We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Parramatta
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very average hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I will rate this hotel as 2.5 to 3 out of 5. The rooms are small with very little space for any storage.
The hotel restaurant is typical of the type in Sydney as the food is again average and over-priced. There are many other options within a short walk. Fortunately my stay was just 3 nights. The on-site car parking for the Sydney area is reasonable at just $7.00 per day. I had hoped since I was a club member to have free parking and internet however that is not the case. The A/C was loud and did not seem to work at actually controlling the temperature. The windows did open however most of the locks on them were very loose or broken. As far as a hotel for a business stay, I will choose differently next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
It is disappointing to read your feedback about our food as we normally receive such positive feedback. In line with this the menu changes next week so hopefully you have the opportunity to sample in the near future. With parking we do charge $14 per day as the rate you are referring to is the night rate after PM and internet is complimentary for silver card holders and above but parking is chargeable.
Thank you again for your feedback
Regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    374
    234
    75
    38
See reviews for
220
250
48
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We came here to unwind after 3 family funerals in 3 weeks
We have stayed in parramatta many times
The Novotel was the dearest by $70 per night
We paid for the spa room
Spa didn't work
TV was very poor
Cooling tower or whatever on roof extremely noisy
Had to ring and request milk none in room although delivered quickly
We requested another room which was granted with no spa as they were unavailable and no refund as we booked with wotif
$319 per night for this plus parking and no free wi fi

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear bryan380,

Thank you for taking the time to write.

Firstly please allow me to apologise for the TV quality that you experienced on the night. The hotel had a head end fail, a problem which I agree is not acceptable on any level. I have been assured that this has been rectified and we will have no hotel wide issues moving forward.

With this said I have to be honest I am a bit disappointed with your feedback on the remaining happenings that night. The data and feedback from the team has shown that quite substantial alternative compensation was given to you and accepted based on your comments to the team at reception about your spa, this along with other forms of gratuities. We did do further investigate with the spa the following day and this was found to be operable.

Internet is available across the hotel in both wired and wireless with our new 20mb/20mb connection and new wireless devises on all floors. It is available for 20 minutes free in the foyer area in both wired and wireless. Once you do reside to rooms it does come at a cost based on time or download capacity requirements.

Best Regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parramatta hotels

Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at Novotel Parramatta to attend concert at All Phones Arena. Location was just a short walk to the train station which took just one changeover of trains to get us directly to the Arena.
Got a great deal with full breakfast included which had a great variety including self serve freshly squeezed juices (yum) - great for the kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Angela L

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel location and our great breakfast.

The team really appreciates the feedback and this will also assist them in continuing to give great service and product in the future.

Best regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is in a great spot and has everything going for it but I was let down by my room. The bathroom lighting was so bad you could hardly see yourself and there was mould on the shower walls, I opened the window to let some air into the room and then it wouldnt close was broken! Just to top it off there was a noisy alleyway below with rubbish collection early in the morning and a busy road at the front. My room 504 was also opposite the lift! Ding of the lift is still ringing in my ears perhaps it should be turned off at night! Then there was the noise from guests talking while waiting for their lift I could recite word for word what was said! Perhaps they need to look at some sort of noise draft stop on the door and also a audit of the rooms prior to customers staying. Apart from this rant the location was great lots of restaurants a 1min walk away

Room Tip: Ask to be moved if you get rooms 503 or 504 or any others on the other floors opposite the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoppadownunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Shoppadownunder1,

Thank you for taking the time to write.

With this said please allow me to apologise as it sounded like a horrible stay, some of these issues are downright unacceptable. If you do have the opportunity if you could contact me at the hotel as I would welcome talking to you further. I’m the mean time the team have been looking into your feedback as a matter of urgency to address where needed.

Thank you again and hopefully I will speak with you over the phone shortly or in person.

Best Regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Loved the bed! I haven't slept that well in a hotel bed for a very long time. The room was quiet, warm and comfortable, and the bed was soft and inviting. Parking was off street and easy to access under the hotel and the staff were helpful. Dinner was very good, not a huge selection, but very tasteful, reasonably priced and for meat lovers and vegetarians alike.
Breakfast was what you get nowadays in most hotels, with the exception of the juicer! You could make your own juice, with vegies and fruit available! Yum, what a great way to start the day.
You can leave your car there and go to Parramatta via the river walk, which has beautiful scenery and seems far from the city bustle going on around you. Excellent if you have an appointment in Parramatta.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rellyandrollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
0.6 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
1,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Property: Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Address: 350 Church St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia (Formerly Sebel Parramatta)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Parramatta 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting and diverse location of the 4.5 star Novotel Sydney Parramatta! Located in the cosmopolitan restaurant and bar precinct of Parramatta, this internationally branded hotel offers 194 accommodation rooms and caters to both the corporate or leisure traveller alike. After enjoying a relaxed day out with friends or a long day at the office, retire to your home away from home and be greeted by a friendly smile in the warm ambience of our Parramatta Hotel. Tantalise your taste buds in the hotel's Two Forks Restaurant and Bar serving modern Australian cuisine. If you are feeling energetic, why not take advantage of the extensive leisure & parking facilities and treat yourself to a dip in the hotel's heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
The Sebel Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing