We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 3* standard hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de La Couronne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de La Couronne
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good 3* standard hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Couronne is situated on the main drag through Argentiere so not quiet and seculded. Our was a summer visit so getting t6o ski lifts wasn't an issue but for winter visits it would be quite a hike.
The Hotel reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room was large with a balcony and a good sized bathroom. The Hotel is clean.
Brfeakfast - which is just a cold buffet - is a bit pricey at 10 euro.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    58
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
52
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
549 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 801 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We paid EUR 100 per night for their balcony view room (given the weather, we didn't need the balcony, though the view of the mountains was nice). Noise from the bars across the street was noticeable - I would suggest a room facing the other way.
In short, pluses:
- parking available (though the lot was small - not sure what happens if all patrons come with cars) and free
- free ski storage
- room was always cleaned early in the day
- nice sitting area downstairs with a fireplace (it was only on in the afternoon, sadly, not later in the evening/in the morning during breakfast)
- breakfast buffet choices included fruit (both whole and fruit salad), croissants and other baked goods, baguette and a dark bread, juice, tea/coffee/hot milk/hot cocoa, yogurts (plain/fruit), cheeses/cold cuts, and "boil your own egg" bar, and of course, also butter, preserves, etc.
- good quality linens and comfortable bed
Minuses:
- no coffee/tea maker in the room - normally I don't care as much, but I got a bad cold right after we arrived and was just dying for something hot. I had to keep buying EUR 2.60 cups of tea to go from Le Grenier across the street.
- no receptionist after 9 pm
- not really a "minus," but it would have been really nice to have the fireplace on for breakfast
- breakfast was a bit expensive for what we got (EUR 10.50 per person)
- outside noise and generally poor sound insulation - we could hear our neighbors across the hall. It's to be expected though in a building of this age.

Overall, we had a nice stay and would consider staying at this hotel again. Reception staff were helpful and pleasant with directions, lunch reservations, and mailing of postcards. The hotel also gives you free passes for the local shuttle.

Room Tip: room facing the back (away from the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Excellent hotel with a great location in the centre of Argentiere, 5 minutes from Grands Montets, and only a minute or two to the bus stops for access to the rest of the valley. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, with a large bathroom, including a bath, which was very welcome after a day's skiing. The buffet breakfast was very good, and the adjacent restaurant, at which guests have a 10% discount, was excellent. Value was excellent, even in peak season.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradSchofield81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We started looking for a room before our ski trip a bit too late and were hesitant to book this room for a suspiciously low price.We thought the conditions would be a barely acceptable as this room seemed to be a "leftover" that nobody wanted to take. WRONG!
Great service, very helpful staff, clean, modern, fully equipped room, seconds away from the ski-bus and boulangeries as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
The reason why I don't give an "excellent" overall rating is that we had some problems locking our room but they took action immediately and the door was repaired within a day. So it's a 4.5 rating, really :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Great Hotel providing super value for money - even the low cost rooms are well appointed and we would definitely stay again., We found the staff to be very helpful and always willing to help. The bar and restaurant are both very comfortable, the menu in the restaurant is excellent and the food well cooked - advisable to book a table as its very popular in this small town

Quiet town but that's what we wanted and very close to La Grand Montets ski area and easy access to Brevant and La Tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

we came to ski in the mont blanc , were lucky to found this beautiful small hotel in argentiere and not sleeping in crowded chamonix.
the room was very clean and comfortable with view to the mountains.
the staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: our room was quiet but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We got there after hiking part of the TMB. It was our last stop. The hotel had nice rooms with windows looking at Mount Blanc. The staff was very helpful.The hotel did not have a restaurant open for dinner but had one attached to the building. It was very clean.
The hotel offered breakfast buffet style and it was very well served with a variety of choices.
Ask for the rooms looking at the patio not at the street. Those have the best views of the moutains.

Room Tip: Rooms in upper levels looking at the patio. Those got the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmeraunica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argentiere
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Le Dahu Hotel
Le Dahu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Argentiere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#22 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de La Couronne

Property: Hotel de La Couronne
Address: rue Charlet Straton, 74400 Argentiere, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Argentiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de La Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a great pleassure for all of us to see you back year after year... Hotel La Couronne, a family and friendly hotel since 1865. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de La Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing