We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“money value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Gateshead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Most important clean and comfortable,receptionist was pleasant and helpful. Improvement in room sound insulation and option to turn off heater needed. Location is 20 mins walk from metro, pretty outskirt.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We used it as a base for visiting Beamish Museum Village. It was also minutes away from the Metro Centre. There were plenty of eateries outside the Travelodge which were very good also.
The staff were cheerful and friendly too

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank meandkudos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Broke our journey at Gateshead Travelodge on the way back from Edinburgh pleasant time at the metro centre and an excellent night at the lodge staff excellent very attentive. Would recommend for a shopping trip to the metro centre as its so close and excellent value






  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Receptionist was not friendly, unapologetic to the fact there was not enough bedding or towels in a family room (1 towel for 3 people) Bed extremely hard and uncomfortable. Noise inside and out added to a sleepless night for all of us. Worst experience ever in a travelodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review Fiona J. We’re really sorry about the poor experience you had at our hotel. We expect all of our rooms to be clean and fresh and to be set up with the correct essentials for your stay. Our staff should provide high levels of service at all times so it is regrettable to learn you found our receptionist to be unfriendly. We are also sorry to learn you found the hotel to be noisy; we do attempt to reduce noise in our hotels by having double glazing and insulated walls. We’ve recently put new king sized pocket sprung beds in our Gateshead hotel and we’ve received some great feedback regarding the comfort of our ‘Dreamer’ beds however we understand our customers may have different preferences on the firmness of a mattress. We would like to take the opportunity to investigate your concerns in more detail so we would very much appreciate it if you would visit our website and use the Contact Us button to provide us with more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Four of us (2 couples) were looking forward to a great weekend in the north, booked this as a central location with easy access to Newcastle etc.
On checking in a stag party were in front of us already the worse for drink throwing chocolate bars around and being loud and using foul language. Our hearts sank a little bit wondering what was to come.
Room was clean, tidy and servicable.Went out Fri night to Tgi Fridays and Skiff pub which was good and within walking distance. However later that night back at hotel had to put up with rowdy guests returning from their night out, bloke running naked from room to room on 2nd floor, people knocking on random doors etc, did not get a good nights kip.
Saturday night more hi jinx ensued, more female and male groups arrived!
We returned back to hotel after a fab night in Newcastle ready to get a good sleep only to be denied this from the antics of some of the other guests also returning from their night out but not respecting any other guests.Screaming , shouting , banging doors , throwing cans out of windows and running around corridors.All four members of our party did not get any sleep!
On top of all this lift and vending machine went out of order.The Police were called on both days.
Upon checking out I complained to the lady on reception who was very apologetic and said that travelodge used to advertise this hotel as a stag/hen do location but have recently removed this status, however it is still regarded as such a venue, and in our experience to be avoided at all costs unless travelodge are willing to have more staff and security to back up the one female receptionist on duty.
DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russ32ell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear russ32ell, we are really sorry to learn you were disturbed by other guests in the hotel. We ask all of our customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay and try to avoid larger groups from being allocated rooms together away from other guests to avoid disruption. Our hotel staff will be made aware of your feedback and we apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

All I can say is if you want a good nights sleep don`t stay here. I stayed four nights this week and I had everything from dogs barking for hours in the next room to Rowdy lads trying to get into each others rooms at 01.30 (In the middle of a working week!!!!) to the adjacent KFC staff noisily stacking pallets and rubbish without a care in the world at 05.30 one morning, joke !!!. I also heard from another resident at the other side of the hotel that the goods train runs close by and that woke him up at stupid o clock. All in all I have stayed at other travelodges around the country and found them to be value and reasonably quiet but I don`t classify this one in that bracket .I will be working in the area for around a year but I won`t be staying here again !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RotherhamMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear RotherhamMartins, we’re really sorry to hear about the disruption you have been experiencing at our hotel during your stay. We try to reduce noise in our hotels by having double glazing and insulated walls. We also ask customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay and try to avoid larger groups from being allocated rooms together away from other guests to avoid disruption. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the concerns you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Went with eight mates on stag weekend, good location, use taybarns for breakfast as it's only over the road, hotel is basic but cheap,
Staff are really nice, don't expect quiet if you go at weekends though as it's full of stag & hen parties!
In short, nice & clean but can be noisy

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Price Range: £38 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Travelodge Gateshead Swalwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing