We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de La Couronne
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My tour group was new to this hotel, so we weren't sure what kind of reception I'd get, arriving at 10:30 a.m. instead of with the others in the afternoon. They could not have been nicer. My room was ready, but the staff encouraged me to linger over my tea (breakfast was still being served). Then they helped me find my way around town while I waited for the others. The large lounge was comfortable and a good alternative to my smallish room for passing time.

Rooms could use a little updating and the man covering breakfast service got a little overwhelmed when a larger tour group came down early. But the breakfast itself was great, with lots of options.

Room Tip: Unlike many small hotels, there is an elevator so an upper floor is fine. Look at the floor plan - r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangsibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Couronne is situated on the main drag through Argentiere so not quiet and seculded. Our was a summer visit so getting t6o ski lifts wasn't an issue but for winter visits it would be quite a hike.
The Hotel reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room was large with a balcony and a good sized bathroom. The Hotel is clean.
Brfeakfast - which is just a cold buffet - is a bit pricey at 10 euro.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We paid EUR 100 per night for their balcony view room (given the weather, we didn't need the balcony, though the view of the mountains was nice). Noise from the bars across the street was noticeable - I would suggest a room facing the other way.
In short, pluses:
- parking available (though the lot was small - not sure what happens if all patrons come with cars) and free
- free ski storage
- room was always cleaned early in the day
- nice sitting area downstairs with a fireplace (it was only on in the afternoon, sadly, not later in the evening/in the morning during breakfast)
- breakfast buffet choices included fruit (both whole and fruit salad), croissants and other baked goods, baguette and a dark bread, juice, tea/coffee/hot milk/hot cocoa, yogurts (plain/fruit), cheeses/cold cuts, and "boil your own egg" bar, and of course, also butter, preserves, etc.
- good quality linens and comfortable bed
Minuses:
- no coffee/tea maker in the room - normally I don't care as much, but I got a bad cold right after we arrived and was just dying for something hot. I had to keep buying EUR 2.60 cups of tea to go from Le Grenier across the street.
- no receptionist after 9 pm
- not really a "minus," but it would have been really nice to have the fireplace on for breakfast
- breakfast was a bit expensive for what we got (EUR 10.50 per person)
- outside noise and generally poor sound insulation - we could hear our neighbors across the hall. It's to be expected though in a building of this age.

Overall, we had a nice stay and would consider staying at this hotel again. Reception staff were helpful and pleasant with directions, lunch reservations, and mailing of postcards. The hotel also gives you free passes for the local shuttle.

Room Tip: room facing the back (away from the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Excellent hotel with a great location in the centre of Argentiere, 5 minutes from Grands Montets, and only a minute or two to the bus stops for access to the rest of the valley. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, with a large bathroom, including a bath, which was very welcome after a day's skiing. The buffet breakfast was very good, and the adjacent restaurant, at which guests have a 10% discount, was excellent. Value was excellent, even in peak season.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BradSchofield81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We started looking for a room before our ski trip a bit too late and were hesitant to book this room for a suspiciously low price.We thought the conditions would be a barely acceptable as this room seemed to be a "leftover" that nobody wanted to take. WRONG!
Great service, very helpful staff, clean, modern, fully equipped room, seconds away from the ski-bus and boulangeries as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
The reason why I don't give an "excellent" overall rating is that we had some problems locking our room but they took action immediately and the door was repaired within a day. So it's a 4.5 rating, really :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Great Hotel providing super value for money - even the low cost rooms are well appointed and we would definitely stay again., We found the staff to be very helpful and always willing to help. The bar and restaurant are both very comfortable, the menu in the restaurant is excellent and the food well cooked - advisable to book a table as its very popular in this small town

Quiet town but that's what we wanted and very close to La Grand Montets ski area and easy access to Brevant and La Tour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

we came to ski in the mont blanc , were lucky to found this beautiful small hotel in argentiere and not sleeping in crowded chamonix.
the room was very clean and comfortable with view to the mountains.
the staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: our room was quiet but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argentiere
7.5 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Dahu Hotel
Le Dahu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Argentiere
104 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#16 of 73 in Chamonix
503 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de La Couronne

Address: 285, rue Charlet Straton, 74400 Argentiere, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Argentiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Price Range: £60 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de La Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a great pleassure for all of us to see you back year after year... Hotel La Couronne, a family and friendly hotel since 1865. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel de La Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing