We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Gateshead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

after reading a few reviews for this hotel i thought i had drawn the short straw but thought i may as well try it & im very pleased i did.my room was very clean,the bed was very comfortable & i did not hear any noise during my stay.the staff were friendly,there are a good choice of eateries within a short distance & its very handy for the metro centre.the only thing i

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Travelodge Gateshead is located close to the north end of the Metro Centre close by the A1 and so is easy to find.

The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful and a fount of local information, all of which came in useful. All the receptionists encountered were equally delightful.

The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Despite having booked for two persons, there were only enough towels, soap and tea and coffee provided for one; however, a few minutes after bringing this to the attention of the receptionist these shortcomings were made good. There was a bath tub, which was a bonus, but it was designed for a midget and the fun of bathing in a foetal ball soon palled. Fortunately, the shower worked very well and the water was agreeably hot. Speaking of which, the room was heated to a temperature at which only a Venusian could feel comfortable; how this was done is something of a mystery since there was no air conditioning and the only radiator was switched off.

In keeping with modern practice there were no drawers, only open shelves and a clothes rail with numerous coat hangers. The TV worked perfectly, although the channels were somewhat limited in number.

The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the linen fresh and clean. Sleep quality was somewhat diminished not by the mattress, but by the stag and hen night nutjobs who roamed the corridors in the early hours. The walls are very thin, so a drunken ruck two rooms away on the other side of the corridor is bound to interrupt your slumber, something the management might wish to address. A hotel's reputation is founded not only upon its staff, but also upon its clientele.

The hotel does not provide catering, except for vending machines in Reception and breakfast boxes; the content of the latter I cannot comment upon, since I didn't try one as it looked as though the best part of the meal might be the box itself. All is not lost, however, since the hotel is located very close to a KFC and a Frankie and Benny's and the excellent Skiff Inn, with its affordable drinks and good pub grub, is but a minute's walk away.

Overall, this is a reasonable hotel made better by excellent staff who provide oustanding service.

If only they didn't accept stag and hen parties . . .

Room Tip: Ask in advance if hen or stag parties are booked in during your stay. If they are, don't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capricorn113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lauren & Gemma are absolutely dedicated and fanatical about looking after Customers, I will be returning and it's all down to The Staff, one Travelodge is just like another - but the staff here make the difference...

Fridays is also very close.

Great location for me and very easy found.

Room Tip: Ground floor for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently after a business event and I must say I was impressed. From the moment we checked in the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. This makes a change as most hotels take for ever to check in and staff don't engage in conversation. So it was a refreshing change to be met by this service.
The hotel and rooms had everything you need for a short stay. They were clean and tidy but most of all the bed and pillows were comfy. This is important to me being a light sleeper. I was worried about the location of the trainline outside but i never heard a thing. Hotel is ideally suited for those wanting to shop and the metrocentre, sightsee in Newcastle or adventure into Northumberland as the A1 is right on the doorstep.
Upon leaving a girl named Tara was really helpful to an elderly couple before me. Talk about going the extra mile. She went several.
My only negative with the hotel would be the carpark. Layout confusing and looked a little over grown and messy, but I would not let that detract from my visit.
All in all probably one of the best travelodges I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papa_smurf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The facilities were good. The rooms were clean and had everything as expected. The staff were good, communicated well and appeared happy in their roles. The big let down was the other guests. Unfortunately there was two groups one female and one male on some sort of group do stags / hens we know not but they had a great time on both nights we were there (Fri & Sat). First night disturbed woken up three times the next night woken up and kept awake for at least two hours whilst the groups came back and ran up and down the corridor screaming and shouting. Lots of bad language and drunken revelry. Police attended premises twice and staff were up and down trying to regain the field. Finally back to sleep at 5 in the morning.
Travelodge make up your mind who your customer base is you cannot have both sets at the same time. We were one family (2 rooms) of many who were let down and no matter how good you are there is no point if the customer cannot sleep. The factors were not outside your control.
Sadly despite a comfortable bed, clean rooms, good value and excellent staff we cannot recommend this hotel for the above reasons.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Camille J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We are truly sorry to learn you were disturbed by other guests during your stay at our Gateshead hotel Camille J. We do ask our customers to respect their noise levels when around the hotel and we will also ensure that larger groups are allocated rooms which are aware from other guests. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

stayed at this hotel 2 weeks ago ,the rooms were nice and clean and the staff were very helpful would recommend it to anyone.never heard any noises and had a very good night sleep would stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboybobby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed in a few travelodges in my time and always been really impressed with the quality of the service and rooms.

We entered the room which was meant to be for 4 people to find that it was missing a foldaway bed. We had to go upstairs (ourselves) to get a bed off another member of the party and carry it down the stairs (each room was meant to have 4 beds and everyone had already settled in.) We then discovered that there were only two towels between four of us and there were none available at reception.

There was also a strong smell of urine within the room which was not at all pleasant. Our first port of call to discover where the smell was coming from was, of course, the bathroom. We discovered that the toilet had urine in and had clearly not been cleaned properly. The shower also had hairs stuck to the wall and there was a cluster of hair in the drain. Thankfully the receptionist came in with some bleach to clear this and removed the hairs.

Overall this room was not worth the money that was paid for it and it is safe to say that I will not be returning to this particular Travelodge.

On a side note... there were only two available sockets which for a group of 4 girls for a night out did not bode well!

Room Tip: We did have a wonderful view of KFC but unfortunately the smell of chicken wasn't prominent to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

We do expect for our rooms to be set up correctly and we are very sorry to learn of the issues you experienced Amelia O. Our housekeeping team follow a strict routine when cleaning and preparing our rooms and it is regrettable to learn that the standards have fallen below our expectations on this occasion. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Price Range: £38 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Travelodge Gateshead Swalwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing