We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed, but lacking some amenities”
Review of Mantra Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Parramatta
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bed, but lacking some amenities”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

In town for a convention, good location close to the train station, pleasant staff who multi-tasked and on the whole were pleasant and courteous. Room lacked clothes storage space with just 5 coat hangers and no drawers. Great for an overnight business mans stay, but lacking for the 6 day holiday experience. Comfortable, clean and a good bar facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy3764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    497
    233
    74
    55
See reviews for
199
351
56
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed there last night for one night. Room was a lovely size and I almost lost my oh in the bed! Stayed in a king suite which had a spa bath. Reception staff on this morning were excellent too.

A non slip bath mat would be good in the bathroom as tiles are marble and slippy when wet.

If you are a light sleeper choose a room that faces inwards as one can hear the traffic noise below.

My only minor criticism is that the tile grouting in the shower was dirty with some black mould too.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper choose a room that faces inwards as one can hear the traffic noise below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie_griffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and 18 month old son stayed at The Mantra, Parramatta. As we had a huge day, we checked in quite late and since the little one was almost out, we decided to order dinner from the "in house" catering they had on offer. The food and service was fantastic!!! Try it out.

Room Tip: If you don't feel like going out for dinner, order in house and enjoy. The food was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We returned to Mantra last week for two nights to enjoy the readers festival and Vivid. The room and facilites were very good and I must say the parking cost of $15 per night much better than other hotels in the vicinity. The hotel is well located for shops, train and bus as well as the lovely Parramatta walks. The only downside was a stubborn lock on the room door which refused to open from time to time. In fact it took three issues of cards and a service the next morning to get it working first time and this together with a male staff member who was suggesting it was my fault in the way I swiped the card. I'm glad to say he was wrong and the replacement of batteries and cleaning on the terminals the next morning proved that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karori12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear karori12

Thank you for choosing to stay again at Mantra Parramatta

We are thankful that you chose to stay here again on your recent trip to Sydney, In regards to your door lock I apologize if one of the staff members made you feel uncomfortable. We are currently in the process of getting a brand new key system installed at the property.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property

Kind Regards

Tim Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
249 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

wow, for a hotel that costs so much, it's certainly lacking in a lot of areas. Firstly - they rip you off for everything - parking "that's an extra fee Sir", "Internet is $15 a day or $30 for 3 days" - really? - it's 2014 people!!!

Our room keys didn't work properly, I complained on the first evening and a receptionist came up with me, but then just shook her head when I finally got it to work. There were 4 of us in 4 rooms and we turned it into a game, how many attempts would it take us to get into our rooms.

The room was nice enough, quiet and a comfy bed. The bathroom was spacious, and seemed new but there was mould around the walls, not much but enough to show it wasn't cleaned as well as could be.

We paid for breakfast one morning, when I got up to the servery they had run out of eggs, bacon and sausages; upon asking I was told by a surly waiter "they will be out in a few minutes", eventually it took five minutes to have any hot food which is pretty unacceptable in a place like this.

Car parking is very tight, we didn't have any problems but I'd imagine that lots of people do.

Nice location for a morning walk along river and through town.

I don't think I'd stay there again, there must be nicer places for that sort of price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
andye10000

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Parramatta.

I was disappointed to read that you had so many problems with your stay but I am glad that you have brought them up so we can try to rectify these situations from occurring again. I am delighted to advise that we are getting a brand new key system here at Mantra Parramatta which should be up and running in the near future. In regards to breakfast we have introduced a new Head Chef and Food and beverage managers which are working closely to improve all aspects of our dining experience including breakfast.

Please be advised that I have raised your concerns with food and beverage and also Housekeeping to improve in the mentioned area.

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Parramatta it goes a long way in helping us improve our product.

If you do choose to stay at Mantra Parramatta again please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Tim Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Comfortable room, nice size and ok amenities, pool outdoors so did not try, separate sauna facilities for males and females. Breakfast was ok, coffee a little strong but we did arrive rather late in the morning. Good for transport into the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monenaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear MonenaManchester

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra Parramatta on your recent trip to Sydney.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property, we are in a fantastic location and it is very convenient to the train station and local Westfield.

Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Parramatta

Kind Regards

Tim Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yass, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed there for two nights as part of a "Red Hot Deal". The room was ok although paint peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom was a bit of a put off. Unfortunately the rail services on the weekend were reduced to buses, no fault of the Hotel operators of course. It took ages to get to Strathfield on an aging school bus which had been pressed into service, not the best look for Sydney transport.
I also had an issue with parking, the counter staff accepted my booking for parking for the two nights but on returning from a function on Saturday evening was told that the car park was full and I would have to park elsewhere. There was no backup, the only nearby place to park was on the street in a five minute zone. We won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Glenn S

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra Parramatta

We are in a fantastic location being only moments away from Parramatta station and Westfield shopping centre.

I was disappointed that you were unhappy with the hotel especially regarding the car park. I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding parking, we do advise that our car parking is subject to availability and that we cannot guarantee parking hence the reason we don't charge until the end of the stay. There is a multi-story parking station in Wentworth avenue which is only a five minute walk away from the property or free parking in the street which you said you utilized.

If you do decide to stay at the hotel again feel free to contact me directly

Kind Regards

Tim Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 12 in Parramatta
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#7 of 12 in Parramatta
940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Parramatta

Property: Mantra Parramatta
Address: Corner Parkes Street & Valentine Avenue, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Parramatta is the ideal choice when mixing business with pleasure, just minutes from ANZ Stadium, The Olympic Park at Homebush Bay and Parramatta's thriving business and retail centre. Mantra Parramatta comprises of spacious studios, one bedroom apartments and Spa Rooms all with premium facilities such as individually controlled air conditioning, broadband internet, cable TV, in-house movies, kitchenette and laundry facilities (apartments only), private balcony (apartments only), in-room safe, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. Mantra Parramatta caters to business and leisure travellers who demand and expect quality, comfort and premium facilities. With 24 hour reception, a foreign exchange desk, concierge and leisure facilities including a outdoor pool, spa, gym, sauna, turkish bath, under cover parking charged at $15 per day(subject to availability), ironing facilities, data port, room service, guest laundry and restaurant and bar. Mantra Parramatta also offers guests the convenience of dining in style at the Ivory Restaurant & Tantra Bar.Trading hours are as follows: Mon-Thu: Restaurant breakfast,lunch,dinner with 24 hour Room Service/Fridays:Restaurant & Room Service breakfast & lunch only/Sat-Sun: Restaurant & Room Service lunch only/Fri-Sun: Room Service Supper/Dinner from 5pm-10pm only. There are also function and conference facilities, with three main meeting rooms, representing a choice of Gold, Silver and Bronze rooms. Business travelers have the choice of booking the rooms separately or combined to host conferences for up to 200 delegates. Only 45 minutes from Sydney airport, Mantra Parramatta is only 500m to Parramatta Train Station, Westfield Shopping Town, and a short drive to Rosehill Gardens Racecourse making it the ideal base for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
Mantra Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing