We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newcastle/Gateshead travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Gateshead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The room was clean, spaceous and had a decent view out the window over the tyne and across the valley to the other side of scotswood. Safe out of the way parking and an amazing restaurant nearby (the Skiff). Nice stay, very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

we stayed here a few years ago and had a great trip so choose here the second time, but definately not as good. We stayed mon- fri in room 205. this was right above the automatic doors at the entrance so very noisy and could here the doors running along the tracks every time the doors open and close. I am a very light sleeper so was an issue and also as it was at the stairwell the doors in corridor were constantly banged every time someone came up, so if you get offered this room and your a light sleeper you may wish to ask to move. Train noise I did not fins an issue.

Room was clean on arrival, bit miserable with tea and coffee so constantly had to go ask for more and was not always filled by the maid. No tv remote on arrival took ages to find one and my husband constantly had to go up and down to get a new one. Biggest issue was when we went to go to bed and one of pillows had blood stains on it, not ours! as it was late we just never used it and left it face up on bottom of bed when we left to go out on tue, however when we returned the pillow had been placed face down on the bed and not bothered to change it. Finally did get it changed wed when we actually took the pillow case off! Massive hygiene risk! Other issue with being above main door was the stink of smoke! Neither of us smoke and therefore find the smell repulsive and every time someone lit up outside we got a whiff of it, the room was hot so we would of liked to open window but had to watch when we opened it to stop smell being so bad. They should defo look at where they allow people to smoke.

on thursday the bed did not even get made just covers flung back over, this is not a massive problem but find it nice regardless of class of hotel that the bed is made and tea/coffee filled. Kettle was disgusting, badly needed scaled and outside filthy too. Staff were ok but not the friendliest or most helpful and one girl spent more time standing outside fire exit smoking than anything else.

The hotel is one that has been 'refurbished'. I did not see much of a change except striped curtains! the new comfy beds - I did not find comfy as it was the firmest bed I have ever slept in despite advertising medium/firm. Found it very funny that they are actually advertising that u can buy these beds! But I guess you cant please everyone!

Hotel is a good location for metro centre also eating places close by. we got a taxi into newcastle which cost £10 to the station and on route home we got one from quayside which cost £8.However there is a bus stop right on the main road, metro centre is walking distance.

on the thur night there was lots of shouting and banging and police were called, I dont think i would bring young children to this hotel especially at weekends.

I know this sounds like a bad review but simply stating facts. we both had a good time and for £30 a night it wasnt too bad value, just a shame that its went downhill since last visit. If your on a budget, looking for somewhere that is a good location and simply a place to put your head down this would do you fine!

Room Tip: not 205 for light sleepers or non-smokers! Good if you want to see what is going on when the police...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment Margaret C and that you were disturbed by the noise of the door outside your room. We’d expect all facilities to be quiet and fully operational and we’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our hotel so that they can look into this further. We would expect our housekeeping staff to ensure that all rooms are clean and fresh and that your room is serviced and all essentials are replenished during your stay so we are sorry to learn of the lapse in service on this occasion. Our hotels are completely smoke free so it is regrettable to learn you felt you could smell smoke in your room from the smoking area outside. We are also concerned that you felt unsafe around the hotel, please be assured that your safety and security is of utmost importance and we do try to work with the police and local communities to provide a safe environment. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a thurs night, easy check in room on 2nd floor, new carpets throughout, loud music & laughter in room opposite not a good start, we went back out for food, returned around 21.20 still loud, 22.20 peace the 3 girls went out. Oh dear 1.50 they return with extra people reception knew straight away & removed the 2 extra people & warned them about noise, within the space of 20 mins warned again 1 girl leaves, 20 min pass reception tapping on their door warned again very shortly after no difference staff on hand again telling them their being evicted result or so we thought. Staff ended up calling the police to remove the girls 3 police vehicles 6 police, i ended up speaking to the police for them to keep the noise down as not to waken our 2yr old, peace after 3am
Staff were great & this has been resolved for us.
Thanks Gemma

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Chipstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Perfect location for Newcastle City centre and the Metro Centre for shopping. It was spotlessly clean: nicely decorated/furnished; pleasant, helpful staff and the price was fantastic value! We will stay longer next time because it is such good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Wellsatisfied2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed in a family room with a group of friends.

Con: chipped walls, quilt split open at seams, spare mattress is stained, no telephone to reception, no locks on bathroom door, extremely thin toilet roll, weak shower, card keys temperamental - keep having to get new ones, poor soundproofing - can hear very clearly the conversations of people out on the landing, creaky uneven floor/carpet in landing

Pro: friendly staff, value for money, clean towels, clean sheets, built-in bottle opener in room, tidy room, handy lift, tidy reception area, warm, firm beds, large car park, does the job.

Room Tip: £9 taxi to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Yau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for a birthday weekend in Newcastle. The rooms were decent and the staff fairly polite and friendly. There were a few dining options around as stated in earlier reviews. It cost around £12 for a taxi into Newcastle city centre so consider this when you book it if you're heading into the town. It was very close to the MetroCentre though. I would return but not for a trip into Newcastle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We paid £30 for a family room on a thursday night, needed a last minute hiatus before kids go back to school and this was great. I would never pay the inflated weekend prices so I always looks for offers.

Room was lovely and clean, I look at other reviews and sometimes people expect too much considering the value, it's close to Metro Centre and other eateries so plenty to do and ideal for a base.

Room was lovely and warm even without heater on, a little too warm at night had to sleep on top of covers but I must say was the comfiest night's sleep I have had in a long time, next time I may partake in the late check out so I can take advantage!

Nice and quiet too, just far enough from the main traffic, odd light train went by and odd rumble from other guests but that's to be expected, I enjoyed my stay and will probably be back in not too distant future.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarraBob1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,138 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Price Range: £35 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Travelodge Gateshead Swalwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing