We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Argentiere, Chamonix, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jennywagg...
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our hosts were incredibly helpful, warm, and eager to make our stay special. They're the best part of staying here, because their advice and support will be invaluable to you.

The building is +300 years old, so you're safe from avalanches and get to enjoy the history of the place. It has a lot of charm, but isn't luxurious. No clothes dryer, but all our laundry was easily dried on the radiators in less than 12 hours. I used the giant tub and plentiful hot water almost every day (the shower and surround are a bit old and could use updating). The kitchen met our needs, though it isn't fit for a gourmet. Lots of nice touches for people who are outdoorsy and efficient - you should look elsewhere if you want opulence!

Note that there are two upstairs units for rent and the owners live downstairs, so a large group could rent out both upstairs units.

This location definitely lets you enjoy the quiet of the mountains (we watched snow fall on the mountains outside our window every evening) but it also has easy access to everything. It is perfect for taking the bus up and down the valley (included in the price of many of the ski passes) and for walking to the Grands Montets resort, into town for groceries or a night out. The walking path along L'Arve river is right outside. A great ski shop (Zag) tuned up our skis nearby. The nearby restaurant "El Yaute" has a French take on Tex-Mex that is delicious and the atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed. Many more restaurants, bars, and ski shops are within 15 minutes walking distance. We stayed for several weeks without a car and found it quite easy to get around with our bus & train pass. If you love the night life in Chamonix, buses are infrequent from 18:00 until the few night busses around 22:00 but the train does run roughly every hour during that time so you can stay in the bigger town (just not too late - but everyone here goes to bed early so they can get up and go skiing or mountaineering).

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: The shower & surround
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courmayeur, Italy
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Date of stay: January 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peaceful location in beautiful surroundings
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lindsay B
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Cozy place, great people, very centrally located!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed in Argentiere over the Christmas holiday between Christmas day and New Years. Our hosts, Sarah and Ian, were just fantastic. Ian checked in with us and helped steer us in the right direction from equipment rentals to which mountains to ski which days. The place is centrally located in Argentiere, with only a 15 minute walk to the small village and the grocery, but it's right on the free bus line as well so if you need to go into Chamonix, you can do that very easily too. The place itself isn't luxury, but it's nice; it's exactly what we needed for our friend-centric ski trip. The only negative thing I would have to say is that the walls and doors are pretty thin, so you can hear most things from any room of the house. If you're looking for privacy or you're traveling with friends you don't know that well, this might not be the place for you. But what really makes this place is the hospitality of Sarah and Ian, it bears repeating what fantastic hosts they are! Thanks for an amazing stay…. we'll be back next year!!!

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sousoune1...
Beaumont-en-Auge, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.