We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“glad at end of trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“glad at end of trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel before flying out of Zurich. The front desk staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. Could not find voucher initially. He acknowledged he had the reservation, that it was paid in full but would not let us register. When I tried to just make a new reservation, as he said he had rooms available, he would not allow that either and rudely waved us aside.

Thankfully, I was able to find the voucher, at least that was my initial sentiment. There were three of us traveling. The sofa bed in the room was absolutely horrible. The metal slab protruded through the mattress(such as it was). No real concern when reported.

Thank goodness this was at the end of our trip and did not ruin the entire experience.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BDK1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and all the important information given - this will help us to improve our service in the future and to satisfy our guests much more.
I would like to appologize for the unprofessonal behaviour of the staff member and I agree that this is absolutely not acceptable. I have spoken to this staff member and believe me such a situation will not appear again. We have checked your room and have exchanged the sofa which you spoke of. Thank you for your understandning.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    581
    342
    116
    86
See reviews for
347
338
140
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have stayed at Holiday inn express, Zurich with my family and friends and the hotel was closer to the Airport, the staff was very warm and helpful - even allowed early check-in, Good Hospitality, Games and entertainment for kids, Nice Bar and restaurant, good location, closer to the train station - just 5 minutes walking. Though our stay was short but was very sweet I must say!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your wonderful review and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel - especially the fantastic staff service.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Advantages: Reception personnel speak and understand English very well, buffet cold breakfast starts early at 4:00, relatively close to the airport to meet a 7:00 connection, the fifth floor rooms are clean (sterile), complimentary shuttle IF the hotel guest indicates he/she requires the shuttle. The shuttle van driver is a terribly friendly fellow.

Possible disadvantages: Occupancy rate seems high because every time I check into the hotel I wait not less than ten minutes, bar service seems to be consistently curt/rude, any present breakfast personnel even briefer, no fitness facility, the current shuttle carries a maximum of 15 so if your name isn't on the listing and reception didn't give you a shuttle ticket the previous evening during check-in and the van is at capacity you may not be allowed to board the shuttle at your desired hour. I was willing to kneel on the van's floor board during one of the 20 minute rides, otherwise I would have called a taxi. There don't seem to be area restaurants within walking distance, but I might be incorrect about that perception; I always arrive there after dark.

Room Tip: I seem to land always in a room facing the street, but it doesn't matter because it isn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwansaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your review and all the important information we received with your feed-back.
We are very happy to hear that you have been very satisfied with our staff service - i will pass on your compliments to them.
It is correct that our hotel is very popular and we have very high occupancy figures - guests appreciate our new and uncomplicated hotel and especially our very moderate room rates.
We have now changed our shift planning and we make sure that there is enough staff at the reception and in the restaurant so that no waiting time appears for the guests. I have talked to the staff member handling the bar and I can guarantee you that this department will be very polite and helpful to the guests in the future. Please understand that our shuttle drivers must obey Swiss law and it is not allowed by law to overfill a shuttle - also the other hotels around the airport only run a 13-seat shuttle and we do this all half hours - in future please book a seat in advance when you check in - you will have no problems.
Hope to see you soon back at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We decided to stay at Holiday Inn Express based on Tripadvisor reviews. It certainly did not disappoint! The hotel staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Jorg Hoffman at the front desk supported us well during our stay. The shuttle pick up service both from the airport and to the city is very efficient. There are no charges for the airport shuttle but a charge of 5 CHF to the city is reasonable and cheaper than the train. This hotel is also close to the train station - a 5 minute walk. Breakfast buffet is sumptuous. The rooms are clean and functional. The only thing that can be improved are the pillows - hard if you are used to comfortable ones. But in the large scheme of things, a minor point only. A great overall value particularly in a pricey city like Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csrinivasan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest,
great to receive such a fantastic review from you and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay so much at our hotel. We have decided to replace all our pillows with new pillows till the end of this year 2012 - thanks for giving us this important information. This will help to serve our guests even better in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I decided to choose this hotel quite last minite as all other hotels in Zurich on the New Year Eve 2012 were full. The hotel turned to be a pleasant place though it was quite a distance from the city center. Schuttle buses always went on time schedule to the Central Railway Station of Zurich. It took me about 30 minutes to get there. Staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was rwal great. I recommend you to stay at that hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chugunoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest,
we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much - especially your positive views about our staff service is very important for us to hear.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon back again at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

A warm welcome to this Holiday Inn Express was received. The standard group hotel room was clean and well presented. Great buffet breakfast well laid out and plenty of seating. Shuttle on time and speedy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howardair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your fantastic feed-back - we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much and we hope to see you soon back at our hotel.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

A good hotel is only so good as its employees. The service of the concierge/check in by Jörg Hoffmann is amazing good. He offers a service which you normally only get from a five star hotel. When I arrived got everything I needed. I also got all the informations which you need when you are a first time in Zurich with very helpful tips.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jantibursky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport. We are very happy that our staff member took so good care of you and could answer all questions. This service quality we are always longing for and it is our priority every day.

Hope to see you soon back again at our property.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumlang
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
2.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#1 of 3 in Kloten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#4 of 10 in Opfikon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Address: Hofwisenstrasse 30, Rumlang 8153, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Rumlang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport is the perfect choice for any visit to Zurich and to stay next to the airport. Whether you are exploring the country on business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile.• 163 modern and fully equipped bedrooms over 6 floors• 3 spacious wheelchair accessible and specially adapted room for disabled guests• 24 hour service from our reception, bar and lounge area• Complimentary buffet breakfast from 4 a.m.• Complimentary Shuttle to Airport & City Centre• 5 meeting rooms with daylight for up to 25 persons• Over 100 Indoor and Outdoor car parking• Business Corner in the lobby• High speed internet access available• Priority Club: interesting reward program offering you many advantages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Hotel Rumlang
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich/Rumlang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing