We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, a Travelodge where the beds are already made”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Gateshead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Usually, we book a room for 2 adults and 2 children and not once until now have the extra beds been made up. Half the time, we haven't even got enough sheets and pillows.
However, this time there were beds made up for 4 and there were enough towels for 4 too. Wonderful, and it finally lives up to the 'cheap & cheerful' moniker. Whatever you do, don't stay at Newcastle central Travelodge; that's truly awful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kavehaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Would not recomend this travelodge on a friday night if your looking for a peaceful stay. Alot of male and female parties heading out for the night... And then returning at 3 am onwards.. And not being quiet about it. Also had rather dubious "tobaco" odours coming through the window from smokers below. Nicely placed for easy access from A1 and convienient for metrocentre

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Ashley T, we’re sorry to learn that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to disruption caused by other guests in the hotel. We do appreciate the frustrations caused. We try to keep large groups together and require our hotel night staff to regularly patrol the hotel to ensure the safety and security of our customers. They also request that customers respect reasonable noise levels and the no smoking policy. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of concerns that you have raised to improve future service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights recently,usually stay in premier inn but as the rooms were refurbished thought I would give it a go. Rooms fine for what you pay,nice new beds and carpets. However the unchanged bathrooms let it down. First 2 nights were fine, on the last night a row errupted outside at 2am with a group of males and a taxi driver. Not the hotels fault...however they then decided to open a crate of lager outside the main entrance and carry on their drunken party. When it got to 3:30 I ended up looking on the internet for a phone number for reception. After many minutes of dialing a very weary lady answered who I had clearly woken up. When I challenged her on her whereabouts and the fact that she must have the best room in the hotel to have not been disturbed by the racket she did not defend herself. .. she was clearly still waking up!! I advised her regarding the party outside and that if she was at the reception desk she would have heard it (reception is around 15 meters from the main doors)her response was that she would monitor it!! Only when I advised her I would be calling the Police and making a complaint about her lack of customer care that she said she would speak with them. So although the rooms are better than previously the clients and staff do not seem to have improved. I made my complaint in the morning,explaining how I had woken the receptionist up and her lack of willingness to deal with the situation and was advised it was a dismissable offence.... but as I had not actually seen her sleeping there was nothing could be done!! Was I expected to search every room to look for the 24hr customer receptionsist?? She clearly was no where near her post which is a safety issue for all guests staying and also herself. I was given that nights stay back on vouchers to return at a later date!! Do they really think I would want to return to such poor service?? I was told a manager would call me on the Monday to discuss my complaint. ..guess what im still waiting!! Save your money and go over the road to the premier inn at least you know what you get there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear DawnWestMidlands, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had at our Gateshead hotel. We do want our customers to have a comfortable stay and we are sorry you were disturbed by another guest. We are concerned by your comments regarding our receptionist as this is a very unusual complaint. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Everything was fine, except the drive through loudspeaker for the KPC was right outside our window - and then they had a very noisy delivery at 5.30-6ish and the lorry engine ran for over half an hour making sleep impossible. We remembered, too late, this had happened the previous time we had stayed as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Emma from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

We are sorry to learn that your sleep was disrupted by the restaurant facility next door John M. We try to reduce the disruption of external noise by having double or triple glazing. We also work with local communities to try and reduce noise that might impact upon our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed only one night as a stop off on our way to Scotland. Room was clean and tidy. Location close to The Metro Centre and retail park was a bonus as it gave us somewhere to browse before settling at the hotel. Free car park, separate from the services was another plus. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Tong998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Check in staff very good, large family room, comfy bed.But we had to leave window open due to heat, but woken by noise from staff and deliveries at nearby restaurants.
Really needs aircon & better double glazing. Stayed for one night to visit metro centre & Beamish.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We’re sorry to learn that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to the temperature within your room and the external noise HullMike. Not all of our hotels have air conditioning although in an attempt to make your stay more comfortable we do offer fans, which can be obtained from reception anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

staff were very nice. room was comfy and clean. new king size beds have made a big difference. myself my two daughters in a family room with t.v shower and bath. £40. excellent value. hassle free. easy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank micmacwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Price Range: £38 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Travelodge Gateshead Swalwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing