We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Gateshead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok ”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Went with eight mates on stag weekend, good location, use taybarns for breakfast as it's only over the road, hotel is basic but cheap,
Staff are really nice, don't expect quiet if you go at weekends though as it's full of stag & hen parties!
In short, nice & clean but can be noisy

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    82
    43
    13
    22
See reviews for
80
91
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Having stayed here before and being disappointed yet again we were. There were holes in the towels, the bottom of the bath was black, the hair dryer burnt out when I was drying my hair. We will be staying clear from now on. The only good part of it was the meal at the Skiff in beside here, well worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear guesswho84, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here as a basic place to rest our heads. Much better than I was expecting. Rooms were nice and clean (though note olive incident below), beds very comfy. We booked family rooms, and on arrival the sofa beds had been pulled out & made up already, which was nice.

Was quiet, too, though we were there on a week night. Couple of diner style restaurants near by, as well as the usual fast food places. Was plenty of free parking just outside, too.

Only negative was the presence of a single green olive (possibly garlic stuffed) on the floor just under one of the beds. Well it's a change from a choc on the pillow, I guess.

Overall pretty good though, and can't really fault it for value, especially if you can get one of the advance rates. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is well located for the Metro Centre which is only a two minute car ride away and has some restaurants very close by that make it an ideal location for a shopping trip. The hotel itself was fine with the room clean and tidy so I have no complaints on that score. However the weekend clientele is a totally different ball game. There was someone being sick outside our room on our first night and we also had shouting and raised voices from different sized groups coming back to their room. The next day a bus arrived with a Hen Party and we thought we were in for another sleepless night. Although woken up by them returning it was by them all sshhhing each other and giggling (This I can put up with although not too happy that it happened).

Now before anyone starts criticising me for raining down on someones fun that is not my intention as I like to have fun along with everyone else. What I do object to is not being told in advance that this happens at this hotel until we mentioned the noise when we were checking out. The lady on reception stated that it is a very common occurrence and happens just about every weekend. So if this is the case then why do they do family rooms and why don't the tell people before they book. I would have personally booked a different hotel if I had know just so I could get a decent nights kip and I am sure that family in the room next to us must have been thinking along the same lines especially when their children were very young.

As I said at the beginning a nice enough hotel and well located but avoid at the weekends if you are looking for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Avoid at weekends if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMullen9670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear IanMullen9670, we want our customers to enjoy their stays with us and get a good night’s sleep. We’re really sorry to hear about the disruption you experienced in our hotel. We ask customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay and try to avoid larger groups from being allocated rooms together away from other guests to avoid disruption. Our hotel staff will be made aware of your feedback so that they can address these issues and we apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I’ve just returned from a one night stay at the Gateshead Travelodge having stayed as part of a large group for a hen weekend.
I didn’t make the original booking but the person that did said the lady at the Travelodge was very helpful and easily met everyone’s requirements. The rooms were booked a few months ago so we were able to make the most of the excellent price of £30 per room.
On arrival check in was swift and well organised despite there being 42 of us!
From what I could tell from speaking to the others in the party all the rooms had been recently redecorated and refurnished to a good standard.
My room was clean with a new bed, bedding, carpet and curtains and the whole appearance and standard of finish in the room was excellent. Two pillows per person were standard and the towels good quality with the bath towel a decent size.
The bathroom was clean and well equipped with the usual shallow bath and overhead shower which worked a treat.
The only thing that let the room down was the sofa bed as it was the original upholstery and was grubby looking and worn, why this hadn’t been either removed or reupholstered I don’t know as that was the only thing that let the room down. My single occupancy of the room meant that the sofa bed wasn’t used but had it been then I would have been asking for a change of room or sofa bed.
One other minus but this isn’t really the Travelodge fault was that my room was almost directly over the entrance door so that when taxis full of giggling chattering women were returning back to the Travelodge until about 4.15am I kept being woken up. However, that said the internal sound proofing between the corridor and the other rooms was very good!
Location of the Travelodge was very good; it is just outside Newcastle but not too far away. The cost of the taxi ride back at 2am for 4 of us was £11 which I thought was very good value.
There is also plenty of free parking on the site of the Travelodge should you take your own vehicle.
If I need to stay in that location again I would happily do so without hesitation but probably request a room on the same side overlooking the car park but further away from the entrance.

Room Tip: Overlooking the rear car park but away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

As we had decorators at home, we decided to have a couple of days away to get away from the smell of paint. Upon arrival we had to wait a couple of minutes for the receptionist as she was busy. As we were checking in, the receptionist was very friendly and chatty and told us where our room was, room was clean and fresh, only one slight problem was a lack of towels, that was rectified within two minutes. During our stay, we were not woken up at all during the night, the bed was very comfortable, shower clean and workable. We had a very pleasant stay. Within a two minute walk there is a Frankie and Benny's, TGI Fridays and a KFC, we had breakfast at F & Bs both days which was great, and you are within walking distance of the Metro Centre if you don't want to drive there. All in all our stay was what we expected, cheap and cheerful, pleasant staff and our room had been completely refurbished (103). The only thing I could complain about was the cost of the wifi which is too expensive, but saying that, at F&B you get free wifi and unlimited tea or coffee so for us that was not a problem. Would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: As I am partly disabled we opted for a disabled room which had a wet room (103) . This had been refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The bath in my room was not clean and looked like it had not been cleaned properly for weeks. There is no excuse for poor hygiene..

Moreover, all night I could hear orders being taken at the KFC Drive-through.

I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the front away from the KFC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost_Me_Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel Lost_Me_Socks. Our rooms are expected to be cleaned to a specific high standard. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Property: Travelodge Gateshead
Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Travelodge Gateshead Swalwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing