We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable at the Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Parramatta
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reasonable at the Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is not a large hotel but is well located allowing easy access to the Parramatta river for walking. Rooms are pretty basic and pillows too small for a comfortable nights sleep. The room size is generous and the ensuite is acceptable. Staff are responsive and parking is reasonably priced. Rooms are not noisy. Breakfast, which seems a standard inclusion, is disappointing and food is at best warm, not hot. I stay at a lot of Accor hotels and this is not one of their better properties.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Radar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Radar16,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

We defiantly have a good location and great staff waiting to look after all our guests both staying and attending meetings. With breakfast thank you again for your feedback I have asked the Chef to look into the buffet comparison you have mentioned, whilst this is said the fundamentals come back hot food as this is what you and our valued guests are paying for.

Regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    366
    230
    75
    37
See reviews for
217
246
47
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a few problems after checking into our room last week. After the first night we arrived quite late. We advised reception in the morning that there had been a lot of noise of doors banging outside our door. After I showered and dressed for breakfast I looked outside and noted that we had about three doors around us, so I was not sure from which door or doors the people were constantly coming and going, but it sounded quite loud. We then were told by reception that there was a conference on re some sort of disability and that some people might be in wheel chairs?? I politely queried why we were located in the section with those people as they were a group and we were not part of the group. We were asked to pack our bags and were after breakfast relocated to the 11th floor room 1101 (from memory) and were informed that it would be quiet. Everything seemed fine at that point as we had to leave for our appointments/activities. During the
However when we turned the air conditioner on when going to bed in the evening it made a very loud noise so we turned it off. As it was an exceptionally cold night we tried to locate a blanket for the bed for the extra warmth that we needed, but there were not blankets in the cupboard. It was after 1.00 a.m. and I tried to ring Housekeeping with no response, therefore we slept without the blanket and were rather cold. I think that the room we had been relocated into was perhaps under some sort of renovation/refurbishment as there seemed to be a vacant space in the room with no lounge, perhaps it was being fixed. When checking out the next morning I advised reception of the above and we were given a reduction for parking costs in the hotel. The breakfasts provided did not suit us also as being vegan we had to request 'special' food, mainly mushrooms as there was little available to suit our diet. During the three mornings, we had to wait a long time for the mushrooms to be prepared and on the last morning we just cut it fine before the kitchen closed, being advised by the waitress 'kitchen will be closed in half an hour' - even though we thought we had plenty of time. As an Acor Member, I am constantly advising the representative that we are vegan and that little is ever available for us. Not only that, we found that at Parramatta there is less choice than any of the other hotels in the City which we have frequently stayed in the past. This is my feedback. Hope that it helps to improve your services some

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Alice R,

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay.

Yes we had a great group of people stay with us and some required accessible rooms. With this said it seems strange that this would have caused noise as these room doors are on a slower release. I have asked the team to look into your call to HSK as we have the team are available for any request 24/7. This is also the same for vegan whilst we do not have this as a menu item on the buffet per say we should be able and are happy to cater to personal preferences and requests.

Thank you for your time again in supplying feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at the hotel.

Regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am travelling for business and staying at the hotel for 6 nights. As a business traveller, I have totally different priorities such as quality of internet service, business centre facilities and the quality of the sleeping conditions. So far, after two nights, I have slept very poorly due to excessive noise at all hours on the street, the internet I have paid for is so slow and renders it useless. The business centre has one computer that doesn't work, incredibly disappointing.

Room Tip: A room on the river side would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Carla_Clark,

Thank you for your feedback.

This is very concerning as you are correct some corporate guests have different priorities. Whilst this is said internet and sleep should be perfect for all guests. I'm wondering if you sleep is affected by excessive truck or siren noise, have you let the team know at reception as we may be able to move you to a different part of the building that could isolate any disturbance for you.

With the internet I am wondering if you are using the 20 minutes free guest internet in the foyer area geared for email retrieval as we actually have the quickest Wi-Fi in the region with a 20mb/20mb dedicated pipe connected to the hotel for all guests a unique product far superior to our competitor hotels. I hope you also spoke with reception so we were able to sort this out for you.

Issues like these if encountered at all can be fixed. I just hope as previously mentioned it was brought to our attention whilst at the hotel as this social media site is not instant. I know our teams passionate and drive service would be able to assist, help and exceed your expectations if given to opportunity.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The room at this hotel was pretty good for the price. Breaky was excellent which was included in our room rate, and would be the main reason I would stay here again. Also the bed was super comfy. I loved the fact that our room had real opening windows so we could let in fresh air. Didn't have to have the air conditioner on once. My only gripe regarding the room would be there wasn't enough coffee and tea or fresh milk or uht milk for our stay, only 2 sachets. Check in was average, and I didn't like the long wait for my security bond to be returned, took days. Parking was secure but an extra charge.

Room Tip: West side overlook street and could be a little noisier. We had real opening windows which was a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Deb L,

Thank you for your feedback on your hotel.

I agree breakfast is great and these rate are available via our website. The option to open the window is also an added benefit that most guests love. We have taken on your comments around the coffee and I do agree sometime the banks are slow to release preauths this is something the team at reception do daily and we question with the banks they take sometimes 4 days to do. It doesn’t seem to be an problem when using the same card on departure to charge it just seems to be an issue (across all hotels companies) of time when changing cards.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0.7 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Property: Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Address: 350 Church St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia (Formerly Sebel Parramatta)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Parramatta 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting and diverse location of the 4.5 star Novotel Sydney Parramatta! Located in the cosmopolitan restaurant and bar precinct of Parramatta, this internationally branded hotel offers 194 accommodation rooms and caters to both the corporate or leisure traveller alike. After enjoying a relaxed day out with friends or a long day at the office, retire to your home away from home and be greeted by a friendly smile in the warm ambience of our Parramatta Hotel. Tantalise your taste buds in the hotel's Two Forks Restaurant and Bar serving modern Australian cuisine. If you are feeling energetic, why not take advantage of the extensive leisure & parking facilities and treat yourself to a dip in the hotel's heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
The Sebel Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing