We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Tecla Palace Hotel was the best choice we could have made for our first visit in Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Tecla
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Santa Tecla Palace Hotel was the best choice we could have made for our first visit in Sicily”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Santa Tecla Palace Hotel was the best choice we could have made for our first visit in Sicily and the area of Catania.

The very first impression while approaching the hotel from above the main street was just so great since we did not expect to find an estate but just a standard 4 stars hotel like the others we have seen on our way to get here.

Passing through the gated entrance and entering the estate itself was again another amazing experience.

The hotel stands on its own land and has such a great privacy with no houses around or road traffic that we were just reassured by seeing it that it will serve our purpose of relaxing and enjoying time by the sea as well as the local lifestyle.

Stayed in a classic sea view room and we were pleasantly surprised to discover that photos were not giving justice to the rooms. Extra spacious both room and bathroom, tastefully furnished and with views that were just breathtaking.

The hotel facilities offered to guests are also to be highly recommended. Breakfast being a combination of traditional Italian dishes (loved the sweets and the croissants) and international ones was a great satisfaction.

Then the restaurants, the bar open all day, the sea that you could just go down by the rocks and dive in were just the elements that made our stay very special.

This hotel is definitely and highly recommended. But if you plan a holiday with young children then maybe it will not fit your needs.

Room Tip: If you enjoy bright colors then go for the deluxe. If you prefer a more classical environment then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EricEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSTP, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Tecla Palace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in TripAdvisor and we are thrilled to read that you had a great time with us.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel soon

Thank you again & Warmest Regards
The Santa Tecla Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    179
    102
    39
    20
See reviews for
90
155
9
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We ended up at this hotel due to a hotel change whilst on a Sicilian touring holiday. All I can say is how lucky we were. This hotel is on the rocks at sea level. Wonderful views, with plenty of sunbeds and lifeguards on duty from 9am - when it opens, till 6.30pm when it closes. The evening meal was buffet style, with an excellent choice, but as with all hotels in Europe, the breakfast was very poor. We had a sea view room, with balcony and very spacious. As we were touring we didn't spend that much time at the hotel, but just note that there's no shops or bars around, and it's not safe to walk as there's no pavements. There is a bus twice a day to Acireale, but please note all shops shut from 1pm - 4pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel was nice and rooms were OK semi clean. had to ask few times the cleaning crew to come and do extra cleaning - had lots of aunts and mosquitoes. The hotel in general is great and beautiful. 100s of rooms and sometimes they do entertainment at night or throughout the day.

The best part was the pool- a good size and salt water and was cleaned daily.

The worst part is the food. if you are planning on staying there more than 2 days you will immediately realize that the menu does not change. we stayed there for 7 days and breakfast menu was the same and poor.. few selections of cold-cuts (salami and mortadela) and scrambled eggs. its good for the first few days but after that you get sick of eating the same food over and over again. and as mentioned in previous comments staff are slow in refiling. and if you ask for a refill of a certain kind they bring it to you table (meaning that it do not ask again for refill). i have asked the manager if there is a way of changing the menu and he was rude to me. telling i m the only one who complained about the menu. - no customer service experience that i have seen in American hotels, were customers come first.

For dinner was even worse --- even the pizza they didn't do good job at it.....again not much variety and service slow if you dont eat fish then it's definitely not the place for u... cause they even have pizza is with fish.. ohh the smell of the fish is still in my nose....cheap fish was everyday on the menu - and it smells bad....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We only ended up in Acireale as we were looking for a Nikon camera shop - and after our business was done drove down to the little seaside town. this hotel is a huge purple building with hundreds of rooms - not the sort of place we would normally stay at but we were sick of driving. the hotel is just what you would expect inside, huge foyers, marble everywhere, huge pool, but the best thing was the access to the sea and the sunloungers. Our room was large and comfortable, all the staff friendly. dinner is a buffet or an extremely overpriced restaurant. the food at dinner was pretty awful - but breakfast was great! If you want to relax by the sea this is a great place.

Room Tip: We just had a standard room,no balcony and it was more than acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The hotel is beautiful - outside and inside; rooms are big, clean and tidy. We had a room with the (east) - sea and north view - woke up to an absolutly breathtaking sunrise. The pool is beautiful but very small....

The downside - breakfast - very poor selection of food. The dining room was crowded and it took the staff a lot of time to notice the empty trays. The coffee was horrible.

The way to the hotel is downslope and the road there seems tricky even in daylight; frightening to drive at night....

Room Tip: The room numbers are no indication. Just ask for a Sea facing room (if it ends with 36 it's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We definitely enjoyed our stay in Santa Tecla Palace. The pool is very beautiful, with a stunning seaview. A good first stop when we came from the airport in Catania to rest a couple of days at the pool, before starting a "tour of Sicily". The food is not so good. As English-speaking tourists, you don't even get to see the menu, you are instantly escorted to the buffet, which is quite expensive but not special at all - even less than average (and all dishes that should be hot were too cold). Luckily we soon discovered the "Da Lorenzo" restaurant in Santa Tecla nearby, so this wasn't really an issue. The first 2 days, the personnel was really friendly and helpful. But then the last day of our stay, a congress took place in the hotel. Suddenly, there was no table for us at breakfast, nobody of the personell took notice of us anymore (or were unfriendly/nervous/aggressive), you cannot go there / sit here/ this area is fully booked / ... We were lucky that this occured only on our last day, my review was certainly much worse if this had happened during our whole stay...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganey Tikva Israel
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The hotel is located on the slope of the mountain; near the sea shore. Its outside walls are nicely painted with “fruity” warm colors. It has a modern decor with bright colors, it has a nice and big lobby and rooms facing the sea view with terraces.
The room is big and clean, it was repainted before the beginning of the season but the terrace was probably forgotten, since it was still dirty. The bed is wide but it was too firm for our taste, so our sleeping quality was quiet poor. The bath room was good, it has a bidet, and a shower; (some other rooms had a bath). The water pressure was medium, typical in Sicily.
The TV and safe are small; there is a small empty refrigerator, no minibar and no complementary tea and coffee in the room.
Breakfast was good, similar to other 4 stars hotel we were at Sicily, but once we came a bit late and many things were already finished, not very professional.
There was a singer in the lobby in the evening with a pianist.
There is a nice swimming pool that looks as if it is poured to the sea, very unique sight.
We were part of a tour group so we did not need any services from the reception, or parking facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlonGaneyTikvaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Tecla
1.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#4 of 7 in Acireale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grande Albergo Maugeri
Grande Albergo Maugeri
#2 of 7 in Acireale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Catania Acireale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Art Hotel Capomulini
Art Hotel Capomulini
#7 of 7 in Acireale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
#1 of 11 in Aci Castello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Tecla Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Tecla Palace

Property: Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
Address: Via Balestrate 100, 95024 Santa Tecla, Acireale, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Acireale > Santa Tecla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Tecla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Tecla Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace is nestled on the cliffs of the Sicilian volcanic coastline, overlooking the azure waters of the Ionian Sea, between Catania and Taormina surrounded by the Natural Reserve of Timpa di Acireale (CT). It's convenient location makes it easy to venture out into the countryside of the island and discover all of its nature and history. Visiting mount Etna is one of the musts since it is only 30min drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Tecla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Tecla Palace Hotel
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing