We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Avra Rafina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabo Verde Hotel(Nea Makri)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myrto Hotel(Nea Makri)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mati(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mati Hotel(Nea Makri)
View Hotel
Hotel Nireus(Nea Makri)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
54
208
143
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
208
143
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnext morningathens airportgreek islandsferry strikewalking distanceexcellent locationthe hotel offersminutes walk awayisland hoppingbalcony doorfree shuttlebreakfast was excellentrooms are cleanferry portnice rooman overnight staystayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My friend and I booked Avra Rafina for a one-night stay on our way out into the Aegan sea with a ferry the next morning.

Avra Rafina is located central in Rafina in a somewhat busy area, but still what feels like a secure area. The hotel has an excellent location in relation to both the city centre, restaurants and the ferries/port.

Room was by Greek standards nice, working with an A/C and the basics. Bed was, again, with Greek standard, OK, but from an international traveller's perspective hard. Service, again, with Greek standards totally OK. We didn't visit the restaurant/breakfast, but it looked like a decent alternative (though prices are steeper than close-by restaurants).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnusWr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

For us, the major attraction of this hotel is their location and they certainly rely on that to bring people in, and upon dealing with the staff, I think they know that too!

The Good
- The location is fantastic to the port and the airport. From the port you can walk to the hotel and getting to the airport, you can catch a 3 euro bus out front (harbour side) of the hotel. Also, a number of restaurants within close range to choose from.

- The reception and restaurant areas are tastefully decoration.

- The breakfast was okay.

- Balcony view overlooking the sea, beach and port was very nice.

The Not So Good
- Service. Not the friendliest or most helpful of staff in all areas that we experienced. For breakfast it took us 10 minutes to find someone for extra cutlery
- The breakfast buffet ran out and things were not replenished as one would expect.
- Our room was in an appalling condition for an apparent four star hotel! (See photos included). Fortunately we only had the one night. Issues were: Only one curtain so we all woke up when the sun came out! AC unit was very loud, extremely loud. Bathroom was crazy tiny. Beds are rock hard! The balcony railing attachment (in our room - 216) needed repairing and was dangerous. Outside balcony light was hanging out of the socket! Paint coming of the walls and finishing done to a sub standard level.

The rooms, (we had three for our group) are in serious need of a refurbishment and soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donovanhallnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

To be honest, this is not a hotel for a holiday. Though, if you are on your way to or from Athens international airport this might be a good alternative. Or to be more precise, I found it a great place to stay. Arriving from the islands. Short stroll to the hotel. You get a room. Go out and eat evening meal (the fish tavern far out in the port). A stroll back. Perhaps a drink. And then sleep. Next day the early bus to the airport. Clean hotel, lacking personality, but not bad. Friendly staff. So, for a prepaid room booked the night before at a bargain price, this was a perfect solution, instead of going into Athens for just some hours sleep or to stay up all night. So, an average hotel for travellers in need for somewhere to stay to catch an early ferry out or the early bus to the airport. It's a frist class hotel, and the standard is not wrong. Like a Holiday Inn. You will probably find a better price than rack price through one of the hotel sites on the net.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank FromStockholmwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location is good, and the rooms are clean an adequate for a night sleep before taking the ferry or plane somewhere. The rest does not live up to the standards. When the front desk don't know wether reservations are prepaid or not.. We refused to pay a second time on arrival and got an internet connection in order to show the bank transaction. After 5 minutes she calls our room, excusing herself with the fact that she hadn't found our rexervation earlier, now she have, and yes, it was prepaid. Bring proof for prepaid room.
The breakfast is ok, nothing more, nothing less. The seating area for breakfast was not cleaned after dinner the night before, with leftovers on the floor.

I would recommend it for the location. If you find accomodation with similar location (we only found one hotel in Rafina) choose the otherone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SBMN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Saves time for those who are looking to get an early cruise to the islands. Average amenities, not great buffet but has a nice town area within 1 minute walk. We really appreciated the variety of restaurants and bars within 50 meters of the hotels.

For this price, it saves your time for travelling from athens to catch a boat the next morning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank priscie729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews