We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as expected, but could be a LOT better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Planos
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not as bad as expected, but could be a LOT better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

I read a lot of reviews about this hotel before I went last week on a 7 day all-inclusive holiday with 2 friends (all aged early 20s)
What we didnt realise was the resort of Tsilivi was closing down for the season, and this was the last week the hotel was open before winter.
I was pleasantly surprised by the room, which was basic but fairly modern. It was cleaned daily and we had fresh sheets and towels a number of times in the week.
The food was pretty average, with much the same thing every day. Still edible though, and fresh salad and fruit every day. A massive downer was the amount of cats and dogs allowed to roam through the hotel, especially when trying to eat. Some may like that, I did not.
The entertainment was apalling though. Not a big deal for me who was quite happy sitting in the bar reading a book or playing cards, but seeing as it was half term there were a lot of families there with kids aged 2-15 with nothing to do.
The pool was nice, and plenty of sunloungers to go round.
Beware of the rain though, the hotel leaks like a seive, with towels being placed throughout the hotel to mop it up. I know of some guests whose bedrooms even flooded.
The staff were a mixed bunch. The receptionist (Sophia?) and Mickey the geordie barman made the hotel, and were always keen to help. The rest were miserable and rude, and it seemed like an inconvenience to be staying there.

Overall, for the very cheap price I paid it was good value and a good relaxing getaway, but the hotel needs a complete rebuild and a change of staff to live up to being a proper family holiday hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    56
    29
    28
    15
See reviews for
99
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

we were expecting a nice family holiday we were celebrating a 50th birthday and a wedding anniversary so looking forward to a brill time. we had paid in total over 3000 pounds for 6 of us ALL INCLUSIVE. the all inclusive was a joke we arrived there at 10pm there was no where to get a brew no where to get a snack we were told where our rooms were not shown to it rooms were adequate to sleep in shower fine if your 4 foot 2 inches food was only just edible only if you were really hungry it was only just warm same food every other day staff miserable except Micky and Teena over run with stray cats cat faeces in flower pots and swarms of flies wonder why????? no entertainment we even had to pay for bottled water the self catering guests had more choice of food snack bar was open 9am till 5pm but always ran out of chips or burger buns around 3 so all inclusive holiday was limited 8-10am breakfast 1-3pm dinner 7-9pm then that was it till next day it cost us more going out to buy food NEVER EVER AGAIN

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debs0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Planos hotels

sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Just returned from here and had a great time. Booked it as a last minute self catering thing and was not expecting much but I was pleasantly suprised.

Rooms were basic but most Greek apartments are. It was clean and we had a lovely sunny balcony. All staff were very friendly and the location was excellent. We just had a short walk from our room and we were on the beach. We've stayed in Tsilivi before and was not even aware that part of the beach existed.

I can't comment on the food or entertainment at this hotel as I did not use these facilities but for a self catering short break it was wonderful. We stayed in Cyprus in July in a 4* hotel that cost us 3 times as much as this did and had a much better time here in Tsilivi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kndsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

I feel compelled by my experiences at the admiral to write this, my first review.
Tsilivi was recommended by everyone we spoke to, we paid all inclusive & we were really looking forward to the holiday – unfortunately we stayed here…..

Firstly, every poor review on this hotel is justified & I can verify each comment is valid. The place is run by Eastern Europeans whom show preference to their fellow countrymen & treat the western Europeans with contempt, distain and as an unfortunate side effect of running (using the term loosely) a hotel.

Everything is focussed towards the polish, the food is very very basic (oily, fishy, inedible mush) they will ignore serving you at the bar until you either go away or you insist on making yourself heard. The entertainment is also mostly in Polish, it would make sense for the owners to make it exclusively an eastern European complex.

The full inclusive element is a complete & utter rip off. You are dictated what you can have (very little) & when you are allowed to have it. As an additional feature the staff publicly change the clock forward 20 minutes regularly to minimise what you can order throughout the day.

The staff evidently water down the drinks heavily, whilst I was there the beer that was served in small plastic cups went off 5 times, smelling of eggs & tasting of cleaning chemicals.

There were only 2 staff that showed a modicum of customer service, Alex & Sandra both were happy & pleasant. The other staff were god awful by comparison. The bar staff comprised of Mickey, whom was egotistical, rude & unpleasant individual, 1 sullen polish guy who doubled up as a resentful receptionist (whom insisted on evidence that we were all inclusive upon arrival) & 1 completely rude middle aged blonde woman whom treated you as an inconvenient hinderance. The bar cook’s hygiene was also questionable throughout.

In terms of the cleaners they mopped our room once in 2 weeks.

By the 3rd day we refused to eat & drink at the complex using the place just as somewhere to sleep as the food had make us all ill & the watered down beer wasn’t worth fighting 60+ polish bullies for.

If you are unfortunate enough to have to reside in this hotel, leave your manners, goodwill to all men & tastebuds at home, or do what we did & spend your time at the beach & eat out locally at the Golden Fish which was awesome, which shouldn’t have been needed as we had bought an all expensive inclusive holiday.

I implore you to learn from our mistakes & only stay here if you are under severe duress or are of eastern european dissent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank seeyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Self Catering Holiday - We arrived mid afternoon to a very overcrowded reception area. After waiting for quite a long time we were allocated our room and directed to it. There was nobody on hand to assist us to our room which is what you would expect, especially as we had a baby in arms and another child.

We got to the room (1 Bedroomed apartment) which was pretty basic. A sliding door seperated the two rooms. A kitchenette was located in the kids room which was dark as it had no windows. The balcony looked out over onto the main road and was equipped with table and 4 chairs which was good.

The room appeared clean and towels were at the end of each bed, these were clean and fresh smelling. The bathroom consisted of shower cubicle, sink and toilet as is expected in Greece. All was to a clean standard.

Rooms were mopped and cleaned and towels replaced everyday which I thought pretty unusual and was pleasantly suprised by this. Cleaner was very friendly.

So you're wondering why I give this hotel a poor rating?

Here's the downside. There are two pools at this hotel. One is fairly small with a kids pool attached and seperated by railings. The other is slightly smaller and very overcrowded by teenagers. A pool bar and terrace is located near this pool.

It appears that this hotel is favoured by Eastern Europeans from Poland and surrounding countries who come to the hotel on all inclusive holidays. It would appear that these people think that All Inclusive gives them rights over anybody else. For example, I came down to the pool bar with my daughter (5) to wait for my wife who was still getting ready for the evening. We stood at the bar with the intention of getting a drink and sitting on the terrace. The staff were inside and nowhere to be seen. Out of the blue, a stampede of Eastern Europeans descended onto the bar area, pushing, shoving and not giving a hoot for anybody else. The staff, 1 sometimes 2 people appeared and began serving the All Inclusive customers. One imparticular man had been served, took his drinks to the table and returned for me before even touching the drinks he'd just got, again pushing in front of anyone queuing. We were eventually served but as you sit there on the terrace, every other person on the terrace stares at you (presumably because we're English) they whisper to each other and you can tell they're talking about you. It wasn't just me who noticed this. There were ither English families who commented on this.

It seems that this used to be a very decent hotel / apartment complex (I also stayed in 2006) it wasn't like this then. I would seriously advise Brits not to stay here if you like to feel comfortable on holiday. The hotel itself is spot on but other guests are the ones who cause the reviews to fall foul of acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Arrived at the hotel having booked a 4 bed studio to be told nothing available and would have to go across the road to their sister hotel which was not all inclusive so would have to cross the road every time we wanted a drink! Refused outright and threatened to contact company we booked with and 2 hours later they had a room for us. Hardly anything is included in the all inclusive package. Cushions for the sunloungers are 1 euro each per day. Air con is 5 euro per day. Any decent alcoholic drinks are between 1-2 euros. Icecreams are 1.5 euro.Food was pretty good with plenty of choice but although the dining room is a good size, the serving area is tiny so with lots of nationalities that don't do turn taking and queuing it was a nightmare! The pool area was nice and there were always sunbeds available. The entertainment was ok but sadly our room was about 30 metres from the stage so no chance of going to sleep until the entertainment had finished. Staff were not very friendly, particularly the lady serving at the all inclusive bar during the day, don't think I saw her crack a smile all week and she seemed to positively enjoy telling children off for going to the bar when wet. The room was pretty cramped for 4 people and the cleaning service was poor, most days if the beds were made and the wet towels hung up we were lucky. Overall, not a bad budget hotel but not a good one either. The location is ok, 2 minutes walk to the beach and about 15 minute walk into the main area of Tsilivi which was lively at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Located in a great place. Not far from beach or from local restaurants and bars.
Only thing wrong was quality of rooms. No shower curtain so the floor was flooded. The fridge was also not working. Staff were helpful after telling them about the problems
Overall; Great entertainment and value for money.
I would reccomned it

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Planos
0.4 mi away
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
Tsilivi Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Tsilivi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#6 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#34 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
6.3 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsilivi Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsilivi Admiral Hotel

Property: Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
Address: Planos 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Planos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Planos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsilivi Admiral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tsilivi Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel Planos, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing