We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Gateshead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Certificate of Excellence
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“2nd stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a thurs night, easy check in room on 2nd floor, new carpets throughout, loud music & laughter in room opposite not a good start, we went back out for food, returned around 21.20 still loud, 22.20 peace the 3 girls went out. Oh dear 1.50 they return with extra people reception knew straight away & removed the 2 extra people & warned them about noise, within the space of 20 mins warned again 1 girl leaves, 20 min pass reception tapping on their door warned again very shortly after no difference staff on hand again telling them their being evicted result or so we thought. Staff ended up calling the police to remove the girls 3 police vehicles 6 police, i ended up speaking to the police for them to keep the noise down as not to waken our 2yr old, peace after 3am
Staff were great & this has been resolved for us.
Thanks Gemma

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chipstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    83
    44
    14
    22
See reviews for
83
93
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Perfect location for Newcastle City centre and the Metro Centre for shopping. It was spotlessly clean: nicely decorated/furnished; pleasant, helpful staff and the price was fantastic value! We will stay longer next time because it is such good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Wellsatisfied2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed in a family room with a group of friends.

Con: chipped walls, quilt split open at seams, spare mattress is stained, no telephone to reception, no locks on bathroom door, extremely thin toilet roll, weak shower, card keys temperamental - keep having to get new ones, poor soundproofing - can hear very clearly the conversations of people out on the landing, creaky uneven floor/carpet in landing

Pro: friendly staff, value for money, clean towels, clean sheets, built-in bottle opener in room, tidy room, handy lift, tidy reception area, warm, firm beds, large car park, does the job.

Room Tip: £9 taxi to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Yau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,297 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,258 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for a birthday weekend in Newcastle. The rooms were decent and the staff fairly polite and friendly. There were a few dining options around as stated in earlier reviews. It cost around £12 for a taxi into Newcastle city centre so consider this when you book it if you're heading into the town. It was very close to the MetroCentre though. I would return but not for a trip into Newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We paid £30 for a family room on a thursday night, needed a last minute hiatus before kids go back to school and this was great. I would never pay the inflated weekend prices so I always looks for offers.

Room was lovely and clean, I look at other reviews and sometimes people expect too much considering the value, it's close to Metro Centre and other eateries so plenty to do and ideal for a base.

Room was lovely and warm even without heater on, a little too warm at night had to sleep on top of covers but I must say was the comfiest night's sleep I have had in a long time, next time I may partake in the late check out so I can take advantage!

Nice and quiet too, just far enough from the main traffic, odd light train went by and odd rumble from other guests but that's to be expected, I enjoyed my stay and will probably be back in not too distant future.

Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarraBob1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The upgrade it has received has made a difference. This one is very convenient for eating out in the evening with TGI Friday, Frankie and Benny and a KFC in the immediate area. Very close to the Metro Centre and easy to nip along the road to it where you can park for free then return to the travel lodge with your shopping. It's in walking distance as well though if you don't plan on buying too much. We missed the turn off so keep your eyes peeled as the roads are busy. Although we could hear people in other rooms (suspect girls out to party in Newcastle) as we walked along the corridor it was quiet once we were in our room. No overnight disturbance either. Second time being here in 3 months and will probably return in New Year for the sales.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Moonpuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Clean modern hotel but lacking in basic comfort with only one plastic chair in the room. Supposed to have super new dreamer bed but it was not comfortable I had difficulty in getting into it as it was too high

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Whilst we are please to learn you found the hotel to be clean and modern we are sorry to learn you found our new beds to be uncomfortable Dorothy T. We have received some great feedback regarding our brand new king-sized, pocket sprung dreamer beds; however we are aware that our guests have different preferences. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,000 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Property: Travelodge Gateshead
Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Travelodge Gateshead Swalwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing