We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed here on a number of occasions. But this time was an absolute disaster. My Partner check in on 21/06/2014, reception took his credit card on arrival which was not supposed to happen as all authorisation documents had been hand to Novotel Parramatta reception by hand to use another card. On check out the Indian guy charged another credit card to pay for room. Not informing me that they had actually charged my partners card for the room plus the security bond. Now that is just totally dumb. Apparently the fax had been sent to the bank for the release of the holding bond and two weeks later it hasn't been returned.
There are some very unprofessional reception/ reservations workers at Parramatta Novotel, and their standards need to be lifted significantly to represent the name of the hotel.
For the price to stay here the bar should be open til at least 1 am,room service food/ menu/service needs an overhaul, selection ain't the greatest, food was cold on arrival, for some reason no spoon sent with the soup only knife and fork LOL.

We stay at the here to relax butt after this experience it will take me a long time before I return here. I guess it back to the Mantra Paramatta.

Room Tip: Call hotel ask for the best room at the hotel and what in room facilities they have. Web sites info...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Stacey787,

Firstly please allow me to apologise for the mistake that reception seem to have made with your billing arrangements. Yes if you had come into reception personally to give us charge back paperwork this is inexcusable to think that we would make this basic error.

You mentioned you have stayed with us several times and this to me would mean you would have enjoyed our normally high level of hospitality. With this you are right some basic levels of service were failed. I would hope that your final comments could be changed or we could be given an opportunity to welcome you back even if you feel this way at the moment.

Please feel free to contact me directly as I would hope we could welcome you back and once again show the positive experiences you seem to have had before this incident.

Kind regards
Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I frequently stay at the Novotel in Rooty Hill NSW, and the stay is always very enjoyable and relaxed. My recent stay at Novotel Parramatta was a little disappointing. My 5th floor room was not very insulated from outside noise and the drunks wandering up and down Church Street could be easily heard at all hours of the night. The air conditioner sounded like a Jumbo Jet taking off, and the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work which meant that it steamed up badly at shower time, and you were reminded of your ablutions for hours later due to no airflow what so ever. Television reception was atrocious and infuriating to the stage that it was turned off through annoyance.
The food and mini bar prices were exorbitant! Although the room service is prompt and the quality of the restaurant food excellent! Staff were very friendly and courteous,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Tony H,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Please allow me to apologise as it sounds like a a very frustrating night you had. These issues are not aceptable and if you would like to contact me at the hotel I would like to investigate further.

Regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank phicang
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My car broke down whilst transiting Sydney on our way north...the motor dealer booked us in as it was late in the day. Not knowing what to expect we were pleasantly surprised..from receptionist to the assistant manager, we were made most welcome, and upgraded to an even nicer room..dinner was good although wine list a bit light on, but that was not a problem. Room was clean and tidy and after a day of traumas on the road we slept well. Breakfast and late check out went well.

Overall an unexpected but most pleasant visit..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizzaofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear wizzaofoz,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay.

It sounds like you survived a rough time in Sydney. I hope your car is now fix and we would love to welcome you back in the near future with a "working/fixed" car.

Regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 36JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank WMA007
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
935 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0.6 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#7 of 12 in Parramatta
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Address: 350 Church St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia (Formerly Sebel Parramatta)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Parramatta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range: £87 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Parramatta 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting and diverse location of the 4.5 star Novotel Sydney Parramatta! Located in the cosmopolitan restaurant and bar precinct of Parramatta, this internationally branded hotel offers 194 accommodation rooms and caters to both the corporate or leisure traveller alike. After enjoying a relaxed day out with friends or a long day at the office, retire to your home away from home and be greeted by a friendly smile in the warm ambience of our Parramatta Hotel. Tantalise your taste buds in the hotel's Two Forks Restaurant and Bar serving modern Australian cuisine. If you are feeling energetic, why not take advantage of the extensive leisure & parking facilities and treat yourself to a dip in the hotel's heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
The Sebel Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing