We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy room on 2nd floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great location , noisy room with the sounds of what seemed to be from the rooms above through the bathroom, closing door didn't help in addition to the air conditioning which sounded like the motor was in the room with us, and if you are taller then the average adult your head would hit the ceiling when having a shower, and being a 4 star hotel they could do with changing the toilet seat to avoid the rough plastic look which
Doesn't impress.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank witchypooMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear WitchypooMelbourne
Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us at Novotel Parramatta.
I would like to gain your room number so that we can investigate the noise you experienced further and would be happy for you to contact me via H8787-OM@accor.com.
Kind regards
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Sydney Parramatta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MARIONRITA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mitchell787
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2013

had a nice night away stay , nice room large , had booked a queen and was upgraded to a king a nice supprise loverly breakfast good location, would stay there again if in there area considering its on a busy street the sound controll is very good would have loved to have been able to try out the pool and gym area will do next time

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodie3382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Jodie3382
Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us at Novotel Sydney Parramatta.
It was wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon so that you may enjoy our pool and gym facilities!
Kind regards
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

5 night stay - business trip. King suite room. A very abreviated version of the problems I had.
At first, the hotel appears high quality with efficient staff. Not sure they're too happy though.
I had cause to visit reception a minimum of twice a day due to faulty access cards which would either work in the lifts & room or in the carpark, not both. They just could seem to get it right.
Room was on the second floor & had a great view of the wall of the building next door. Potentially the darkest room I have ever stayed in. What made the matter worse was the rooms did not have a main ceiling light. The sitting room light was a small unit next to the door, the bedroom light (& switch) was on the wall in the corner next to the bathroom. Just as well my e-reader has a bult in light!
One night a bedside light blew & the TV decided to stop working at the same time. Called reception - no answer. Went down to reception where there were 2 staff working - advised phone didn't ring.
Supplied with a new light globe & batteries for the TV remote. Light worked, TV didn't. Turned TV off at wall so I could get to sleep.
Next morning I again visited reception to advise that TV didn't work. Told that it was probably the pay TV box which I should reset by pulling out the desk, & re-setting the box.
One of the 3 lifts kept trying to take my head off 2 out of 3 times - the 3rd time the doors wouldn't close.
Many trucks visiting either of the 2 buildings stopped right beneath my room, usually between 5 & 6am & making significant noise.
They tried to charge my boss for 5 breakfasts even though he only stayed 2 nights. They also tried to charge me for 5 when I only had 4.
Staff have christened the building Faulty Towers & happily gave me the big boss' direct e-mail to note my displeasure.
On a positive note, the service staff are very good and vey helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabid_Dabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Rabid_Dabid

Thankyou for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at Novotel Sydney Parramatta.
I wash happy to hear that you found our team friendly and helpful. However I was disappointed to hear that you had problems with our room keys / parking cards. As they are both programmed on the same cards we are now identifying our parking cards with a sticker so they are easily identified when compared with the room keys and we hope this will avoid confusion in the future.
Kind regards
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at many hotels and this one rated as average. Check in was unremarkable - not friendly at all. The room was good and overlooked the park. Breakfast was a downer - bacon was awful and waited for 20 minutes for poached eggs after asking twice. Staff were not that attentive except for one day manager who was lovely. The room itself was very noisy - I got woken up numerous times by people slamming doors, carrying on in the hallway, traffic etc Limited room service menu. Overall disappointing experience - need more friendly staff with good customer service skills.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danii7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Danii7

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at Novotel Sydney Parramatta.
It was great to hear that you found our Assistant Manager friendly and we are currently endeavouring to develop all of our staff to be as attentive and helpful.

Kind regards
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Newcastle, Australia
31
Reviewed 15 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.6 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#7 of 12 in Parramatta
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Address: 350 Church St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia (Formerly Sebel Parramatta)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Parramatta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range: £87 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Parramatta 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting and diverse location of the 4.5 star Novotel Sydney Parramatta! Located in the cosmopolitan restaurant and bar precinct of Parramatta, this internationally branded hotel offers 194 accommodation rooms and caters to both the corporate or leisure traveller alike. After enjoying a relaxed day out with friends or a long day at the office, retire to your home away from home and be greeted by a friendly smile in the warm ambience of our Parramatta Hotel. Tantalise your taste buds in the hotel's Two Forks Restaurant and Bar serving modern Australian cuisine. If you are feeling energetic, why not take advantage of the extensive leisure & parking facilities and treat yourself to a dip in the hotel's heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
The Sebel Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing