We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Gateshead
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newcastle Rooms(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rowers Hotel(Gateshead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clifton House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grainger Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
201
100
46
17
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
201
100
46
17
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro centretgi fridaysfrankie and bennystravel lodgestayed heremin driveshopping tripon arrivalfree car parkstag partyfamily roomskiff innfabulous stayrecommend this hotelclean roomseasy accesscentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel- on the first night we were kept awake by a physical and verbal fight outside our door. On the second we were subject to shouting, screaming, foul language and people knocking on our door until five thirty am. Reception staff told us that the website used to say that the hotel was aimed at stag and hen parties but this has been changed now. It would be fairer if the website still said this as we wouldn't have chosen it if it had. Reception staff also gossiped about other guests with us and was swearing in conversation with us.
Toilet in our room was very smelly- like an unclean public toilet, badly needed cleaned.
Room booked for three people but when we requested pillow for third person we were told there were no pillows left.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Monkeyless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

We do want our customers to have a comfortable and relaxing stay with us Monkeyless, so we are really sorry to learn that you were disturbed by other guests. The safety and security of our customers is one of our main priorities and our night time staff are expected to patrol the corridors and such disruptive behaviour will not be tolerated. We’d like to be able to contact you to investigate further so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Yes,I was very pleased with my overnight stay in Gateshead.The room was excellent,the bed superb and the breakfast box was to my satisfaction! The staff were friendly and very helpful and Tara was super cool under pressure during the busy periods!

Room Tip: Choose the one with a heavy door!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We paid for early check in as we were planning on arriving early afternoon but due to traffic arrived 30mins before normal check in time to be told by the receptionist that it was pointless booking in early and that we should wait half an hour.. Not really a great first impression. Hotel room was a good size and exactly what we needed but the light at the door and one of the sockets didnt work. This may not be a big deal but with only 2 working sockets and a few girls trying to get ready, this caused a few problems. Although our room was directly across from the kfc drive through it was lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xMissRossx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Most important clean and comfortable,receptionist was pleasant and helpful. Improvement in room sound insulation and option to turn off heater needed. Location is 20 mins walk from metro, pretty outskirt.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We used it as a base for visiting Beamish Museum Village. It was also minutes away from the Metro Centre. There were plenty of eateries outside the Travelodge which were very good also.
The staff were cheerful and friendly too

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank meandkudos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews