We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Planos Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Spiros(Tsilivi)(Great Value!)
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Internet
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
348
251
107
37
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
251
107
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkkids clubsnack barevening entertainmententertainment teamthemed nightsgreat holidaywooden walkwaynext yearmini discofamily holidaychildren agedfootball pitchred applehotel poolstage areaall inclusive guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2008

First thing we should point out is that the staff here are brilliant, and really made the difference to our holiday. It is a family run hotel and the owners and the staff are extremely friendly and will do their utmost best to accommodate any requests you have. These apartments have been built in different stages and we stayed in the Planos 1 apartments, which were the first built in early 1990's. They are badly in need of a refurbishment so if you are looking for an apartment which you can cook in and are funny about your washing facilities then I would recommend requesting that you stay in the Planos 3 or 4 apartments. However if you just want a room to sleep in and don’t mind using basic wash facilities then these are perfect. When I say basic facilities I mean that the shower is hand held, shower curtain is grubby/mouldy, our toilet seat needed replacing and the water flow is a trickle.

Maid service was brilliant and kept our apartments very clean every day. Also, the pool at these apartments is superb. Although it goes quiet deep quite quickly we saw many young children having a great time as the pool is big enough to have many inflatable’s in it and still have plenty of room for those just wanting a swim. With regards to the sunbeds, we did see people put out towels on the beds in prime positions and then not use the beds all day!! Despite this there were sunbeds still available.

Pool side bar has excellent staff and food choice. The Roof Garden above the pool bar also has really good value specials everyday as well as a wide choice of tasty food. We ended up eating there a few times. We must also recommend the seaside bar by the beach which I think is called Travali's situated right on the corner. If you go there a couple of times the couple who run it are just so welcoming and the food is amazing too. If you are lucky enough to be there when they hold a Greek night you should go, the food, music and dancers are brilliant.

Plenty to do in Zante, we took the trip to see the Blue Caves and Shipwreck. The trip was well worth doing as we got to swim both at the shipwreck and near to the blue caves. It is worth shopping around for your trips as not all let you swim by the blue caves which is highly worth doing. Our boat skipper let those that wanted to, jump off the sides of the boat (including the higher level) which is such an experience. Also for an extra 6 Euros the glass bottom boats took us actually into the caves.

Hope you enjoy your trip!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dunstayinghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

2nd trip to greek isles.zante may 08.Arrived zante airport,pouring with rain,not the best start,passport staff surly and abrupt,but hey ! if i was working nights,i might be the same lol. 25 mins.to the hotel.Seating on the plane cramped.Passed through Tsivili town,lit up and looks vibrant,arrive at hotel,rain has stopped,hotel looks smart,check in quick & friendly,room looks good,dump the suitcase,head to the pub.1st am,room is clean,good s/c equip.large balcony,overlooking pool,o.k.later to discover,that its above clubhouse,no probs as long as you don't plan to sleep b4 1am.Plenty of sunbeds /umbs./small table poolside,2 euros for cushions as opposed to 6 euros at the beach for 2 beds & umb. All the staff,reps really helpful and friendly,everyone speaks english,shops,bars,cafe's,taxi's buses etc.A bustling resort,very english orientated,can't fault it for vibrancy.We went in may,I can imagine peak season being very hectic.Blackpool with sun(no disrespect to Blackpool) it knows what it caters for,Tsivili the same.A special mention for the RED LION,the one further in Tsivili town,lovely people ,great food,theres one closer to the hotel same family same results.The Kavali taverna just around the corner from the hotel close to the beach well worth a visit ,best full english breakfast,and we tried a few,not that the others were bad either.On the whole Tsivili was good,we really enjoyed,made some new friends,mostly from Wales being Welsh that was a bonus lol.All in all a good holiday.One word of warning the cafe at zante airport departures,is run by robin hood.In a nutshell,it was agreat holiday, but we prefer Crete.

1  Thank Taff1lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

A week at Planos beach - Tsilivi Xante was the not the relaxing holiday we hoped for....if you're unfortunate enough to stay at Planos 4, the furthest section from the road then you have my sympathy. There is considerable work being carried out there at the moment, which some days started at 9am, and if they didnt wake you then the cleaner most certainly will...dont expect a lie in. Combined with the water and electric going off and the "madman" that runs the hotel opposite you, there was never a dull moment. Reception were not always there and the pool is very small. However saying all this I cant say anything bad against Tsilivi, the apartments were in a good location just far enough from the main road and the beach. And Tsilivi town is an excellent night out, full of English bars and restaurants. A good deal on the euro is essential for a good week away because at 1.2 to the pound, even a local beer can set you back nearly 3 pound. Happy holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NuneatonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Based on recommendations I read on this site I took my family on holiday here in July 07. Zakynthos, was all I hoped it would not be. Tacky bars selling brown ale and full English breakfast next to hundreds of drab souvenir shops . It was reminiscent of Spain in the early seventies except it was far tackier. and more poorly planned. The reception in Planos Bay was impressive but that was all. The Pool was far too small for the no of people using it . The water was constantly cloudy and it closed for two full days because of too much chlorine in the water that was burning peoples eyes and skin. It was so poor that we had to go to a hotel nearby and pay €10 a day to use their facilities. In the late evenings I saw vermin running at the edges of the pool
The staff had not got a clue how to manage the hotel. All it was short of was Basil Fawlty. The poolside bar had about 4 CD's that they blasted out over and over again (which may have been all right if you were into electric dance music , but not really suitable for forty somethings with teenage kids.)
The reason I chose this place was that it stated it had activities for teenagers. which was untrue. Every night groups of teenagers were moping around cadging drinks from Mick, the most inept barman i ever met in perhaps the most unwelcoming bar I have ever seen in a holiday resort.
I could go in for hours but just let me say that Ive been on package holidays for 25 years and this was simply the worst. Dont Go!! Don' even be tempted! you have been warned

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MikeMacC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

My husband and our children stayed here last year July 06
and we loved it!!
The bedsheets and towels were changed daily (nb that could of been due to our early stay) Good value for money restuarents and day trips must recomend the water village its only approx 20mins bus journey, our kids loved it and as we went early july it was not packed so excellent if you hate long lines for the water slides. Also we had most of our meals at a lovely restaurant called staminos just opposite the planos bay hotel .The beach was very clean, and the locals and staff were very friendly. There was so much to fit in but as we only stayed for a week we did''nt get to experience all the day trips. we could not fault our holiday and will definately return and next time we aim to take a short boat trip over to the island where you see the turtles.
There are many tour operators on site to help you with excursions and the first choice reps are very friendly and approachable. This is definately a family friendly resort 10 out of 10. Only dislike was the greeck airport VERY long lines and only two scaning machines and no where to sit down, but that was our only groan.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank clare30london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews