We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for quick stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Passing through Zurich and stayed at this hotel. Very well appointed, modern, sleek and clean. Great rooms and there was a free airport shuttle. It's just 5 minutes from the railway station (7fr/person to get to Zurich Central station as opposed to a 60fr taxi ride) and I found it to be a great transit hotel for anyone passing through the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilOakshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Neil

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night, and it was ok. The restaurant had a special "American barbecue" that night; the salad was good, the ribs terrible. The room was modern and well appointed. The bed was not good at all, it was way too soft, which make me think that there is no consistency, as another member of the TripAdvisor family (alskx3), had the opposite problem, namely a too hard mattress. The wifi is free only for half an hour, which lasted exactly 6 minutes for me; I complained, and they gave me a free hour. Personally I hate when hotels nickel and dime you, especially with an important service as the internet access is for most of us. The breakfast was good for a Holiday Inn Express. I will not return, based on the bad quality of the mattress, which make it impossible to have a good night rest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are always interested how guests feel about our hotel product.
We did not have any complaints yet about our "American BBQ". We will definitely investigate with our local butcher what the reason was for the ribs. We apologize for this incident and we are sure the cook offered you an alternative at the grill.
Our Platium and Gold Priority members receive the internet free of charge. From 1st January 2014 on also our Basic/Club members receive the internet free of charge so I can recommend you to get a member of our guest loyalty system. It will be a pleasure for us to enrol you if you need our assistance. All guests we offer 1/2 hour free internet to check their mails and print their boarding cards. Unfortunately in nearly all hotel in Switzerland and Zurich you still need to pay for the internet - at our hotel you can purchase vouchers for a very moderate price compared to the other hotels.
All our mattresses have been replaced only 4 months ago so you have slept in brand new mattresses. As you see there is not a lot we can do about this comment.

We hope to see you soon back at our hotel and apologize once more for the caused incidents.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The room was nice, clean and with comfortable bed and pillows. There is a free shuttle service to/from the airport (but booking is needed when going to the airport). Breakfast is ok but the bar service and cleanliness are probably the only negative aspect of this hotel. Overall it is a good value option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for good review and the detailed information you gave. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
I would really appreciate if you could get in contact with me via mail (gm@hiexzurich.ch) or phone (0041-79-3906993) - I would be very interested to find out what exactly you did not like about the bar service and what exactly was not clean in the hotel.
We take such comments very serious to make sure our quality increases. Thank you for your help.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This seems an average HI express and delivers on the basics - clean room, relatively quiet (despite busy rail line nextdoor and airport nearby, it was fairly quiet), and decent (not huge) buffet breakfast at reasonable price for the area. Shuttle regularly runs to/from ZRH about every half hour - be sure to reserve the TO airport ride and get to shuttle on time, as some times of day are very busy. Room has coffee maker but no mini bar, no free wifi, and NO wakeup call! Room and bathroom relatively small, clean; shower good pressure. Market very near (as is 'Subway') - and hotel has own bar and restaurant with limited choices. Check in/out can be busy with small lines at times.

Room Tip: Get top (5th) fl if possible for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for writing such a detailed review. Please give me the chance to comment some of your points:
1. Our breakfast is always complimentary - no supl. costs will accure
2. Due to the Holiday Inn Express Standards our hotel has no mini-bar in the rooms, but we have a wide variety of vending machines in the lobby and also a ice machine
3.1/2 hour Wifi is free of charge in the hotel for every guest to check their emails and print boarding passes. If you are a Gold or Platium Priority Club member you will also have 24 hours internet free of charge. I recommend you to become a Basic PCR member since from 1st January 2013 also the Club members have free internet in our hotel.

Have a good weekend and kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I would like to give this place 4 stars because the room was well appointed, breakfast was generous and the overall layout of the hotel is modern and contemporary, spacious and elegant. However, there were some issues with this hotel that make it only 1 star. There was no shampoo in the bathroom, just a hand squeeze, wall mounted hand soap. There was mold, black spongy looking mold in the bathroom, hair in the bottom of the stand alone shower, and the mattress was too hard to be anything close to comfortable.

Front desk just seemed clueless beyond words. No apologies, no exceptions, nothing. I even inquired about purchasing a watch in the lobby display, but was told they accepted cash only. Since it was the airport hotel, I thought that was strange and not very accommodating. Of course, they wanted money to change dollars for francs, which left me feeling scammed.

This was not a comfortable, accommodating hotel and the mold issues aggravated my asthma and allergies. Any hotel that is not concerned about the safety of their guests should be avoided.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alskx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for staying at our hotel and we are very happy that you intended to give our hotel a 4* ranking.
Due to the Holiday Inn Express band standards we do not have bath amenities in our bath room since we are a budget brand - you will find these amenities in Hotels like Holiday Inn or Crown Plaza. But we do have in the shower a special shower liquid and near the hand wash sink a special hand soap which can be used. We just exchanged all the mattresses only 4 months ago so they are brand new - we are very sorry that you did not like them.
I apologize for the bath room and would really appreciate if you could get in contact with me via mail (gm@hiexzurich.ch) or mobile (0041-79-3906993) so you could give me the exact room number and more information about the issue. As you see the management takes such incidents very serious.
Again I would like to apologize for the incidents caused and hope you will give us a second chance since you liked our hotels overall.
About purchasing the watch I can give you the following information. We have no interest in changing foreign currency in Swiss francs. But the items to purchase are managed by a external company and they do not accept any credit cards and just cash - we have to pass on the money directly to them. I hope my explanations help to clear the situation.


Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It is close to Zurich airport and the station. In-fact the station is only a short walk. Shuttle services are good, but if you have to catch a flight, better book it in advance, as there is a rush in the morning. Breakfast has a variety of food, which people from all ethnic backgrounds will like. The ambiance is really good, very quiet and serene. We don’t get fancy rooms, though for a stopover it is absolutely fine, considering they are super clean. And they have almost everything which is needed. You can use wi-fi free for 30 mins, which is not great, but once you pay for it, the speed is really good. There is a general store very near, for any need and also there are few descent restaurants as well, but better if you go to the Zurich city and have food, if you want a sumptuous meal. Overall, a good value for money place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinaki83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for giving us so important information. The management takes your point very serious and will follow them up.
We offer all guest 30 minutes free internet so that they can check their emails or are able to print boarding passes. Most of the hotels charge internet in Zurich and Switzerland, but compared to our competitors our voucher prices are very moderate.
If you are a Priority Club Gold or Platium member you will receive free internet at our hotel. As a PCR Basic member (Club) you will also get free internet from 1st January 2014 on - I recommend you to become a member of this system at once. If you need any help or further information please do not hesitate to contact us (0041-44-8093400).

Hope to welcome you soon back again at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Holiday Inn express Zurich airport is a good value for money hotel but do not expect a lot from the staff...Manager himself sits in the office behind the reception and does not bothers to come out and help (he just pretends to be very busy at all times)...no courtesy and horrible attitude...Hotel is good but staff is arrogant....

If you have a transit then its a good location or else I would suggest to stay at city hotels...Wifi is not free and will be charged CHF.17 for 24 hours....

There are better airport hotels in the area with better staff...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing this review and for giving us so many information about your stay. The management takes your points very serious since we are always aiming to provide "Great Hotels Guest Love".
I apologize for the unsatisfying staff service - I agree with you that this is not acceptable and I will personally follow up with this issue.
Please feel free to get in contact with me via mail gm@hiexzurich.ch and via phone 0041-793906993 to discuss your stay once more - I would really appreciate your further information.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler,GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumlang
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#3 of 10 in Opfikon
2,227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#2 of 3 in Kloten
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Address: Hofwisenstrasse 30, Rumlang 8153, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Rumlang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Price Range: £71 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport is the perfect choice for any visit to Zurich and to stay next to the airport. Whether you are exploring the country on business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile.• 163 modern and fully equipped bedrooms over 6 floors• 3 spacious wheelchair accessible and specially adapted room for disabled guests• 24 hour service from our reception, bar and lounge area• Complimentary buffet breakfast from 4 a.m.• Complimentary Shuttle to Airport & City Centre• 5 meeting rooms with daylight for up to 25 persons• Over 100 Indoor and Outdoor car parking• Business Corner in the lobby• High speed internet access available• Priority Club: interesting reward program offering you many advantages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Hotel Rumlang
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich/Rumlang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing