enjoyed every morsel and very drop we drank. Well Done, Bavarian Bier, you never let us down!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
2 reviews
“'Guten Tag Parramatta'”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Nice atmosphere. great addition to Parramatta. Great draft 'bier', and the wooden tray of schnapps was a classic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpearson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A must for beer-lovers! 1L stein glasses of German beer.”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

An amazing atmosphere; set in an old church. It feels like you have been transported to Bavaria. The schnapps ordering procedure consists of the waitress ringing a bell as she carries your shots on a wooden rack to your table. Very festive & really adds to the atmosphere.

The food was average unfortunately, myself finding the schnitzel to be extremely fatty & the hand-cut chips to be nothing more than soggy, unseasoned Maccas fries, as opposed to authentic German style hand-cut chips.

This place is however, definitely worth the visit, if you are a beer drinker, or simply want an enjoyable night out with drinking company. 1L steins of beer make for a raucous evening & for a decent price too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 
Harris Park, Parramatta
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing