We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay if you want a goo nights rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Gateshead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't stay if you want a goo nights rest”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this travel lodge, the third travel lodge in a week while touring the country looking at universities for our daughter. We were met by two lovely ladies Gemma and Jane, chatty and welcoming a real credit to the travel lodge group, the room was clean and fresh but not as up to date as manchester or Huddersfield. Unfortunately Newcastle and Gateshead which has the overspill guests from Newcastle appear to attract the scum of the earth, from about eleven onwards all we could hear were young people shouting, screaming, constantly slamming doors, being sick and one very funny chap thought it hilarious to knock loudly on everyone's doors about 3am. We didn't complain but Gemma asked us in the morning how it had gone and we told her, she was so kind and apologetic and offered us a voucher to stay at a travel lodge again, for all you travellers out there Gemma's advice if visiting Newcastle is to stay at the airport one or the gosforth one as it's quieter. To travel lodge those girls firstly need a medal for dealing with the amount of abuse we heard, secondly they need at least one burly male member of staff on 24/7 and thirdly security guards to escort the drunk and unruly off the premises, it is totally wrong in this day and age that those girls should have to put up with that sort of language and behaviour from intimidating men. It gets three stars because of the lovely staff

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AKVstratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    82
    43
    13
    22
See reviews for
80
91
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A very enjoyable quiet stay at a clean comfortable and friendly hotel. Ideal for proximity to several restaurants, Metro centre and transport. The porridge for breakfast was delicious and the staff were very helpful.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireLass15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

One of the worst hotels I have even been unfortunate enough to stay in.
Staff were very unhelpful and rude. Rooms were very dirty. Hotel was very noisy, very loud, drunken obnoxious hen party from Liverpool and somewhere else. Wouldnt let my dog stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinamarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Most amazing place ive stayes after such an unsettling night the staff especially lauren was amazing so warm and welcoming would definantly stay there again, rooms were fab and very accomodating would recomend to anybody fab stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I would also like to reiterate what Lindzie has said about the staff of this particular travellodge.

Lauren and Jane dealt with the Scots in a very professional manner, they actually deserve a medal for having to put up with the amount of intimidation this particular group were portraying, I commend them, it was dealt with swiftly, it all could have had a very different ending had the staff not have acted as they did, equally the next morning the manager Gemma was professional and helpful in her advice to us because although the said party had been evicted they were still on the site and went and sat elsewhere in a restaurant where we were planning to have breakfast, Gemma gave us advice to not go there.

I extend my personal thanks to Lauren, Jane and Gemma, I would definitely stay here for the sheer fact I now see these people as friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 47Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed this weekend with a hen party. Location to bars £12 in a taxi f£20 in a 16 seater. Reception are excellent and rooms are good for price..

Now for thé stay.. we were a large group of 30 women and a group of 34 women from scottland also checked in. Was absolutely appauled in they way these women behaved. A group of them attacked one of our girls in the hotel totally unprovocked attack which ended up 15+ to 3. Police were called several times as every time some of our party walked in trouble would start again .. I can honestly say Lauren and Jane where so proffessional under the difficult circumstances and done everything in their power to try and keep the 2nd floor under control which must of been quite scary as they were being threatened and where on their own as even after the attack the Scottish party behaved like animals screaming and shouting throughout the night running around the hotel threatening to kill guests and staff... Throwing things around the car park and climbing the railway fences ...bumping taxis by not paying so had taxi drivers shouting outside also. the police were a lousey assistance leaving the 2 girls behind reception on their on own moat of the time by 8am the Saturday morning the party was evicted from the hotel for threatening staff loads of police come to help with the eviction in the end!!! Also I can say is shame on thé other party and I feel ashamed for you all... And in regards to Lauren and Jane what a credit to the travel lodge team and they deserve recognition for what they done and what they were put through on Friday

Thanks girls xxxxxx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Convenient and a good choice of places to eat dinner/have breakfast a stone's throw away. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable. I left my iphone charger behind and hotel kindly posted it to me. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisamariaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Property: Travelodge Gateshead
Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Travelodge Gateshead Swalwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing